We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Hotel was not so great.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #162 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location. Hotel was not so great.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had opted for this hotel based on some positive reviews I had read on trip advisor but was completely underwhelmed by my stay. The room was adeqate but I was surprised to find the two small pillows on the bed were stained, the large pillow was dusty as were the light fittings (they were thick with dust). There was the odd small brown stain on the walls and in the bath room a hole under the sink filled in with what looked like plastic bags. There was a menu advertised but on the first day when I enquired they said they didn't have any food and on the second, they said the sandwhich toaster wasn't working. I've actually had that before in hotels and it's a bit insulting. How isn't the sandwich toaster working? Blown fuse? The location is very handy but a canal side hotel in central Amsterdam could and should try a lot harder. Fairly disappointing. Aside from the great location, I'm not sure I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, Eigenaar at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest,

we are sorry to hear that your stay was not to your expectations. We have spoken to our cleaning staff and we will look after this. This is also not our standard. For the meals, indeed when you were in our hotel the toast machine was not working but we have bought a new one also we have changed our small dinner meals.
Next time when you visist us we would like you to offer you a free dinner in our restaurant and a complimentary upgrade for your room.
Thank you very much for this review which we used to improve our service level.

With kindest regards
Ed Schreurs
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    121
    56
    23
    13
See reviews for
30
110
41
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langenthal, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked this hotel because it looked like a nice little boutique hotel on the internet. What a mistake that was! But first something positive - the reason this gets two stars is the location, which is absolutely excellent. Now the ugly part - we got a small out of date room with a bathroom so old and dirty (mold, rust) that I wouldn't offer it to guests at my home; I would be too embarassed. If you are looking for a cheap hotel in a good location and don't care how it looks, or smells, go ahead. Everyone else: Avoid this.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

No frills, just a room with a bed in a good location.

Stayed in a wing room. The way these are situated are, two single rooms (think university dorm size), a shared door between the two and a washroom in one of the rooms, so someone will have to be open with sharing their space for the other to go to the washroom.

Common practice, they give you a physical key and you give it to them when you return.
There's a common room safe shared between the two rooms.

No fridge or dresser, there is a tall clothes hanger, table with monitor and a couple power outlets. That's about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
e s, General Manager at Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again as our guest in The Hampshire Prinsengracht Hotel.

We hope the Twin room was what you had expected.

Best regards
E. Schreurs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, SA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I spent 3 nights at this hotel at the end of October. While my room was small (I was travelling alone on a budget), it was exactly what I had expected based on the information on the website. Given the high cost of hotels in Amsterdam, I feel I got value for money. The hotel is clean and staff are friendly. It may be looking a bit tired, but certainly did not impact how I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We (2 adults and 2 kids of 10 and 7) spent 2 nights at the Hampshire Hotel. We had rented the garden house, which comprises 2 bedrooms (one with double bed, one with 2 singles) and a bathroom. The rooms were spacious and well-equiped, but had a damp atmosphere, and some of the floor boards gave way under weight, suggesting water damage to the underlying construction. Heating worked well though, but the towel dryer in the bathroom could not be turned off, turning the bathroom into a sauna. Otherwise very quiet, and reasonably clean with OK matrasses and pillows. Friendly personnel, but expensive breakfast (12,50 EU pp, kids half price). Location is unbeatable though, with Leidscheplein, Rembrandtplein, Rijksmuseum, van Gogh museum etc. within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Ok, you cant judge a place at first glance, the lobby was pretty good looking for the age of the place, the staff was great, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a good one . now getting to the room when we walked in the room I stopped and no way! since on our trip through Germany and staying at 4 star hotels this place was hmmm lets see very basic the carpet was not as clean as it should be but I must say after being out all night and coming back to sleep I had the best nights sleep there and the view from the room was beautiful. the location is good for walking to most main attraction's just watch out for the bicycles.

Room Tip: the room on the top floor facing west was the best view for sunsets an the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 5 nights at the Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht at the beginning of this month and I couldn't be happier with my stay.

The room we were initially given (208) was directly next to the lift (which is surprisingly quiet and smooth and DOES have an inner closing door despite what the sign says. Also, the stairs aren't anywhere near as bad as most other places in Amsterdam) and a bit underwhelming compared to the pictures. I politely asked to be moved and straight away we were transferred to room 204 which is gorgeous, massive and overlooking the courtyard.

The staff are incredibly friendly and so so helpful. On one of the days I asked the lady at reception about free things to do in Amsterdam and she gave me 2 maps, told me pretty much everything she could think of and then spent 5 minutes looking things up on the internet for me!
This is above and beyond what I expect from hotel staff.

The bed was delightful. Very soft and comfortable. We both slept very well for the entire trip.

My only issues would be my partner getting what appear to be a lot of bed bug bites, however I am completely bite free. If they are bed bug bites, I would say they came from a pillow he took down from a cupboard rather than the mattress, or the sheets and pillows on the bed which were changed daily.

I recommend this hotel if you can find a reasonable room rate. If we'd had to pay full price, I wouldn't be as impressed as I am. We got a good deal through Booking.com.

Room Tip: The lift isn't actually that loud but room 204 is massive and absolutely gorgeous with views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.