We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny Canal side house” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Save Saved
You added Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tiny Canal side house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Although over reviews of this hotel have praised the view etc
my experience was the opposite
I had a tiny room at the back of the hotel where i could touch both walls with outstretched arms
Room smelt of damp and was very quiet so a good nights sleep but tiny TV and poor quality are my lasting memories of this place

Room Tip: Dont accept a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    99
    48
    19
    11
See reviews for
27
86
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here in the garden annex in October 2011.

No problems whatsoever staff friendly and helpful, rooms clean and good size. Staying in the annex is lovely as its in the garden and nice and quiet. Very useful having wireless Internet.

Best thing about the hotel though is its location - close to everything. We walked most places when it wasn't raining! And staff always happy to book you a taxi if needed! Very picturesque location on one of the many canals.

Would stay here again as it was very reasonably priced - we booked direct through the hotels website.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago...& definitely had it in mind when I was going again this year. Clean...friendly staff...decent breakfast...great location. The rooms are a bit pokey...but I'm assuming not too many of the rooms in Europe aren't. Definitely serves its purpose for a solo traveler.

Room Tip: If you're traveling solo, then the standard room with a single bed is better than with a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel was nice. We stayed in Amsterdam for only one night but were very pleased with what we found in this hotel. We were given an upgrade due to a cancellation. We arrived at the hotel around 8:30 a.m. local time and were given our room even though check-in time was much later. We were also invited to have breakfast that morning even though we were not entitled to it. I would return to this hotel!

Room Tip: Take public transportation to get to this hotel. We arrived at hotel from the airport via the metro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I actually chose this hotel because it was really close to one of the main channels in Amsterdam. I ended up being really central and that gave me wings to walk a lot and get to know the surroundings.

Room Tip: For solo's, first floors are facing the street and not the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I had a great time at the hotel. For the price and location you really can't complain. I think other people need to stop there bitc#$ing and complaing and do their research before booking and have some FREAKING COMMON SINCE. I was at the hotel for PRIDE and as an Amercian from New York City I thought it was fanstastic for the location and price.........for my needs. I plan on staying there again in 2012. :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have stayed here once before, which was absolutely fine - nice hotel, nice staff etc.

However, on my recent visit I rang up in the morning to see if there would be a cancellation fee (as due to a change in work plans it was a bit out of the way). They said there would be, so I said ok don't worry i'll see you later today. I then called back in the evening to say I was going to be checking in later than I stated when I booked and they said they had to record of my booking.

Anyway, they had clearly misunderstood me and cancelled my room. They then proceeded to charge me and would not accept that it was clearly a mistake (on their part). Very unreasonable and extremely poor communication about the whole issue.

Real shame, as I would have stayed here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht

Address: Prinsengracht 1015, 1017 KN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampshire Hotel Amsterdam
Hampshire Hotel Prinsengracht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.