We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to stay Singles” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vijaya

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vijaya to your Saves list
Hotel Vijaya
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Oudezijds Voorburgwal 44, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    111
    175
    51
    66
See reviews for
30
85
64
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had 3 nights break in this hotel. The room was very clean and smell good. Towels changed every day. Toilet in the room very clean and there was a shower gel and shampoo displayed in the shower even a air fresher we had in the toilet. Also we had a pack of 4 tissue rolls in the wardrobe and 2 glasses to drink something in the room. Our tv didn't work at all. The message in the screen was "no signal". Very good breakfast "ham, salami, 2 kinds of cheese, 2 kinds of bread, eggs, cold/hot milk, hot coffe, fresh juice, 2 kinds of jam, nuttela and butter". Also hotel provides many convenience products that you can buy if you need as umbrellas, food, drink etc... Hotel people were friendly. If you go out you have to leave the room key at reception. Also guest visitors are not allowed to go to the room. Wi fi work fine. Matresses are very poorly. Need a change. Room looks old but is fine if you don t spend too much time on it :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This hotel is within spitting distance of everywhere.If your fit, you will not need a lot for transportation about the town. The hotel is 5 walk minutes from Amsterdam Central Station.

The staff are very helpful. The property has some great views, but the the rooms are very small, the property is dated and decor and fittings are old. But the rooms are clean & the linen is fresh.

Its not on a par with budget chains, but its strength is its location, the red light district is close, too close for families perhaps .

Room Tip: If your going to Amsterdam for a day and you want to be close to center, then its perfect. But its n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

it was more like a hostel rather than hotel. We booked 2 en suite rooms only received one which we didnt even use due to the cleanliness. we moved hotel after 1 night and had already paid for 3 nights

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great hotel, the staff was professional and friendly, open 24 hours a day, the rooms are quite good, the room keys are not electronic , and always work a wonder. I recommend you this hotel
Antonio Carta

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I found this place to be one of the cheapest hotel (more like hostel) with private room. The location is right in the Red Light Distrct, facing the canal. It is about 10 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal.

Me and my 2 friends stayed in a quadruple room. The room is located at 2nd floor. We had a terrible time dragging our heavy luggage as there is no elevator in the hotel and the stairs are steep and narrow. However, i have no complaint about the room. The room is quite small but clean. The bathroom is clean and spotless. There is hot shower, which is good. Free breakfast in the morning. Toast, ham, fruits, egg, juice, cereal, coffee, tea and milk. Very basic but enough for a good start.

The staff is quite cold and rude. If i'm in Amsterdam again, I might find other hotel to stay.

Room Tip: Request for room at lower floor if you have heavy luggage as there is no elevator in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE! THIS PLACE IS A HELL HOLE!
Firstly, the receptionist was rude and unhappy to help me with my queries. You have to walk through a dingy and dismal 'restaurant' to get to the rooms (If you can class it as a restaurant, more like a soup kitchen.) Upon arrival of the rooms, I felt like crying. The shower/bathroom has mold growing everywhere, the windows were not fitted for its purpose, I was forced to sleep in my scarves and gloves! I traveled alone to Amsterdam for 3 night break, but i did not stay alone, as there was a RAT IN MY ROOM! I cannot stress how disgusting this hotel is. DO NOT STAY HERE. Stay in a hostel instead!

Room Tip: Pick a room in another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Vijaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vijaya

Address: Oudezijds Voorburgwal 44, 1012 GE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Vijaya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Budget Places, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vijaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vijaya Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vijaya, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.