We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky place to stay, quiet but a short tram trip to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quirky place to stay, quiet but a short tram trip to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We have just come back from Amsterdam and stayed in this cool wee hotel, right on a canal. We were in the 'house next door ' so no breakfast was offered, but 4-5 minutes walk to HEMA in Rembrandt Square, where it's dead cheap for breakfast, we paid 4.50e for 2 of us for a breakfast plus a big punnet of fresh fruit. We were in Room C which was lovely, huge big windows in the sitting room, could sit and watch the world go by. Very quiet but minutes walk to square above, and only 4 stops from Central Train Station. Lots of really good restaurants all around and a supermarket around the corner to stock up on snacks and wine....perfect ! Loved staying there, and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    103
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
422
49
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redwood valley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

On a quiet canal, yet walking distance to Museumplein, to Damplatz, close to trams, the flowermarket, performing arts center, great shopping, the red zone, this hotel is beautifully furnished with lovely antiques, fabrics and art. My six stays have put me in several different rooms, all well-appointed, lovely to look at, and comfortable. For two, Room 5 cannot be equalled; have stayed in room 5 when just myself for the lovely private terrace. The breakfast delivered to your room (warms croissants & scones, fresh bread, cheese and ham, yoghurt and fruit, great tea and coffee) every morning is heaven. . Like staying in a wealthy relation's Dutch mansion. The owners are very charming - their hotel is so well-staffed - it is a classy place to call home in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed here for one night last night on my own (I'm a female traveller and quite safety conscious) and I loved it there. It's elegant, without being at all fancy. The room was lovely, very old school and comfortable, with a big bed, antique furniture and few frills (a nice new TV, an vintage radio and a fridge, not much else in the room, but what else do you need?) but the view - wow. Incredible. The hotel's situated on a gorgeous central Canal, and it's so achingly pretty you can't believe you're really there. The staff were incredibly welcoming and helpful and I loved my stay there, shame it was just for one night!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Scaling the steep and tight stairs was the only challenge on my stay. The room (#6) was exactly as I had hoped. I was guided to this room by the manager at it fit my needs perfectly.
The service provided by the staff is probably the best I have ever experienced.

The free WiFi worked very well. The bathroom was great for European standards. The view of the canal out my window and artistic furnishings, to me, was a bonus.

The bed is foam and so are the pillows. Not what I was used to but I still slept well. I gave the location 4/5 only because it was a little far from the tram stop, but this is not their fault, the tram was rerouted due to construction.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here for a special break and could not have found anywhere better, even if we had paid alot more.
The owner let as look at the different rooms as they became empty and they were all so fabulous . Stunning antique and carefully chosen furniture and fabrics. Very cosy too.
The owner was very kind and helpful.
If you want to save some money you can get a big breakfast nearby for just 1 Euro per person ( the owner will tell you where to go ).
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed in room 9 which is located on the top floor for 3 nights. The room overlooked a canal and was very charming. The room was not particularly large but had an old world charm with wooden beams running throughout the room. The bathroom was large with plenty of space and very clean. Be warned that the winding staircase is almost like climbing a ladder to your room so that may be an issue for some people. The hotel owners are warm and welcoming. They have umbrellas to loan out to guest and are very helpful with suggestions for sightseeing and food. The beds are memory foam and we slept very well on them. The hotel is located away from the red light district and therefore is not surrounded by lots of tourist or noise. It is on a quiet street and yet only a short walk to Rembrandt plaza for food and drinks. The hotel is located between the museum district and the red light district and it takes about 15 minutes to walk to either. The central station is about a 20 minute walk. A tram stops a block from the hotel and that is an option if you don't want to walk and the owners will direct you to which tram to take from the central station. Breakfast is offered for 12 Euros but we declined that service. It smelled good though. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed there alone in a business trip. I had room A, which is adjacement to where the reception and most other rooms are found. Room A is virtually underground, so you do not really see the canal. However, you have adequate light. It is a
The room was nicely decorated and had a kitchen. No breakfast is available, but everything is within walking distance, including convenience shops. It is essentially a self-catering studio flat.
For one day I had to hospice a colleague of mine. The owner brought an extra bed and beddings, and charged nothing for that!
The hotel is close to Rembrandt Square (two to three minutes walk) and provides access to everything.
Overall an excellent stay. Shame that Amsterdam seems to be changing and not to the better...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.