We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay at Seven Brdiges” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save Saved
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York CIty
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay at Seven Brdiges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Seven Bridges with our 14-year-old dear and a 10-year-old friend . Gunther was kind enough to give us the top two rooms (9 and 10), which effectively created our own private "suite" and we got used to the climb up and down very quickly.. The rooms were charming and the breakfasts truly are substantial. The staff were also kind enough to help us out with Dutch medicines when Spencer had a very bad reaction to some mosquito bites.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    97
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
417
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2009

We selected the Seven Bridges Hotel because of the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, and for us it certainly lived up to expectations. While booking the hotel by email the staff were very helpful with room selection and suggested the Garden room, which we loved - no awkward stairs, light and airy, but being over the garden there were a few mozzies. Sure there was no canal view, but we were surrounded by canals all day, and it was nice to come back to a peaceful, leafy outlook. Anyway, once the curtains are closed and we are asleep, it doesn't really matter what is outside the window so long as it is quiet!

We stayed for 3 nights and found it to be a great location for experiencing Amsterdam and general sightseeing. The breakfasts were amazing - enough for lunch as well - and each day they brought more food than the day before!! The staff were unobtrusive, but quite helpful when asked for directions, or recommendations for dinner, etc. - try the little place on the corner - it is always packed. There are also plenty of other places to eat along Utrechtsestraat (within easy walking distance), but avoid Rembrandt Place where everything is a tourist trap!

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it for somewhere quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

I had read many positive reviews of the Seven Bridges Hotel (Frommer’s, Eyewitness, New York Times) so I decided that I would choose to stay there on my recent trip to Amsterdam. What a great decision! This hotel is a gem located on one of Amsterdam’s beautiful canals. Everything (flower market, Centraal Station, Van Gogh Museum, etc.) is within easy walking distance and there are lots of shops and markets handy.

The room itself was very reasonably priced and beautifully furnished. A large mirror in my garden room celebrates its 200th birthday next year! Spotlessly clean, spacious and very quiet, this is one of the best rooms I’ve ever had in all of my many travels. The staff of the Seven Bridges is always wonderfully helpful. Do you need directions? Lost your map? Looking for the best Belgian chocolates? The staff at the Seven Bridges always had a ready answer for me.

I really can’t recommend the Seven Bridges Hotel highly enough. A beautiful room in a great location in central Amsterdam with the friendliest staff you’ll find anywhere. Amsterdam is one of Europe’s real jewels and a stay at the Seven Bridges is a must.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, RI
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

This hotel was perfect for us as we tacked a few extra days in Amsterdam onto what was basically a business trip for my husband. It was just what we were looking for: small, clean, comfortable, unique, oozing historic charm, convenient, and not outrageously expensive. The prices did not seem high by Amsterdam standards especially since it included a very generous and delicious breakfast of fruit, yogurt, good dark coffee, cheese, ham, jams and breads including warm croissants delivered to our room (other hotels included breakfast for as much as 22 Euros extra per person). And wireless internet was also included at no extra charge, something we missed when we moved on to Leiden where my husband had business.

We found the owners and staff friendly but not obtrusive. The decorating was one of a kind eclectic with lovely antiques and modern amenities (we especially liked the towel warmers). That said, this hotel is not for everybody. If you need all the perks of a modern, 4 or 5 star hotel (business center, gym, pool, elevator, etc.), don't stay here. Read their website and room descriptions carefully. The stairs are steep and narrow but I gather there are some rooms that would be suitable for people with more limited mobility. We stayed in room 9, an attic, canal side room and one of the smaller rooms of the hotel. We found the price very reasonable, as stated above, and the room was perfectly comfortable and met our needs perfectly. We enjoyed both the view out our little window and seeing some construction details of these old, Amsterdam houses in the beams crossing the ceiling.

The only drawback, but not under the proprietors control, was that it got a little noisy on Saturday night I imagine because it is so close to Rembrantsplein. The owners however did what they could and ear plugs were supplied on the table by the bed for just such occasions.

Next time we're in Amsterdam, this hotel will be our first choice!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We spent 5 nights at Seven Bridges and were very pleased with everything. The photos on their website do no justice. We stayed on the third floor for the best views and we weren't disappointed. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast was hearty. My favorite experience of the hotel took place everyday walking up and down the stairs! I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

This 300 year old Dutch town house, teetering on the edge of the canal system. is ideally situated for exploring the city of Amsterdam.

You can sit in the window of one of their ‘interestingly’ appointed bedrooms as the staff bring a sumptuous breakfast of croissants, jams, yogurts, breads, coffee and fresh fruit and watch the tourist boats drift leisurely by.

This is by no means a cheap hotel and the decor is a little tired and the rooms limited in size, however , the care and attention of the staff is genuine and exceptional which makes it worth those extra Euros.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Günter_Glaner, manager at Seven Bridges Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2009
Very regrettably, we cannot fully escape the feeling of a certain disappointment, as to this very nice review.
Unfortunately,our guests did not seem to be connaisseurs of real = authentic antiques,otherwise it would have been more than difficult to call the perfectly restored genuine historic objects "tired".In fact - after up to 260 years ! - these precious items are still very much alive!
It goes without saying, not all of our guests need to sit on a pair of original French Louis XV Rococo fauteuils from 1750 (Paris - bought at Christie's at € 6000.-),at an original Dutch Louis XVI table from 1770 (€ 5000.-), etc. - certainly not those guests who prefer a more modern decor, or are only familiar with the usual modern antique style furniture of the better hotels.It might be very helpful to take the time for a closer look at our website - with its numerous photos and explanations - to avoid any misunderstanding...
By the way,we would like to leave it to the judgement of any connaisseur if a room with such exquisite furniture (which has nothing in common with the usual, more or less, conventional hotel room),on such an ideal location,at a modest ± € 160.-,is expensive.Of course,we sincerely regret the terrible fall of the British Pound,which makes our highly appreciated guests from across the British Chanel victims of the Euro.But this is not completely our fault...
It is true,the rooms in this 300 year old Amsterdam canal house are not as large as those in a building from ± 1900,or in a modern concrete building might be, but nonetheless "good-sized", as in one of the guide books is written.But this depends of what you expect...

Günter Glaner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

We had an excellent stay. The place was spottlessly cleaned every day and the staff were always there to give us tips and guidelines as to what to do. Their hospitality was genuine and not artificially given just for the sake of it... they are really nice people. We had a great stay and when I left my necklace over there they sent it back to me without hesitation.
Couldn't be better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.