We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel to stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Best hotel to stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

This must be one of the most interesting boutique hotel we have stayed in recently. For our first time in Amsterdam, we have chosen the seven bridges based entirely on the strength of recommendations from tripadvisor..

Location wise, this hotel is located in the canal belt, about 2 km from the train station where we arrived. As such, it is about 20 minutes walk along the beautiful canals to places of interest such a s rijksmuseum as well as van gogh museum. Many other places of interest are also within walking distance such as the hash museum and the RLD. We walked practically everywhere and did not avail ourselves to the public transport but seeing the many trams lines that we crossed about a mere 3-5 minutes walk away, you shouldn't be too far from access.

We requested for the canal view room 7 which was gorgeously decorated with period furniture. Little did we realise that the arm chairs we were sitting on were 17th century antiques! Room was a bit on the small side but adequate (considering that this is Europe afterall). toilets and bath are adequate and spotless in cleanliness. The bed in this room is a queen size which some may find a bit small. The room is air conditioned which works well for some of the warmer nights. View from the room is gorgeous and despite facing the road in front, the little human and vehicular traffic is fairly well insulated and we were not bothered by traffic noises or noises from late night revelers.

This room is reached by a tiny and steep circular fire-escape like stairs. can be difficult to maneuver if you have large and heavy luggage which we did. But the owners were around to give a helping hand.

Breakfast is served daily by the owners themselves. you can request for it at a pre-determined time which is useful if you need a lie in after a heavy night. Breakfast is served on nice china-ware from the likes of villeroy and boch. Includes croissont, scones and sliced bread, yoggurt, cold cuts and cheese and fruits. choice of tea of coffee is available. We asked for Earl Grey tea and although they said they don;t have it , they still serve it to us on the first morning!

also included is a 20 inch flat screen TV which includes many channels including CNN and BBC world. Internet is Free of charge and fairly stable over wifi.

In summary, we will strongly recommend this hotel to those seeking a unique place to stay in a wonderful city. Afterall, when was the last time you sleep in a room decorated with bona fide antiques with all the mod cons too?

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    103
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
422
49
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Seven Bridges in Room 6 from June 21-27. This fabulous hotel was the perfect home-base for our week long stay in Amsterdam. Room 6 was an absolutely gorgeous room! We found both the room and the bathroom to be spacious, the bed was comfy and the view from our room of the Reguliersgracht canal and all of the bridges was beautiful. Gunter and Pierre, the proprietors of this hotel, are wonderful hosts! Very helpful and answered any questions we had. They delivered a delicious breakfast to our room every morning, up the steep staircase (which was so impressive with heavy trays of food!). The location of the hotel is perfect. It's in a quiet neighborhood, but only a few minutes walk to several dining, nightlife and museum areas. Rembrandtplein is only two blocks away and the Leidseplein is about a 10 minute walk. Dam Square was also only about a 5-10 minute walk. The hotel is central to so many things without feeling like you are in the main tourist areas. There is also a wonderful local restaurant a few doors down from the hotel called Cafe Hooghoudt. Try it at least once, it was delicious! We really loved every minute of our stay at the Seven Bridges and will definitely return on our next visit to Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

Amsterdam is a favourite place of mine... and to stay at a hotel like Seven Bridges was like finding the needle in the haystack. What a lovely atmosphere, service & location.
My boyfriend & me stayed over the weekend... and we could not have picked a better place to stay at. A beautiful room (nr 7) with a view over the canal & the bridges..

The first day as we arrived back to the room after a walk in town... a vase with 20 red roses greeted us in the room. Just like that... a sweet treat from the owners.
Yes... at this little hotel the owners really put their heart & soal into what they do.

We can truly recommend a stay at this little "pearl" of Amsterdam.
Enjoy...

Håkan & Edith

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Just got back home after a 3 night stay in Amsterdam, to celebrate our wedding anniversary, Seven Bridges Hotel was the perfect place to stay. Beautufully decorated, with antique furniture, art and mirrors.
Lovely staff, very polite and helpful, use of hotel computers is a nice touch.
The location is fantastic, just a few steps from Rembrant Square, where the local bars and restaurants are fantastic.
If you want a taste of authentic Amsterdam, in a small, well run family hotel, then seven bridges is for you, we cannot recommend enough. wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

This gem of a hotel / B&B is one of our favorite places that we have ever stayed anywhere in the world. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood on the southern canals of Amsterdam near the Rembrandtsplein. You can walk from here to most attractions and also has convenient access to the trams & buses. The hotel gets its name from its location - it has a view of 7 different canals. We stayed in room B, which is in a separate building from the hotel and is essentially your own apartment on the ground floor (no narrow stairs to climb!) with your own separate keyed entrance. There are wall-to-wall windows (with full curtains) in this room, with a lovely view of the canals and bridges in front of the building. We paid only €130 per night, which is quite a bargain for Amsterdam/Europe. Our room did not include the breakfast but we did have free Wifi which came in handy when we wanted to look up attractions, directions, weather forecast, etc. We absolutely loved staying here and will definitely stay here the next time we're in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

We stayed at room B last October .We had a key for the outer door and a key for our room ,which was the only one on the ground floor.It was like having an appartment of your own in beautiful Amsterdam (in a bending building...hillarious!).Cleaning service was effective but not annoying.And the guys at the reception quite helpful.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

This was our second visit to this hotel - the first having been in 1994! It was immediately refreshing to see that nothing about the warmth, friendliness and character of the place had changed.

The location is very good, on a lovely canal a short walk from Rembrandt square and easy walking distance to just about everywhere you'd want to explore in old Amsterdam. Considering the good location the hotel is very well priced.

The room was very clean, and beautifully furnished. Room 7 was perhaps slightly smaller than it appeared on the website, but let me immediately say this 'camera artefact' is mentioned on the website and once settled in we found the room size to be quite adequate.

The breakfasts, hand delivered to your room every morning, are wonderful. I don't mind admitting they were a highlight of our stay this time, as they were in 1994.

The staff are wonderful, and they truly do want you to have a positive experience! To this end they are at pains to point out the possible reasons not to stay at this hotel. No hotel can be all things to all people, and if you require an on-site restaurant, 24 hour room service, business facilities etc. this is of course not the hotel for you. If you are not of good health or travelling with heavy luggage, it is worth paying particular attention to what they disclose about the staircase.

However if you are an intrepid traveller looking for quality, style, some peace and quiet in a great location in a wonderful city then you need look no further.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#33 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.