We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save Saved
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed in the attic room overlooking the garden (#10) for 9 nights in June 2014. The room is small, cozy, clean, and quiet. The stairs are narrow and winding, but there is a sturdy handrail. My 74-year-old husband had no problem on the stairs and never used the handrail. The room has a TV, wiFi, and a lovely modern and sunlit bathroom. Our host was thoughtful, gracious, and kind. If you are looking for an accommodation other than the sterile, oversized generic hotel room, try this hotel. We did not need the air conditioner because the temperature was cool.

Room Tip: We got a peek at the garden-side room on the first floor when it was empty. It was fabulously decora...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    97
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
417
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ponca City
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This is a great small hotel in a very convenient location. It is in a quiet neighborhood but only two blocks from the chaos of Rembrandt Square. We took a tram whenever we had suitcases or needed to make a train or bus connection but often walked from Central back to the Hotel. Sure, the stairs are steep but the stairs make this hotel special. The owners of this hotel are very helpful and make you feel welcome. We would definitely stay at Seven Bridges again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in a lovely location. We had a canal view suite which was spacious and comfortable, but really bigger than we needed. When I booked it (6 months in advance), I was "assigned" the suite and not offered any choices. If possible, I would have liked a room rather than a suite, and one that came with breakfast included. I think since we were in the building 2 doors down from the reception, they offer no breakfast there. However, for the price of the suite, breakfast should most certainly be included.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Ct
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed six nights at Seven Bridges. We wanted a quiet spot, near the center, helpful owners, a canal view, nearby restaurants, walk to the museums, near a tram, great price, comfortable bed, modern bathroom and fantastic breakfast delivered to our room. We got it all at Seven Bridges. Plan ahead or they won't have a vacancy when you want to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We loved the canal view room immediately above the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We just returned from 9 days in Amsterdam at the Seven Bridges Hotel. It was charming in every way. The hotel is on the canal and just around the corner from the new Waldorf Astoria and the Tassen Purse Museum. Restaurants, coffee houses, and trams were all close and an easy walk.

We had Garden Room 5. A comfortable bed, a large room with antique furnishings and just a bit of modern, a patio overlooking the garden trees, a large bath with a shower, and touches of careful preservation including a little gold painted on the ceiling relief, and the faintest stenciled decoration on the wall.

To add to the delight our host gave us a beautiful tulip bouquet to grace the mantel.

Be prepared for a flight of stairs Dutch style...

Highly recommended !!

Room Tip: Our room was Garden room 5, but I spoke to two people on the 3rd floor, one on the canal side and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I just returned from a six night stay at the Seven Bridges hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel is well located and you can walk to many restaurants as well as museums. The only thing I would say is if you do. It like steep, uneven circular stairs leading up to your bedroom, avoid this hotel. Otherwise the location is perfect and you feel as if you are staying in someone's home.

Room Tip: There is only one room with two full size beds and it at the top of the steep circular staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I specifically chose this hotel, as I was looking for a quiet location away from the main tourist areas but within easy walking distance of all the places to see in Amsterdam. We weren't disappointed! We stayed early April for 3 nights in garden room 8. This room overlooks the back garden and was very peaceful at night, even though we were only 200m from Rembrandt Square with its restaurants and bars. It's in a lovely neighbourhood with the main, picturesque canals (Prinsengracht, Herrengracht) nearby.

The room had 2 comfortable, double beds and plenty of storage space for clothes in a chest of drawers and wardrobe. It had a flat screen TV, which we didn't make use of, and a small bathroom with toilet, wash basin and a good, powerful shower. It was also useful to have a glass table and 2 armchairs. Although breakfast was on offer, we decided to eat out in the numerous cafes nearby or in Rembrandt square.

Yes, the stairs are steep but typical of an historic, Amsterdam canal house! Those planning to visit the Anne Frank House should expect even steeper stairs!

The owners are very friendly and helpful - we were able to make free use of their laptop with WiFi in the reception area and were supplied with a map and information about places to visit. You can even book a taxi through the hotel to the airport for 35 Euros, which is cheaper than the usual rate. I left my glasses behind in one of the drawers and the hotel retrieved them for me as soon as I notified them and sent them back to me in the UK quickly and without fee.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small, quiet hotel offering excellent value for money and located in a beautiful location, within easy walking distance of all the major sites.

Must do visits - Ann Frank House, Rembrandt House, Red Light area, canal cruise, floating flower market and Keukenhof Park (for the tulip fields and beautiful gardens) outside Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you're looking for peace and quiet then opt for the garden facing rooms, although we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.