We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save Saved
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“The best !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We just returned from 9 days in Amsterdam at the Seven Bridges Hotel. It was charming in every way. The hotel is on the canal and just around the corner from the new Waldorf Astoria and the Tassen Purse Museum. Restaurants, coffee houses, and trams were all close and an easy walk.

We had Garden Room 5. A comfortable bed, a large room with antique furnishings and just a bit of modern, a patio overlooking the garden trees, a large bath with a shower, and touches of careful preservation including a little gold painted on the ceiling relief, and the faintest stenciled decoration on the wall.

To add to the delight our host gave us a beautiful tulip bouquet to grace the mantel.

Be prepared for a flight of stairs Dutch style...

Highly recommended !!

Room Tip: Our room was Garden room 5, but I spoke to two people on the 3rd floor, one on the canal side and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    102
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
421
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
US
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I just returned from a six night stay at the Seven Bridges hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel is well located and you can walk to many restaurants as well as museums. The only thing I would say is if you do. It like steep, uneven circular stairs leading up to your bedroom, avoid this hotel. Otherwise the location is perfect and you feel as if you are staying in someone's home.

Room Tip: There is only one room with two full size beds and it at the top of the steep circular staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I specifically chose this hotel, as I was looking for a quiet location away from the main tourist areas but within easy walking distance of all the places to see in Amsterdam. We weren't disappointed! We stayed early April for 3 nights in garden room 8. This room overlooks the back garden and was very peaceful at night, even though we were only 200m from Rembrandt Square with its restaurants and bars. It's in a lovely neighbourhood with the main, picturesque canals (Prinsengracht, Herrengracht) nearby.

The room had 2 comfortable, double beds and plenty of storage space for clothes in a chest of drawers and wardrobe. It had a flat screen TV, which we didn't make use of, and a small bathroom with toilet, wash basin and a good, powerful shower. It was also useful to have a glass table and 2 armchairs. Although breakfast was on offer, we decided to eat out in the numerous cafes nearby or in Rembrandt square.

Yes, the stairs are steep but typical of an historic, Amsterdam canal house! Those planning to visit the Anne Frank House should expect even steeper stairs!

The owners are very friendly and helpful - we were able to make free use of their laptop with WiFi in the reception area and were supplied with a map and information about places to visit. You can even book a taxi through the hotel to the airport for 35 Euros, which is cheaper than the usual rate. I left my glasses behind in one of the drawers and the hotel retrieved them for me as soon as I notified them and sent them back to me in the UK quickly and without fee.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a small, quiet hotel offering excellent value for money and located in a beautiful location, within easy walking distance of all the major sites.

Must do visits - Ann Frank House, Rembrandt House, Red Light area, canal cruise, floating flower market and Keukenhof Park (for the tulip fields and beautiful gardens) outside Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you're looking for peace and quiet then opt for the garden facing rooms, although we didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed at the Seven Bridges Hotel in early April and really enjoyed the ornate but comfortable room and terrific location. We stayed in the Garden Room #5, which was filled with beautiful antique furniture, a large sleeping room, large up-to-date bathroom, and a rooftop garden off the bathroom. We did not opt for the breakfast since there are a number of places to get a small breakfast nearby. The location can't be beat -- near the scenic "seven bridges" view, centrally located in the canal ring area, and a short walk to Rembradtplein. We appreciated that the street was quiet and tranquil, even during the day. The owners were friendly and helpful, and even threw in a free breakfast one day. I would definitely recommend and would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Garden Room #5 is the room on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Seven Bridges Hotel. We were there April 10-18 in Room 5, a very pretty and large room (the largest hotel room we have ever had in Europe) with a large bathroom. The hotel is in a lovely old canal house, beautifully maintained and decorated. It was ideally located to be able to walk to any section of the city, with a quiet neighborhood feel to the street, yet a block or two away from all sorts of restaurants and outdoor cafes in any direction. The proprietor Pierre was gracious and welcoming, as were the other gentlemen on staff. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Seven Bridges was a wonderful place to stay while in Amsterdam. Staying in this 200 year-old canal house made our visit to Amsterdam feel authentic and cozy. The location is ideal, close to Rembrandt Plaza and plenty of restaurants and cafes. It was a 15-minute walk to the Anne Frank house and the Jordaan neighborhood. We stayed in "canal room 6" which had a beautiful view of the water, but the room was a little small. We took a look at "room 5" which was more in the back of the hotel and it didn't have a view, but the room and bathroom were enormous. The owner is incredibly helpful and friendly. We didn't order breakfast (which can be delivered directly to your room.) I can't think of a more personal and authentic place to stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This hotel is an excellent choice for your stay in the picturesque part of Amsterdam. Great selection of restaurants nearby. The owner and the staff could not be more welcoming . We had a superb time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#35 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.