We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save Saved
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Canberra
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Dutch Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

You realise how idyllic the location of this hotel is when you walk past those near the Central Station. What a wonderful experience to stay in such a charming canal house. Yes, the steps are as everyone says, but they add to the ambience. We are in our late sixties and managed the stairs very well. The hosts are charming and surprised us on two occasions with a delicious breakfast. We stayed six nights in canal room 7 which is ideal for people watching. Indeed we found the room rather quiet, only being disturbed for a short time by revellers early one Saturday morning. We walked to all major attractions and enjoyed finding different ways to and from the hotel. There are plenty of restaurants close by in Rembrandt Square and in the parallel street behind the hotel. A laundromat is situated near the Amstel River. Go out of the hotel, turn right, cross over Rembrandt Square and when you reach the river, turn left. For a true Amsterdam experience, this hotel is recommended.

Room Tip: Canal rooms for people watching. Room 5 is the biggest and at the back so would be really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    97
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
417
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Seven Bridges is one of these small hotels that are true hidden gems: small and cozy, elegant without being pretentious, and right in the heart of one of the most incredible cities in the world. I found it here on TripAdvisor, and booked my five days stay there after feeling impressed by the great reviews. I'm happy to say the reviews are absolutely right on, and I couldn't have been more satisfied with the whole experience. Each room is decorated differently, and I was lucky to get the last available one for my short vacation, which was number 9. I definitely plan on going back to Amsterdam, and I know alread where to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Quite a small hotel, but very nicely furnished and great location - close enough to everywhere but far enough away to be peaceful. Lovely breakfast starts the day well and beautiful views out over the canal. Staff were very pleasant and helpful with plenty of advice on restaurants both close by and further afield. Very reasonably priced and would return again quite happily - in fact I will!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Seven Bridges Hotel is everything you could wish for while in Amsterdam. The location is perfect for anything you wish to do. Our host, Pierre, made everything easy and was always there if you needed anything. The views from this canal home are unsurpassable. The accommodations are wonderful and you get the real experience of staying in a canal home, the very definition of charm. An excellent experience in all respects.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We have been to Amsterdam several times and previously stayed in modern hotels relatively near to the Centraal Station. This time (November 2013), we wanted to stay by a canal and discovered the Hotel Seven Bridges with the help of TripAdvisor. And what a wonderful find it was! We stayed for three nights in Room 6, on the first upper floor, overlooking a canal and the row of similar canal houses on its other side. The hotel is very conveniently located – within walking distance to Rembrandtplein, the Rijksmuseum, a little longer walk to Dam Square, and virtually around the corner from Utrechtstraat which has a number of good restaurants (there is also one at the corner of the hotel’s street). As a historic canal house, it of course has no elevator, but the typical spiral staircase, used in these houses to conserve space for living areas. Climbing the stairs is a little bit of a challenge, but manageable unless you have walking difficulties.

The people in this very, very small hotel could not have been friendlier or more helpful, as previous writers have also mentioned. They offered help and advice, furnished umbrellas, volunteered to prepare a wonderful good-bye breakfast for us in our room when our stay was over (the hotel does not have eating facilities), and can do all of this in Dutch, English, Flemish, French, and German, perhaps even more languages. All in all, it was a wonderful stay and experience in this charming hotel. We recommend it highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at Seven Bridges Hotel when we visited Amsterdam because we heard many great things about it, and we were definitely not disappointed. We loved the fact that we had our own apartment, which made us feel just like home. The area it`s located in is also perfect, being very near to the canal, and close to many restaurants, bars and other useful places. The decorations are completely original, vintage and personalized. To sum it up, our stay here was lovely, and I believe this place is an amazing option for anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last week for the first time. The reception we had from the owners upon arrival was excellent. The hotel is nice and clean, excellently placed for a 15 minute walk to the museum area, convenient for bars and restaurants, and is excellent value for money. Parking was not a problem, but beware that it can be expensive to park for the day. Be back in early part of next year.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.