We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and off the wall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save Saved
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming and off the wall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This was our visit to Amsterdam and this hotel won our heart with its laid back charm, fantastic location and very friendly host.The winding staircase can get tricky for some people.We loved the residential feel of the location and yet be able to walk to the popular square (Rembrantplien) in 5 minutes. This will be our go-to hotel for all future Amsterdam visits.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    533
    97
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
415
47
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We wanted somewhere special for myself and daughter, who was flying in from London, to remember on our first visit to Amsterdam, especially as it was the occasion of both our birthdays. My wife and I had Room 6 overlooking the canal and my daughter Room 4 overlooking the garden
What can we say that has not been said before on facebook re The Seven Bridges!
The rooms were furnished like being in an Antique Shop and added to the ambiance of the hotel. The proprietors were extremely helpful re pointing us in the right directions, especially the breakfast for 1.50 euros, and sorting us a taxi to the airport for the Sunday morning, which dispensed with the hassle of getting to the station and then a train to Schipol airport.
The hotel is well situated for all the sights and being slightly off 'the main drag' was relatively quiet except for occasional canal boat parties, although these were few and far between.
We do intend to return to Amsterdam in the future (we always leave some sights so that there is a reason to return) and would have no hesitation in returning to The Seven Bridges and would heartily recommend the hotel to other visitors.

Room Tip: If our room and my daughters were anything to go by we would recommend any that are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We absolutely loved this place. You need to book directly via email and then call in your credit card number instead of booking directly on line, but that's really not a big deal.

Our room was huge and decorated with lovely antiques - it wasn't fussy or modern, but instead cozy and relaxed. The room was also quiet, and the bed was very comfortable.The WiFi was lightning-fast, and the room prices are an amazing value in an expensive city.

The hotel is about 5 minutes from Rembrandtplein, with plenty of bars and restaurants, as well as trams, ATMs and a grocery store that's open until fairly late. In addition, there are some really nice restaurants nearby and on Utrechtstraat, a 5 or 10 minute walk away. It's a great base from which to explore Amsterdam.

Pierre and Gunther are charming, friendly and helpful hosts and really make you feel at home. The in-room breakfasts are very good and reasonably priced.

The rooms are accessed by a narrow, Dutch-style winding staircase, so that may be a drawback for some people. And if you're looking for a sleek, modern hotel where your every whim will be fulfilled by a full-time staff, this place may not be for you. Otherwise, it can't be beat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just been back for our third visit to Hotel Seven Bridges in last 20 years. It is still a great place to stay, beautiful old canal house, quirky style, excellent service. We stayed for 5 nights in Suite C, in a separate canal house (first floor) but still part of the hotel. Brought our granddaughter this time and suite suited us perfectly as we had a separate bedroom and she had comfy sofabed in living area (which overlooks the canal). There is even a proper fridge which was very useful. It felt like our own little apartment. We love this place and will return.

Room Tip: Suite C is excellent for families and for those who like canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is on a quiet street just 10 minutes walk from most attractions.
It's a traditional Amsterdam canal house so as other reviews say travel light and look for somewhere else if stairs are a problem
If not and you don't need breakfast at the hotel (there's a Starbucks or Hema for coffee, croissant and sandwich @ €1.50 within 5 minutes walk) then book now
Staff friendly, room 5 has great canal views, air con and a good size shower. Just remember some anti mosquito spray / devices if you'll want to open the windows.
Wide choice of restaurants on Utrechtstraat, next street over. Various bars and restaurants in Rembrandtsplein

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This excellent BB is very well located close to Rembrandt Square, within 15-30 min distance from almost all the main places to be seen in Amsterdam, in the middle of the very attractive area of canals. The 3 main Museums can be reached by feet in 20' and the hotel is very easily and directly joined by tram from the train station in 15 minutes (just 150 meters to walk along the canal). It is placed in a very quite and wealthy area, a very romantic place to stay in. It is also close to many restaurants and bars to enjoy your stay at best (we particularly recommend the Italian restaurant at 50 meters). The Seven Bridges hotel is a lovely place furnished with real antique furniture, clean, warm, and welcoming, with very kind and helpful owners. If needs be, a continental Breakfast can be served in your room (or on the terrace if you are like us in Room 5 and if the weather permits). We stayed only 2 nights at the end of August 2013 and consider that the hotel played a very important role in our enjoyment of this trip in NL. We will have no hesitation in going back to Seven Bridges during our next WE in Amsterdam, we are already impatient to be there.
Gilles and Catherine

Room Tip: Not to be recommended for disabled persons if you get rooms in the upper levels (very narrow stairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, CT
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the townhouse connected to the Hotel Seven Bridges in Canal Suite C, so it was not in the main building. This only meant that they couldn't provide breakfast in your room as they do for the main townhouse. On the other hand, being in a separate townhouse without the front desk made us feel like we had our own place in Amsterdam. The view is fantastic over the canal and the street is peaceful. The service and location were all excellent. In the Canal Suite C we had a large living room with couch and table for two by the window overlooking the canal, plus a small bedroom and bathroom. The stairs up to the Suite are very steep, but you expect that in Amsterdam. I highly recommend this gem of a hotel.

Room Tip: Be sure to look at all the rooms on their website to choose exactly what you want. Each room has its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.