We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Save
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A real gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Located in a 1710 vintage canal house, the rooms are beautifully decorated (they're not many of them), and we happened to be back at the hotel when one of the owners was there as the rooms were being cleaned, and we got to see all the rooms. While they vary in size and configuration, each was pleasant, and unique. I thought the first floor (European first floor, American second floor) garden view room was spectacular.
I had some rebooking problems with another hotel in another country, and the staff were extremely helpful. All in all, it was a most unusually enjoyable 5 night stay, in a very convient downtown location away from any sort of noise or crowds.

Room Tip: the canal one sees from the canal view rooms doesn't have much traffic, so the garden view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    106
    19
    7
    5
See reviews for
48
431
51
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Booked late and couldn't get a room with a canal view. However, the garden view (not much garden to view in April) room was spectacular, spacious, with a back porch, and exquisitely furnished, as well as the most comfortable bed in our three week trip, including 2 5star hotels.

All requests for info and help were met with pleasant, efficient and effective response, and this is a small place with a small staff. There's nowhere else we'll stay in Amsterdam from now on.

Location is excellent, but things like the Van Gogh Museum, and certainly the Ann Frank House require transportation, at least for us.

Room Tip: The winding stairs are perhaps normal for a 1710 canal house, but if you have a lot of luggage a low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I had the room on the top floor facing the canal, which had lovely views. The room was spacious with a good sitting area and the largest bathroom I've seen in Europe. But beware, all those flights of stairs are more like a winding ladder than an American staircase. And the room is sunny because of all the windows in the roof, which have red shades that let a lot of light in. Not a problem in winter, but it could make it hard to sleep in summer.
Everything was very clean, there are no common rooms in the hotel. The staff was very friendly, although why did they keep recommending American places to eat? I recommend the cafeteria style restaurant at the Vroom&Dreesman department store on Kalverstraat, not far from the hotel. Good food at reasonable prices, plus it's open 11-8 (most days) so those with jetlag don't have to wait for the restaurants to open.
Good location, especially if you like to wander along the canals.

Room Tip: There is some noise from the canal side, not from cars, but from people walking or biking or passing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

After cancelling an expensive hotel (recession) & then booking this we were very pleased.
Value for money is excellent & Pierre, the chap on the phone & at reception was excellent & very friendly.
Now, don't expect any'Hotel' services' because there aren't any but....we knew that. Coffee shop next door...sorted. Our room was very nice, as was our friends albeit 3 flighrs up. Try to book Garden room on ground floor as we had. Right in the centre of everything....only 5 mins walk to nearest bars & cafes for brekkie & lunch.
Would defo recommend this BUT for Americans.....pls remember that European places are small. (I know what you expect as I rent our holiday apartment in Dublin!)

Room Tip: Ground floor 'Garden Room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This is a charming hotel and contrary to another reviewer, we loved Room 7. We purposefully selected a room on the canal, anticipating on a holiday weekend there would be some street noise. Not much noise and the joy of having a beer or glass of wine in your room canal-side was just what one dreams about when visiting Holland. All the rooms were beautiful, each one different, expensively appointed and lovely furnishings (ours had a few real antiques). A cozy room with a larger than usual bathroom (which would have benefited from a few towel racks), and plenty of surface space to arrange travel items.

As other reviews have noted, the hotel is well-situated for walking access to nearly anywhere you would want to visit in the city. Added bonus: we were induced to walk so much that we both lost weight despite eating several pasta meals at the wonderful Italian restaurant, Ponte Acari, on the nearby corner.

Pierre was very helpful, suggesting the best travel routes to museums and dining spots, arranging for taxis, dinner reservations. Narrow stairway added to the charm. Surprise breakfast on our final day provided us with enough food for the next 24 hours. We stayed five nights and would welcome a return.

Final note: While the big museums are obvious attractions for hordes of tourists, also consider the Dutch Resistance Museum, a small gem that does a great job of portraying the difficulty of life under Nazi occupation. It's also a lovely amble from the hotel across the Amstel River right near the zoo.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal side do have some weekend street noise which can be buffered by keeping the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed in canal view 6 -- great view. The hotel has a great location near shops/trams,

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We loved our stay at the Seven Bridges. It is in a great location-near many bars and restaurants and shopping. We could walk almost anywhere. The owners are wonderful, friendly and very helpful. There is a fridge in the room and Internet access as well! We would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#32 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.