We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent romantic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Bridges Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seven Bridges Hotel
Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent romantic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Excellent romantic hotel be sure to get canal side room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    525
    96
    17
    7
    5
See reviews for
46
409
44
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011 via mobile

Together with my wife, we stayed 3 nights on the top floor. Being very close to Rembrandt Square yet distant enough to rest. During the weekend, if you leave the window open, you can here the screaming crowd if any for sure but this is nothing to do with the comfort of the room but the location itself. We enjoyed every moment at all.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have just returned home to Edinburgh from a nostalgic trip down memory lane to the Seven Bridges hotel in Amsterdam where I stayed with my boyfriend (now husband and father of our 6 kids!) thirty years ago. The hotel was as charming and delightful and as quintessentially Dutch (rather on the Bohemian side!) as it was thirty years ago. Our hosts, Pierre and Gunter couldn't have been more welcoming from the beautiful bouquet of roses on our arrival in our room to lending us brollies, use of Gunter's own mobile 'phone to call home to Scotland, advice on where to eat out locally and numerous directions to loads of tourist attractions - also use of two laptops in the evening (ideal for my 3 teenage kids). Our rooms were immaculate and had a real air of the 'Grand European tour' with amazing antique furniture and fittings. Pierre and Gunter were real gentlemen - courteous and considerate - two colourful characters who gave us the opportunity to experience living in an authentic canalside house dating back hundreds of years.
I cannot recommend this unique hotel highly enough where you can be assured of a fabulous and memorable stay in beautiful, artistic and comfortable surroundings - I'm already planning my next visit in my head which will hopefully not be as long as another 30 years away!
In this modern age where the ubiquitous, non-descript and homogeneous seems to be the norm it is so refreshing to step into a world full of character and stay with folk who really care.

Room Tip: Garden room 5 absolutely perfect for a romantic holiday for two! Gorgeous balcony for sitting out, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week at Seven bridges in July when attending a conference. We found it be a great base to explore the city and surrounds as well get to the RAI Conference center when we needed. We stayed in the attic room facing the rear, right up the top of the stairs. The room was clean, very 'amsterdam' in terms of the attic location, angled roof and interior decoration. The bathroom was of an adequate size, fantastic water pressure and there was enough space for the two of us to relax at the end of the day. The steps were steep but only added to the feel of the place - there are rooms without steps or only a flight or two. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. Very close to all the old city sites but far enough away from the action to appreciate the serenity. We would stay here again if visiting amsterdam and really recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed here four nights, in a canalside room at the front, on the second (their first) floor; the room was lovely, but it did get noisy sometimes late at night, with partiers going by on boats. The staff was very helpful, and the location is great. One caveat - the rooms are up a very steep and windy stairway, and there's no elevator because it's a historic building. Don't bring heavy luggage!

Room Tip: Canal-side rooms can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My wife and I recently returned from a 25th Anniversary trip to Europe, and ended with a stay in Amsterdam at this very-welcoming Hotel. The location was fantastic, the Hotel owner and tiny staff could not have been nicer, and the accommodations--we asked for and received a canal view room on the third floor-- was quintessential Amsterdam. The only draw back---and it was not a draw back for us at all--is that the stairs to the third floor are very steep. People who do not like to climb steep stairs should go elsewhere. Although the hotel serves a breakfast, it recommends a 1 Euro special two blocks away that was more than fine, and what a bargain. Love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for canal view. Quiet street. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SoCal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed here, in the second building, for 6 nights in August during a very rainy time, which didn't bother us at all as we so enjoyed our digs! A suite one floor up with a sitting room in the front, bedroom in back, and a bath. The suite had three very tall windows looking directly over Reguliersgracht (canal) just a few doors down from Keizersgracht (canal). The owners, Pierre and Gunter, were very accommodating with the few requests we had. And they take great pride in their furnishings, with gold leaf on the ceiling, lovely antiques, wall hangings, and more. The bed was very comfortable with luxury linens. This is a typical Amsterdam townhouse with stairs as steep as a ladder. All in all, stellar!

Room Tip: Room C in the second building is ideal for a long stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seven Bridges Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Bridges Hotel

Address: Reguliersgracht 31, 1017LK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seven Bridges Hotel is a 300 year old charming canal house at the beautiful confluence of two canals in the historic heart of Amsterdam. Character and atmosphere are created by individually decorated stylish rooms: precious antiques from Baroque, Louis XVI, Empire, Biedermeier to Art Deco, from Sotheby's and Christie's; oriental carpets on wooden floors; handcrafted marquetry furniture - mirrors, tables, beds by a Dutch artisan. Welcome to charm, sophistication and a beautiful ambience inside and outside. The hotel now has AIR CONDITIONING - in all but the "cool" rooms 3 and A. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Hotel Seven Bridges Amsterdam
Seven Bridges Hotel Amsterdam
7 Bridges Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Bridges Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seven Bridges Hotel to your Saves list