We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First of all the hostel is in a good location. The staff are nice, and the breakfast is good.
However, as it's been said in previous reviews I found it hard to socialise with other travellers, maybe it was just the dorm I was in. The lockers for your bag are in a hall outside the room. The washroom facilities were fine if you got there after the cleaners, otherwise it got a bit smelly and dirty etc. There was only one or two plugs in the room which was a slight inconvenience, but there are multiple for use in the bar and reception area.
I wouldn't advise to not stay here as it's not all that bad, but I doubt I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our free breakfast, and that you liked our location and staff. We are sorry to hear that you didn't meet a lot of people. We do believe however that our bar is a perfect place to meet fellow travelers. It is a cozy place where you can hang out and get drinks. We know that there are not a lot of sockets in the rooms. Therefore, you can also charge your device for free at the reception. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    53
    11
    7
See reviews for
2
21
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I can't put my finger on it, but Stayokay seems somewhat devoid of life. During my time there, I just felt like I was another customer passing through. It was all very choreographed; Pick up your key card, grab your sheets from the big hamper full of plastic wrapped linen, enter your room and see the cold grey beds, make your bed yourself, sleep, repeat, take apart your bed, put your linen in the big hamper full of used linen, drop your key card in a box, leave. Also, I don't know if this is a common thing with hostels (I've stayed at plenty and never had a problem with it) but they stopped us from bringing in any sort of food and drink. It felt like a penitentiary.

Washrooms were large, communal areas with a bunch of shower stalls, toilets, sinks etc all in one place. Rather convenient, but it often smelled like a dirty public washroom would.

It's also worth mentioning that it's listed as having free WiFi, but it's only available in common areas.

But of course it wasn't all bad, on to the good; The location was prime and was only about a 5 minute walk to the Red Light District. Staff were generally friendly and are willing to help you with directions and advice. Breakfast: hands down the best I've had at a hostel and it's free. There's a bar attached to the hostel, which is a great way to meet other travelers. Lockers inside the rooms are nice and secure, some of the best I've encountered at a hostel.

In conclusion, for the price, Stayokay is pretty good. Its devoid of life and seems cold but as a tourist in Amsterdam you won't be spending a whole lot of time inside anyway. The beds are decent enough to assure you get a good night sleep and hanging out at the bar/eating breakfast can fill up any time in between.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and central location. We are very proud to be on the canals, and close to almost everything in the city. Of course there are some standard procedures in a hostel, you'll find them everywhere. We try to give you all the information you need during check in, and things like taking the sheets of your bed is a very normal thing to ask. You are more than welcome to bring your own food/drinks into the hostel. The only thing we ask is to not consume it in the rooms. Food or drinks can make the rooms smelly and dirty, which usually is of an inconvenience to other guests. So to keep the rooms clean and nice for everyone, we kindly ask our guests to not eat or drink in the rooms. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at Stayokay Stadsdoelen from May 3-5 2014 in the all-female dorm located on the top floor. Pay attention to the address because we walked right by without noticing the very small sign. If you are looking to meet other travellers this hostel is not ideal, we visited on a weekend and the majority of other people staying at the hostel were large (and rowdy) groups of British men there for stag parties. There was also no guest kitchen, one outlet in a 20 bed room, no WiFi in our room (we were on the top floor though so lower ones may get WiFi), and the lockers were inconveniently located in the hallway outside the dorm rooms. I would most likely not return primarily because Stayokay Stadsdoelen is not conducive to meeting other travellers. However the hostel is centrally located, clean, the staff is generally helpful, and the free breakfast spread is good (bread, cheese, sandwich meats, fruits, yogurt, cereal, small pastries, juice, coffee & tea).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your review and rating. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and liked our location and staff. We are sorry to hear that some other things did not live up to your expectations. We only offer wifi in the common areas because we like people to meet and share stories and experiences. The lockers are located just outside the rooms, so you don't wake people up when you use them early in the morning or late at night. We are also aware of the fact that there are not a lot of outlets in the rooms. We are working on this and in the mean time you can charge you device for free at the reception. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed in a 20 bed mixed dorm and it was very basic. One plug socket in the entire room for 20 people, no individual lights and so when people returned at night all the lights had to be switched on. It was clean though which is the main thing. The bar area however is great! With a pool table and nice breakfast. Wifi was only available in the public areas which was not great. Location is perfect with everything within walking distance. The staff were very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thanks for your review and raings. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are aware of the fact that there are not a lot of outlets in the rooms. Therefore, we offer to charge your phone, tablet or laptop for free at the reception. Just ask us! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

My friends and I traveled with group of eight persons, so we booked the 8 bed room for us. The biggest challenge for us was to carry our big luggages (we spent one week before in other cities) to the 4th floor without lift. Room is okay and big enough to us and it is pretty comfy. The view from our room is very nice. Bathrooms only on the 2nd and 3rd floor, and it is clean, I don't see any problem with that. Breakfast is nice as well. The staff are all helpful and always ready to answer any inquiry. However, I guess the wall is not thick enough and does not have noise-reduction. We caught up by the staff when we made noise inside our room.

Room Tip: Room at the corner of 4th floor is very nice, you can open the window to enjoy the breeze and the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. The hostel is an old canal house which makes it prone to noise, this causes us to sometimes be a little more strict about it so that other guests do not get disturbed. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The only thing good about this place was the location and some of the staff that were nice enough to help. In a room with 15+ people, it gets very stuffy.
I don't have any issues with small rooms or loud noises in the middle of the night - which this place had too. But, this place was simply UNHYGENIC. Bathrooms, toilets,floors- you name it. Everything was dirty and only cleaned on a Sunday for about 30 people sharing a common bathroom area.
It's a good location with average breakfast and temperamental staff, both good and bad, but I would definitely never stay here again. Cannot stand dirty places. You can find better places with cheaper rates!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you liked our location and staff. We are sorry to hear about the bathrooms. We will definitely look further into this, as we consider cleanliness as very important. We hope you had a good time in the city. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was very unhappy with my experience here. This hostel is poorly laid out, dirty, and offers no amenities. The bathrooms and showers were always filthy, you had to leave your room to access a locker for storing things, and there are no elevators. We had to lug our 40lb bags up 6 flights of stairs. As well, there was construction on the street when we arrived, which meant trying to pull our suitcases over sand. Just an awful experience. The only positive was the location. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked our location. We are sorry about the construction work in the street, it was very inconvenient but as you understand there was nothing we could do about it. The bathrooms should be cleaned twice a day. We will definitely look into what happened, as we take cleanliness very seriously. As for the stairs, unfortunately we are not able put an elevator in the hostel as it is a historic canal house. We do hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.