We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

The only thing good about this place was the location and some of the staff that were nice enough to help. In a room with 15+ people, it gets very stuffy.
I don't have any issues with small rooms or loud noises in the middle of the night - which this place had too. But, this place was simply UNHYGENIC. Bathrooms, toilets,floors- you name it. Everything was dirty and only cleaned on a Sunday for about 30 people sharing a common bathroom area.
It's a good location with average breakfast and temperamental staff, both good and bad, but I would definitely never stay here again. Cannot stand dirty places. You can find better places with cheaper rates!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you liked our location and staff. We are sorry to hear about the bathrooms. We will definitely look further into this, as we consider cleanliness as very important. We hope you had a good time in the city. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    53
    11
    7
See reviews for
2
21
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I was very unhappy with my experience here. This hostel is poorly laid out, dirty, and offers no amenities. The bathrooms and showers were always filthy, you had to leave your room to access a locker for storing things, and there are no elevators. We had to lug our 40lb bags up 6 flights of stairs. As well, there was construction on the street when we arrived, which meant trying to pull our suitcases over sand. Just an awful experience. The only positive was the location. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked our location. We are sorry about the construction work in the street, it was very inconvenient but as you understand there was nothing we could do about it. The bathrooms should be cleaned twice a day. We will definitely look into what happened, as we take cleanliness very seriously. As for the stairs, unfortunately we are not able put an elevator in the hostel as it is a historic canal house. We do hope you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hostel cost me 15 per night for 2 weeknights and 36.50 for the friday night. Breakfast was included which was really nice, loads of choices of bread with cheese, ham, jam, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, tea, coffee and juices. When I got to the hostel I was so pleased with how clean it was. You make your own bed, which is something to appreciate. I was in a room of 16 which when your sharing a room with strangers its probably less awkward to be with more than less. It was on the top floor, wifi wasn't great up there but was perfect in the bar area, tv room and reception area. Not much was going on in the hostel itself, but the location is so perfect theres not much reason to stick around. Its right near dam square but the street itself is quite peaceful and on a canal. Perfect smoking benches outside. Would definately recommend it, if you are comfortable with hostels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked our breakfast and location! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed only one night because it started off on a Monday night at 14 euro a night, and then jumped to 20 euro on Tuesday night which seemed illogical to me.

The actual room was nice, clean sheets and breakfast (inc in price) was really nice. Got a good nights sleep, and location was super close to the heart of Amsterdam.

Other guests were friendly enough but there wasn't much atmosphere in the small downstairs common room, and the staff were a bit cold towards me, but not rude or anything just not overly friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you liked our location, breakfast and our rooms. We use a flexible price system, which means that the price fluctuate based on availability. Therefore, it is a bit cheaper on quiet days than on busy days. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

While hostels normally are not given star ratings this one deserves at least three for comfort, cleanliness, breakfast, and staff. As a first-time experience to the hostel the staff were very helpful, courteous, and most important very pleasant to work with. The rooms were comfortable and more than adequate in size. The bed was comfortable. All aspects of the hostel were clean and well kept. Breakfast was substantial and healthy with good coffee to start the day. Easy to get to by tram from the Central Station with convenient tram access to other parts of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really appreciate your kind words about the hostel and the facilities we offer. We hope to welcome you again some other time! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

You couldn't get a better location - right between the red light and party districts, just three tram stops (or an easy walk) from Centraal Station. Right among the action yet off the main road on a canal, just perfect!
LOVE the concept of big lockers outside of the actual dorm rooms, cuts down on the amount of noise made by travellers arriving late/checking out early. Be sure to bring a padlock/combo lock.
*Downside - very limited number of power outlets in the dorm rooms, BUT there are ample plugs in the reception/chill out area to make use of. And staff will happily take your device behind the counter to charge for you, so you don't have to hang around.
*When I stayed there was no operating bar or space to just hang out other than a TV room that was rarely open, however I was told the bar in the breakfast area would be reopening from the very next week. Nice!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks you for your great review and ratings. We are glad to hear you liked you stay with us. The bar just opened last week, and is a perfect place to chill or drink some beers! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ganja, Azerbaijan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

It is really cheap, clean, easy approchable, perfect location, good equipment and much more. They have very friendly personel and nice breakfast. Free WiFi, storage maps etc. Very close to the Centraal station and Dam Square. You can get more info about the hostel and some travel tips on following travel blog http://itravel-with-my-backpack.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thanks for you great review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Come back soon! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.