We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safe, clean, amazingly located...just wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
New Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Safe, clean, amazingly located...just wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you are looking for a clean and comfortable hostel right next to the main attractions of Amsterdam, book yourself a bed at this awesome hostel. I was traveling alone, first time in the city and very apprehensive about the language, and about surviving the experience in general! The hostel is a backpacker's delight, with clean beds (I had a bed in a 10 girl dorm), huge lockers (bring your own locks) and super clean toilets and washrooms. Plus breakfast is on the house and quite decent. The staff are very good, and have information about everything that is going on in the city plus book tickets etc. The place is right next to the red-light district which is safe at any point of the day or night as long as you are sensible and don't go asking for trouble. It is also walking distance from the Centraal Station, Dam Square, Museumplein, and the Heineken brewery. A great hostel at a great value. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your amazing review and ratings! We are very happy to read that you loved your stay with us. Thank you so much for all the kind words and recommendation. Have a safe trip! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    87
    65
    11
    7
See reviews for
4
25
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ufa, Russia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

good hotel, cheap place, nice and clean rooms. we shared the room with some people all over the world who came to visit the capital of this nice country :)
you have to walk a bit through the coridor when you want to take a shower.
we arrived early, as check in time is 12 o'clock had to leave our baggage in their lockers. they are cheap and it's safe. when we were checking out we bought post cards to send to friends and put it in mail box which is situated right there.
friendly staff and good location. when you go out you are already standing on one of the streets of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and like our facilities. We are very proud as well to be located on the canals in the very middle of Amsterdam. We are happy to hear you loved that as well. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed here many times, never had one single problem. The staff is amazing, they will do everything to help you out even going overboard. The airline lost my bags on route to Amsterdam and hotel staff called them several times to help me because i cannot speak dutch :))

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us once more. And thank you for the kind words, we always try and help out where we can. See you next time! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Unfortunately I don't have much to say about this hostel which is positive. I booked here because it was cheap, but I guess you get what you pay for! The room was advertised as a dorm with 10+ beds - I find this somewhat misleading as there were in fact 16 beds, and the room next door had 20. Why not just tell your customers they are buying a bed in a 16 or 20 bed dorm? The room was not that large and with that amount of beds it felt quite crowded, with lots of people sleeping very close to you. The bed wasn't that comfortable and with the amount of snoring, alarms going off and people coming and going throughout the night I found it noisy and difficult to sleep. The rooms are very basic too - there aren't any tables or even powerpoints, just lots of bunk beds. The floor could use a clean, too. At least there are large lockers in the hallway outside the room.

On the plus side, breakfast is included in the price and served from 7.30-9.30 each morning. The free wifi works too. There are plenty of toilets and showers. The location is alright; not the best but at least within walking distance of trams, a metro station and quite a few attractions.

I found it a rip-off that it cost €7.50 to wash and dry my clothes. I also had to pay for a locker once I checked out so I could leave my bag at the hostel for a few hours. This is the only hostel I've stayed in where I had to pay to leave my bag. The building is old too, and not in a good way.

I was happy to leave after 4 days - I probably would have left sooner but there are signs in reception saying "no refunds" once you have paid.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and ratings. The room is advertised as 10+ because it is the only option available on booking websites to advertise large dorms that have more than 10 beds. Unfortunately we cannot change that. We do believe that 10+ already shows that the room has an occupancy of more than 10 beds. We do understand that it can be noisy with that many people, and therefore we offer ear plugs at the reception. We do know that there are not a lot of outlets in the rooms and because of that we offer to charge electronic devices (phones, tablets, laptops) for free at the reception. As for the cleaning, the rooms are cleaned every day. We do take cleanliness very seriously so we will definitely look into this to make sure that everything is cleaned every day. We are very proud of our location in the city centre and along one of Amsterdam's most beautiful canals. We are happy to hear you appreciated that as well. As for the laundry, our prices are very competitive compared to laundry services in the city and is including soap as well. If you like to get in touch with us, please send an email to service@vondelpark.stayokay.com. We do hope you enjoyed Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I would recommend this hostel, clean, great value, great location, friendly and close to all the action, not to mention some great benches infront of the building on the canal for a cheeky smoke ;) would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thanks for your great review and ratings. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! And of course we would love to welcome you again! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The hostel is nice, the rooms are spacious and clean. The staff is nice and helpful. The location is perfect, close to everything you'll need as a tourist in Amsterdam (it might be tricky to find the hostel at first time because the entrance is discrete). The bathrooms are very good, lots of cabins, good shower, clean. The hostel has a friendly and safe environment. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for you review and ratings! We are happy to here enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

terrible overpriced hostel.
the staff is arrogant,the firsr smile because you paid then your skum especially the young woman with the long black hair.

bathrooms was poor smelled bad.not clean at all.

the dorm has 1 plug for phones the blanket is old and got holes on it.when i mentioned it to the woman behind the desk (long black hair) she said its a hostel what do you expect.

overall don't go to this hostel there are better hostels

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and ratings. First of all we want to apologize for the way our staff treated you during your stay. This is unacceptable and we will definitely look into what happened. Secondly, the bathrooms should be cleaned twice a day. This point will also be reviewed by our facility manager as we consider hygiene very important as well. We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.