We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible overpriced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Usa, Tanzania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

terrible overpriced hostel.
the staff is arrogant,the firsr smile because you paid then your skum especially the young woman with the long black hair.

bathrooms was poor smelled bad.not clean at all.

the dorm has 1 plug for phones the blanket is old and got holes on it.when i mentioned it to the woman behind the desk (long black hair) she said its a hostel what do you expect.

overall don't go to this hostel there are better hostels

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and ratings. First of all we want to apologize for the way our staff treated you during your stay. This is unacceptable and we will definitely look into what happened. Secondly, the bathrooms should be cleaned twice a day. This point will also be reviewed by our facility manager as we consider hygiene very important as well. We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    65
    56
    11
    7
See reviews for
2
21
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hostel is right in the centre of Amsterdam and everything is in walking distance ! The hostel is very clean ! the staff members are very helpful and their english is top notch ! Lots of things to choose from their buffet ! Will definitely come back again !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review and ratings. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We do our very best to get our guests the best facilities so we are glad to hear you appreciated it! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Located in the heart of the city, this hostel is well-placed for lots of activity. The breakfast was good and the staff very friendly. The facilities felt a bit cramped, but perhaps that was because it was so very popular with its guests. The placement along the canal was one of its charms. It was a wet night for our stay, but the potential for an enjoyable stroll along the canals is there.

Room Tip: Dorm rooms with fewer beds make for better sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review and ratings! We are so happy to hear you liked our breakfast. This is one of our best features, along with our amazing location along the canal. Hopefully you'll be able to go on a walk next time you visit Amsterdam! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stay Ok was good. The front desk girls were lovely, the lobby & lung area at the front was good, internet available too & wi-fi. AT 2 private lounge is at the back of the hostel. Laundry facility's however the dryer wasn't very good. The rooms housed the most people i have experienced ( 20 ) but it was actually fine. Beds & bedding good. Bathrooms were a good set up but 1 downfall with the place is that the bathrooms weren't kept clean enough. They really need to be cleaned twice a day. Location as far as i was concerned was fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review and ratings! We are happy to hear you liked your stay at our hostel! We are sorry the bathrooms we not clean enough. We will definitely look into this as they should be cleaned twice a day indeed. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spot on for location. Couldn't be better. Right on a canal, just down the road and round the corner from the red light district.

Dorm room was nice enough. Bunk beds, proper hostel but was fine. Shared bathroom, but yeah, no problems there either, was clean and accessible enough.
Got a great deal with the room, there was about 10 of us going, and I think it was only about £40 for 2 nights.

Definitely stay here if you're on a tight budget.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I was there for only one night, i can't find anything really bad. The bathrooms were big and clean, the rooms also. At night is quiet. The breakfast is not awesome but is ok! And the staff is friendly!
The building was adapted so the organization of the hostel may seem a little strange but it's in the middle of the city and that is really the most awesome thing! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

the only good part here was breakfast ... as soon as u go to first floor there is this weird smell in corriders more in dorms ....bathrooms are really bad all drain in each other so if someone is there in neighbouring stall it floods all over ...loos were horrible ..also lockers are outside dorm its a real pain if want smthin frm bags...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you liked our breakfast so much. The lockers are outside the rooms so that using them will not wake people up late at night or early in the morning. We are sorry about the showers and the smell. They are cleaned twice a day, but I'm sure we could have done something about it at the time. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.