We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will not come again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“will not come again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

the only good part here was breakfast ... as soon as u go to first floor there is this weird smell in corriders more in dorms ....bathrooms are really bad all drain in each other so if someone is there in neighbouring stall it floods all over ...loos were horrible ..also lockers are outside dorm its a real pain if want smthin frm bags...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear you liked our breakfast so much. The lockers are outside the rooms so that using them will not wake people up late at night or early in the morning. We are sorry about the showers and the smell. They are cleaned twice a day, but I'm sure we could have done something about it at the time. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    62
    53
    11
    7
See reviews for
2
21
41
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good location, you really get an Amsterdam feel in this hostel, right on the canals. The bathrooms at times were a bit horrific, broken tissue clinging to the bottom of basins, and vomit all over a toilet in the morning, not too nice to see. WiFi was very patchy, I understand you admit in the conditions that is isn't always perfect, but in 2013, if I have to go to McDonalds to get responsive WiFi, I'm not staying again. Also, no bar in hostel, not very social. Next time I'm in Amsterdam, I'm going to stay at Stayokay Vondelpark, it looks like a better option, but just not as well located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your response! Great that you enjoyed our location! All our bathrooms and toilets are being cleaned twice a day (morning and evening). We have free wifi available in our lobby, tv room and breakfast room. Stayokay Vondelpark is also a great hostel, right next to the museumplein and leidseplein.

Kind Regards, Anna from Stayokay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed there with my friends for a couple of nights, this hostel has great location - its walking distance to most of Amsterdam attractions, service was friendly and helpful. There could be more sockets for charging phones etc. But it was possible to leave phones at reception for overnight charge.
I would visit again and highly recommend it to everyone who is not afraid to stay in hostels ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
How wonderful to hear that you are recommanding us!
Great that you enjoyed our hostel!

Kind Regards,
Anna from Stayokay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I've just got back from Amsterdam and stayed in this hostel while there. The staff are so helpful and friendly! I've got a gammy leg and couldn't get up many steps so they rearranged various bookings so me and two friends could stay together in a room on a lower floor. The staff came and checked on me the day after it was all arranged to ascertain if it all went okay, too. I'D RECOMMEND THIS HOSTEL HANDS DOWN TO ANYONE WANTING TO STAY IN AMSTERDAM.

Room Tip: If you've got mobility problems request a lower room as the building in the city are tall and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Hello Matthew!
Thank you for your Bloody Amazing review!!!
I am glad that the room change went well! In case you are around, just pop in again, even when it is for just a soda ;)
Kind Regards,
Anna
Stayokay Stadsdoelen (front office)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I like that this hostel was next to the party spots in Amsterdam but had a quieter more relaxed vibe to it. It has a small tv room that is hidden downstairs or a few couches in the reception to hang out and meet people coming in. The sheets were all new looking and packaged in plastic and you just grabbed a bag and made your bed yourself. The staff was helpful and knowledgable but not overly friendly and inviting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor!

Good to hear that you enjoyed our hostel. You are right, we are so close to the Dam, Redlight district and Rembrandtplein. However the location is more quiet. Glad that you liked our TV-room and facilities. We will look into your comment about staff! I am glad to hear that they were helpful and knowledgable!

Kind Regards,
Anna
Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hostel I had mixed feelings about, the rooms are shared 20 people, the lockers are outside of the rooms which is annoying, there is only two plugs in each room, not ideal.

The staff were good, highlight was the secret lounge, not many people knew about it and I was great to chill or drink in.

Laundry takes hours took us 3 hours to get our clothes dry. There is no fridge either and no cooking facilities. The staff will heat up food for you or boil water for you.

There is no bar here either. It's very close to the centre, red light district etc, rooms are very clean the bathrooms are gross and always have a strong smell of urine or Bali (if you have been there you will know what it smells like)

No elevators either

Breakfast was awesome, organic juice, bread (all types) cereals yoghurt fruit! AMAZING

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We have mostly large rooms, from 8+ shared. A few rooms have the lockers in the room the others at the corridor next to the room. To have the lockers at the corridor is more quiet for the other guests in the room, for example when guests check out at 4 in the morning.

Thank you for the compliment about our staff! Great that you named our TVroom the secret lounge, since it is in the back of our building. Good to know that is was a highlight.

Laundry should take about an hour, perhaps 1,5 hour. Depending on wich programme. Did you mention this to reception, maybe they could have changed the programme for you.

We will look in to the cleanliness of our bathrooms to prevent the Bali experience!
The hostel is a monumental building, unfortunately it is impossible to have elevators.

Great that you enjoyed the breakfast!

We hope you enjoyed your stay!
Kind Regards,
Anna, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved staying here. It was in a beautiful location, close to everything but far enough away to reduce noise. Really comfy bunks and clean bathrooms with loads of toilets and showers- no line ups! Fantastic free breakfast every day. Really helpful and friendly staff who were happy to mark out maps and give suggestions for good bars and places in the countryside to ride bikes to. Very happy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
What a great response! Your review makes us happy :) We are glad that you enjoyed our hostel, perhaps we see you some other time! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.