We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet relaxed and close to the main spots for nightlife” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Quiet relaxed and close to the main spots for nightlife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I like that this hostel was next to the party spots in Amsterdam but had a quieter more relaxed vibe to it. It has a small tv room that is hidden downstairs or a few couches in the reception to hang out and meet people coming in. The sheets were all new looking and packaged in plastic and you just grabbed a bag and made your bed yourself. The staff was helpful and knowledgable but not overly friendly and inviting.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your response on Tripadvisor!

Good to hear that you enjoyed our hostel. You are right, we are so close to the Dam, Redlight district and Rembrandtplein. However the location is more quiet. Glad that you liked our TV-room and facilities. We will look into your comment about staff! I am glad to hear that they were helpful and knowledgable!

Kind Regards,
Anna
Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    67
    56
    11
    7
See reviews for
3
21
42
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

This hostel I had mixed feelings about, the rooms are shared 20 people, the lockers are outside of the rooms which is annoying, there is only two plugs in each room, not ideal.

The staff were good, highlight was the secret lounge, not many people knew about it and I was great to chill or drink in.

Laundry takes hours took us 3 hours to get our clothes dry. There is no fridge either and no cooking facilities. The staff will heat up food for you or boil water for you.

There is no bar here either. It's very close to the centre, red light district etc, rooms are very clean the bathrooms are gross and always have a strong smell of urine or Bali (if you have been there you will know what it smells like)

No elevators either

Breakfast was awesome, organic juice, bread (all types) cereals yoghurt fruit! AMAZING

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your review!

We have mostly large rooms, from 8+ shared. A few rooms have the lockers in the room the others at the corridor next to the room. To have the lockers at the corridor is more quiet for the other guests in the room, for example when guests check out at 4 in the morning.

Thank you for the compliment about our staff! Great that you named our TVroom the secret lounge, since it is in the back of our building. Good to know that is was a highlight.

Laundry should take about an hour, perhaps 1,5 hour. Depending on wich programme. Did you mention this to reception, maybe they could have changed the programme for you.

We will look in to the cleanliness of our bathrooms to prevent the Bali experience!
The hostel is a monumental building, unfortunately it is impossible to have elevators.

Great that you enjoyed the breakfast!

We hope you enjoyed your stay!
Kind Regards,
Anna, Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved staying here. It was in a beautiful location, close to everything but far enough away to reduce noise. Really comfy bunks and clean bathrooms with loads of toilets and showers- no line ups! Fantastic free breakfast every day. Really helpful and friendly staff who were happy to mark out maps and give suggestions for good bars and places in the countryside to ride bikes to. Very happy!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
What a great response! Your review makes us happy :) We are glad that you enjoyed our hostel, perhaps we see you some other time! Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just completed a three week Europe trek and maybe this hostel was probably the worst one I stayed in. That being said, it's not that bad, just some good with some bad. The location is good, close to Dam square and the central station. Walking distance to everywhere. The washrooms have enough showers and toilets and they are clean enough. They offered a decent breakfast in the morning that will fill you up. They make a point of not making sandwiches for the rest of the day..
The bad... two of the staff members there, while not directly rude, certainly have a degree of arrogance. Asking a question was more difficult than asking for a favor from the godfather. But there were some other helpful staff members. One other huge negative, in a dorm bed of 20, there was no one to charge electronics. That could be a problem with the building itself, but everyone using phones, tablets, laptops, you should have more access for everyone. I wouldn't stay here again, a bit pricy for what they have. But, not terrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review!
Great that you enjoyed our location and breakfast!
We are sorry to hear about the staff members, it is not acceptable that staff members are rude.
In order to prevent this from happening, we would ask you to write us an e-mail to stadsdoelen@stayokay.com We would really appreciate that.
I understand that there was a problem with charging your electronics. Stayokay Stadsdoelen is a monumental building, it is impossible to have more plugs in the rooms. To compromise we offer the service to charge them for free at our reception. You can pick the electronics up 24/7, since we are always open. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we hope to hear from you.
Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Visiting this hostel for two nights as part of an Interrail trip, this was exactly what I expected. We stayed in a 16 bed dorm with a shared bathroom area, the most basic package offered and whilst the rooms were plain, they were clean. This was the same with the whole hostel, it doesn't offer many extras apart from a breakfast which is brilliant and included in the price. Location is reasonably close to the Red Light District, just down from one of the larger streets in Amsterdam, perfect for what we needed. Only criticisms of the hostel would be a lack of plug sockets and the inconvenience of lockers outside the main dorm, it was a bit annoying lugging things backwards and forwards through a door that locks every time you shut it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayokayVondelpark, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.
Good to hear that you had a pleasant stay!
Did you know you could charge your electronics secure and for free at our reception?
We hope to see you again!
Kind Regards, Anna Stayokay Stadsdoelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are super helpful, especially with the washing machines and where to get good food, and it's a very central location. Very easy to find street after a night out. The hostel is also super clean and new and it has one of the better breakfast arrays I've seen. Bathrooms are ok, no ensuites just mass shared ones but you'll never have to wait for a shower.

Problems: lack of charging / power points in the rooms, large (16 people) dorm rooms, there is a corridor that connects some rooms with lockers and this area is amazingly noisy and echoing. Personally I didn't find this hostel especially conducive to meeting people either

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Excellent location...right in the centre of town, close to all the major sights. Good rooms with large windows and light. Not too much by lighting in the evenings though, pretty dim. Lots of toilets and showers, large lockers, good beds and you get good clean bedding as well. Staff was very helpful, also tons of flyers and maps to help you figure your way out. One major peeve was the lack of charging points in the dorms. Otherwise, a thumbs up

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 174 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.