We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was alright” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was alright”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed there in late March for three nights with a friend. The hostel offers complimentary breakfast and the bedding is also free-of-charge. The breakfast was simple, but completely acceptable for the price- toast, jam and also hot drinks (coffee or tea). The hostel was also quite clean and the washrooms were being cleaned regularly. There are lockers available and I think there was the option to buy a padlock at the reception, but it's probably better to take one with you. The location is excellent and the closest streetcar station/ bus station is a five minute walk away. There are free city maps available and you can also get a discount on a boat trip through Amsterdam's canals at the reception. The only thing to criticise are the prices for internet access- 1,50 Euros for a quarter of an hour's access and three euros for one hour. But there's always internet cafés, too.
Oh, and another thing- you are not allowed to cook your own meals in this hostel.
All in all, it's a good, low-budget hostel that I would recommend to anyone travelling to Amsterdam, who is not too keen on comfort, needs a clean place to sleep and would like to stay in the city center.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    109
    80
    13
    9
See reviews for
4
30
74
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

I got really disoriented when I landed in Amsterdam, to say the least. After spending 3 nights in this Red Light Hotel where I woke up to a rat dancing on my pizza box, decided no more 60E a night. Found this place.

It was cheap on weekends for 4 or 6 person dorm and way higher on weekends. If you were smart, you'd stay during the week and go elsewhere on weekends.

Rooms were basic but clean and you got your own large bin that you could lock which was key. Some had bathrooms some had shared bathrooms, I moved to a few rooms during my 2 week stay which felt like a day.

What is lame is that the internet isn't free and it's expensive for wireless, rip off expensive. Best bet is to just hang in a coffee shop that has free wifi.

if I went back, I'd stay there during the week.

- Rob aka
http://stophavingaboringlife.com

Room Tip: Ask for a 4 person with ensuite bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

Nice Place (As a Hostel), Close to the central station around 5 mins walk close to the city center 10 mins (Dam Square), Nice accommodation although been in 20 beds dorm. great breakfast and very helpful receptionists.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

A group of 6 of us travelled over to Amsterdam (from UK) for a weekend. We left the accommodation to one of our freinds to sort out. We ended up in this place, and were dissapointed to find we were in a room/dorm of 16 beds.

After getting over the initial shock, we looked around and to be fair the place wasn't bad. It was clean, the bedding we were given was fresh and the bathroom area was also clean. Breakfast was suprisingly good as well.

As I say in the title of this, I wouldn't normally choose to stay in a hostel, but we stayed for 2 nights and there was no trouble at all.

I would recommend it as far as a hostel, but my personal preference would be to pay more money and have a room/bathroom to myself.

I won't stay here again, but I wouldn't put off those folk who are used to Hostels

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

It´s in a very good location. I booked a room shared with 16 people and no problem at all. The room was huge and I had some privacy. There were also a lot of showers, toilets so you didn´t have to wait for anything.
The breakfast was really really good for a Hostel, even much better than the breakfast in a good hotel. It had fresh juice, toasts, cerals, jam, ham, yogurt, coffee machine with a wide variety of coffees.
The bed was really comfortable and the sheets were clean. As a bad point: there was not internet for free and the prices of 15 min was 1,50.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

I am surprised this place has such low reviews! I loved my stay here. It was very safe, clean, and comfortable, and I loved the location! There was an amazing eetcafe very nearby which has a stunning patio right on the canal (no barriers, it's like eating on a dock!) and they have wonderful cappucinos! The canal is literally right outside the door and there is a great restaurant called In De Waag nearby which was a weigh house in the medieval era. Really cool. Very nice area, lots of trams nearby. The bed was so comfy that on certain days I didn't even want to get up! Met a fellow Canadian traveller who we hung out with. The desk staff were really helpful. I was giving a paper at an academic conference and I needed my paper printed so I asked them for the nearest internet cafe that had printing as an option. Instead of sending me across town looking for one, the lady printed my paper there for me! They were also great about giving directions, phoning taxis, and making suggestions about restaurants and things to do. Fabulous hostel!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Yes its true you can't blame the mood of guests on the hostel themselves, but I have to say I had the most rudest dorm mates around! I would say hello and not get anything back and everyone was just hardcore not going to say hello or good morning...Hopefully there was a shy convention in town.

Getting to the hostel itself was easy, I loved the walk. Also one of the staff at the front desk was cute and helped me out heaps when I was sleep deprived and in need of wanting to wash my clothes (AHHHHH...now I know why no one wanted to talk to me!). I even washed my clothes without detergent, so she happily gave me more tokens to do another cycle and I could add detergent to the machine.

The breakfast was yes all you can eat, but the funniest thing was right on 9.30am, everything was packed away. 9.30am was when breakfast finished (or whatever time it was, I can't remember)...so too bad if you get there a minute past when breakfast is finished. Also found it a bit weird with the lockers all outside, nonetheless at least things were secure.

Hopefully there's more friendly people if I ever come back and stay in Amsterdam - but I think i found a place that was a lot more closer to the action. It's not a bad place.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amsterdam city centre is famous for its numerous bars, canals, shops and museums. What could be more fun than having your home base in the heart of the city that never sleeps? And at Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, you can meet travellers from all over the world. The moment you step outside, you’re bang in the middle of vibrant Amsterdam. Beside bars, restaurants and shops, you will also find theatres, cinemas and museums nearby. The flea market at Waterlooplein is within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.