We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trendy Hotel in the heart of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's at Winston Hotel to your Saves list
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Ambleside, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A trendy Hotel in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed here in October last year for the Half-Marathon. Great selection of food and drink, friendly staff and all the mod cons for tourists with internet access, great storage facilities and simple check in/out procedures. Plenty of choice for breakfast and located near the train station, trams and busy shopping and café district. We booked a double room and en-suite rooms were modest but ideal for our needs and stylishly designed.

Will definitely return. Would recommend this hotel for backpackers and friends looking for somewhere affordable with all the perks of a hotel.

Room Tip: En-suite was a little more but well worth the investment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hey. Thanks for writing. The Amsterdam Half-Marathon was a lot of fun for everyone here in the city and we're glad we were able to help you enjoy it. We're sure nothing can beat a good night's sleep and a hearty breakfast if you're going to be running 21km the next day ; ) Take care and maybe see you for next year's race
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    279
    92
    42
    39
See reviews for
6
166
114
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asiago, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

A group of 8 (3 girls, 5 guys) of us went to Amsterdam for 3 days in March and had the greatest time! I love this party hostel and when traveling with a large group of friends it is perfect! We stayed in an 8 person room, which was nice that there was 8 of us and we didn't stay with people we didn't know, although you can probably meet some awesome people that way and have the best time of your life!

The beds are bunk beds so they are not that comfortable but when your just looking for a place to crash after a long night of partying it works out great! The room had one shower for us to share and in a separate part with one toilet. so at least they weren't together! There was also lock boxes under the bunk beds so if you bring a lock you could put all your valuables in there. The hostel was very centrally located! It was also very reasonable priced!

The bar attached was amazing! Played the best rock n' roll music and we spent a lot of time there just drinking and the food was also really good too! The breakfast provided to us was very good and healthy, typical european breakfast spread! Which I really liked! People that weren't even staying at the hostel would come to the bar to party! it was always packed at night!

I would recommend this hostel to anyone traveling to Amsterdam with friends and looking to have a good time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hey Amanda,
Great of you to write such a detailed review for us. It really seems like you and your crew were a good fit to our style here at The Winston. Awesome that you appreciated our playlists too. We put our hearts and souls into our music and nice that you noticed.
You're welcome back anytime in our hostel and our bar so don't be a stranger!
Thanks again,
Take care Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norge
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

The best thing about this place is the location. A short walk from the Central Station, just around the corner of Dam Square. The lively Warmoestraat outside and the Red Light Disctrict behind it. The Hostel is all right, but nothing special. It is a bit noisy and a bit "trashy", and I don't reckon the service was too good. But I didn't care, because it was cheap, easy and filled my needs. Perfect for backpackers. The bar downstairs is also a nice place to meet other travelers. I would come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Hello Daniel mate,
Good of you to write to us. Its always interesting to read what each and every one of our guests thinks about our hostel and about our location. Very true that we really are right in the middle of all the action, and we can certainly appreciate that on busy weekends the noise can drift over a bit from the Red Light District behind us. You are absolutely right that we cater mainly for the backpacker crowd but Amsterdam is such an awesome city that it attracts all sorts of colourful characters and fills our hostel with a range of interesting people.
We're glad you enjoyed yourself and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for two days/ two nights, the staff were helpful on arrival and were always available whenever needed and the calm and casual atmosphere makes it very easy to feel settled quite quickly. Our room was exactly worth what we paid (£32/€35) for, comfortable beds, en suite, clean and well looked after, and the decor inside definitely gave us a reminder where we were! Despite their being a nightclub attached to the side of the hotel our nights sleep was uninterupted, however we were staying a bit further away so I cannot say this would be the same throughout the Hotel. Food and Drinks were reasonably priced, only downside is that it is somewhat tricky to find at first, but once found relatively easy to find again. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hey mate. Great to see you settled in so quickly. Amsterdam does have that homely feel, which is why many of us end up staying. Even if it can feel like a bit of a maze at times ; ) Our team will be happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us so much. A very cool review. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Booked in here last minute to avoid a nightmare hostel down the road. Fantastic location just on the cusp of the red light. Close enough to enjoy the nightlife but not have to suffer the noise. Despite what has been said in previous reviews i had a great nights sleep even with a window open. My room was to the side however so aim to get a room there.

Twin room basic but servicable and good standard for a hostel. Fresh linen and even towels thrown in. Discounts at the bar for drinks and food. Food i had was a good standard and relatively cheap for Dam. Smoking room downstairs and both this and the bar were packed with 20-30 year olds up for a craic. Would stay again ahead of hotels i have stayed in before and on this same trip.

Room Tip: Get one down the side for quieter time
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Hey. Great to see you made the most of our central location. It is really is true that we are right in the heart of all the action in Amsterdam. We trust you used your hotel security card to get further discounts on food and drink in the bar as well ; ) Thanks for taking the time to both read our reviews and write your own
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This Hostel is a A*+ Rating. I'm not an easily pleased customer, however at the Winston the service is efficient and friendly and the decor and atmosphere in the Hostel is fab! I travelled with a friend for her 21st Birthday on the Fri 24th Jan - Mon 27th Jan, of where we stayed at the Winston in a 6 bed mixed dorm. Both female and I would say we both didn't find the Hostel area 'Seedy' like it says in some reviews I came across. The location of the Hostel is excellent! 2 mins from Dam square and 5 Mins to the Central station (Do not get confused between the two when looking for transportation once you arrive in Amsterdam to the Hostel.) However you do have some of the Redlight district to the back of you, parallel with the Hostel, we did not find this a problem at all but I know some might. The street of where the Hostel is located is packed with Cafe's, Bar's, Food outlets, the Winston's own nightclub; 1/2 price entry to guests! and also the Infamous 'Condom Shop'. The Food at the Hostel is like decent pub grub in the UK, The bed's are incredibly comfortable (esp. for bunk beds.), the cleanliness of the Hostel is to a 4* Hotel standard, fresh bed linen and towels per day, indoor and outdoor smoking area, electronic lockers for baggage - 4 euro for the whole day (If you have a late flight). The only reservation I would say would be that once on one night I heard the nightclub's music and I was on the 5th floor, however it wasn't unbearable and rolled over and went back to sleep - as I guess most of the guests there are intoxicated (as was I), so it doesn't matter too much. It also looked so much better than any other Hostel we passed on that street. Would certainly Recommend this Hostel 100% if you are visiting Amsterdam and are on the search for Hostels I'd say you would get no better than here. Can not sing it's praises more. BOOK UP! In addition I am glad that I have booked my Paris stay with this chain, I look forward to see what is on offer there!

Room Tip: They offer a variety of rooms, so choose whats best for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 180 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.