We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fave budget Hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's at Winston Hotel to your Saves list
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fave budget Hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I've stayed at The Winston twice now, once in a private dorm with 7 other girls and secondly in a normal sharing hostel room with 2 friends. I love the place! It is in the perfect location for me as I feel everything is in easy walking distance, it's pretty much central to the area I visit/am familiar with and literally 2 mins from Dam Square. The rooms are basic yes but for the purpose of a friends orientated trip you only want somewhere to shower and lay your head which The Winston provides and it is lovely and clean. I preferred the private dorm as it seemed in better condition as opposed to the normal hostel rooms but as I say, for the price you really can't complain because it is fabulous. It also has really cheap alcoholic drinks offers in comparison to other places and the food is amazing! Plus you get discount if you're staying there. I would defo recommend it 100% and I have been to the Dam 4 times now and going back in 2 weeks :)

Room Tip: Private Dorm for a group
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hey Nicolle,

It's cool that you had the chance to check out a few different rooms in the hostel and hotel. Each rooms is uniquely decorated by local emerging designers and travelling artists and not one of our 67 rooms are the same ; )
Feel free to email ahead to winston@winston.nl if you have any preferences for which type of room design you are looking for!

Thanks for writing,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    272
    91
    42
    40
See reviews for
6
163
106
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hostel was fantastic. Amazing deals on food (hence the nickname 'Dutch Spoons'). Best hot chocolate in all the places I tried and good music in the smoking room - open until 3am! Wow! Pool table also in the smoking room. Can't forget the staff either... They were simply great, always happy and talkative and very kind. Will definitely return!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is nice, the reception is inside a bar that gets very crowded at night what its good if you are there but if you're trying to sleep isn't that nice.. staff is caring and helpful. The bathroom stinks a little but I think that depends on the people who's using it. Its well placed, near the central station and the red light.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In a dodgy area with creepy men standing outside the hostel at night. Our windows looked down onto the red light district windows. The staff were not accommodating to our questions and were quite dismissive. The photos on the hostel website are misleading and rooms are actually quite old. Our bathroom had an awful drainage smell. The hostel is situated near a bell tower which rings every half hour ! Not safe or suitable for females. Not worth the extravagant price. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hey,

It's a real pity you didn't feel totally safe in Amsterdam; the city gets a bad rep sometimes and has made a lot of huge positive changes in recent years. We take security extremely seriously at The Winston and our building is staffed with trained professionals around the clock, so we can assure you are quite safe with us,

Pity you didn't hit it off with our crew as well. They would have been able to tell you about just how cool and laid back this city really is. It's why we love it here!

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your first impressions of Amsterdam. Next time will be a different story we are sure ; )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is the 4th time im stayd in st christophers amsterdam and i couldnt say a bad word about the place. It is by far the best hostel i've stayd in and i've stayd in a few around europe. I've went as a couple and with the lads and its perfectly suited for both. Theres a bar/smoke room downstairs were ur guarenteed to me more like minded people to party/relax with. Im actually in the process of organising a euro interail for nxt summer and the place is that good im just gona stay in st christophers hostel all over europe!!! Also theres also loads of drink and foods deals that helps loads when your working on a budget so its def worth checkin out. Thanks guys until the next time!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very convenient location. Friendly staff. Good bar and food. Good to place to meet like minded people. Staff happy to recommend places. Clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in the chick dorm which is separate to the rest of the hostel rooms. You have to exit the actual bar/hostel and walk next door. No hassle, except that I couldn't get in for breakfast and no one answered the door bell so I had to wait for people to exit.

As with most Amsterdamage hostels, there's no common room here, only a bar which hosts many a passing pub crawl. It felt like many people were travelling in packs and keeping to themselves - not so cool for the solo travellers.

All in all, it served its main purpose as a hostel for me as I was lucky to meet wonderful dorm room buddies to share the crazy city with and it was in prime location for the typical Amsterdam experience. Way noisy at night, but if you're out partying it won't matter. Hence, good for the partier (me!), but not so good for the museum enthusiast who wants to sleep (not me!).

The hostel is only about five or so minutes stroll from Centraal Station (but then add five more for the time it takes to dodge waves of tourists). It's a quick stroll around the corner to the Red Light District (just a few minutes away); a short walk to Rembrandtplein and about twenty minutes walk to Leidseplein and Vondelpark.

In future, I would only stay again if I was travelling with people. If I'm solo again, I'll go elsewhere to seek new experiences and a more solo friendly hostel.

Oh, and a dude pops by briefly each morning to recruit walking tourers - he's easy to miss though so if you do miss him you can just head to Dam Square and join there, like I did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.