We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's at Winston Hotel to your Saves list
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In a dodgy area with creepy men standing outside the hostel at night. Our windows looked down onto the red light district windows. The staff were not accommodating to our questions and were quite dismissive. The photos on the hostel website are misleading and rooms are actually quite old. Our bathroom had an awful drainage smell. The hostel is situated near a bell tower which rings every half hour ! Not safe or suitable for females. Not worth the extravagant price. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard P, Manager at St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Hey,

It's a real pity you didn't feel totally safe in Amsterdam; the city gets a bad rep sometimes and has made a lot of huge positive changes in recent years. We take security extremely seriously at The Winston and our building is staffed with trained professionals around the clock, so we can assure you are quite safe with us,

Pity you didn't hit it off with our crew as well. They would have been able to tell you about just how cool and laid back this city really is. It's why we love it here!

Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your first impressions of Amsterdam. Next time will be a different story we are sure ; )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    292
    93
    41
    39
See reviews for
6
171
118
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is the 4th time im stayd in st christophers amsterdam and i couldnt say a bad word about the place. It is by far the best hostel i've stayd in and i've stayd in a few around europe. I've went as a couple and with the lads and its perfectly suited for both. Theres a bar/smoke room downstairs were ur guarenteed to me more like minded people to party/relax with. Im actually in the process of organising a euro interail for nxt summer and the place is that good im just gona stay in st christophers hostel all over europe!!! Also theres also loads of drink and foods deals that helps loads when your working on a budget so its def worth checkin out. Thanks guys until the next time!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very convenient location. Friendly staff. Good bar and food. Good to place to meet like minded people. Staff happy to recommend places. Clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in the chick dorm which is separate to the rest of the hostel rooms. You have to exit the actual bar/hostel and walk next door. No hassle, except that I couldn't get in for breakfast and no one answered the door bell so I had to wait for people to exit.

As with most Amsterdamage hostels, there's no common room here, only a bar which hosts many a passing pub crawl. It felt like many people were travelling in packs and keeping to themselves - not so cool for the solo travellers.

All in all, it served its main purpose as a hostel for me as I was lucky to meet wonderful dorm room buddies to share the crazy city with and it was in prime location for the typical Amsterdam experience. Way noisy at night, but if you're out partying it won't matter. Hence, good for the partier (me!), but not so good for the museum enthusiast who wants to sleep (not me!).

The hostel is only about five or so minutes stroll from Centraal Station (but then add five more for the time it takes to dodge waves of tourists). It's a quick stroll around the corner to the Red Light District (just a few minutes away); a short walk to Rembrandtplein and about twenty minutes walk to Leidseplein and Vondelpark.

In future, I would only stay again if I was travelling with people. If I'm solo again, I'll go elsewhere to seek new experiences and a more solo friendly hostel.

Oh, and a dude pops by briefly each morning to recruit walking tourers - he's easy to miss though so if you do miss him you can just head to Dam Square and join there, like I did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We didn't stay in the hostel as it was fully booked, but visited the bar on 2 occasions and had a very enjoyable time. The staff were very friendly (especially the guy from Harrogate) and the music and atmosphere were excellent.
Although we were the oldest customers by about 30 years we didn't feel out of place.
When we go back to Amsterdam we will try to stay here.
Also, check out the photo of the men's urinal!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The bar in this hostel was excellent - great music and excellent atmosphere no matter what time we visited. They do really good promotions including 2 Absolute Vodka and (real) Red Bull for 9 euros all day which was really good. We also tried some food which was delicious and fresh. Definitely worth a visit and we would even look at staying in the hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Flew into Amsterdam for the night and booked this hotel because it was relatively cheap and had great review on other hostel websites. Hostel did not disappoint and was right in the red light district. Was about a 8 minute walk from Central Station. Hostel has a great bar / lobby area where everyone hangs out and socializes. Stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm and found it above average compared to most other hostels I have stayed at. Only thing that was weird is that when we returned at 1am, the lobby area was closed and there wasn't any place to hang out after hours. Besides for that, St. Christopher's Inn is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 185 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Agoda, HostelWorld, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.