We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest swingers in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's at Winston Hotel to your Saves list
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Deals & Bar Promos
Ranked #28 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Oldest swingers in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We didn't stay in the hostel as it was fully booked, but visited the bar on 2 occasions and had a very enjoyable time. The staff were very friendly (especially the guy from Harrogate) and the music and atmosphere were excellent.
Although we were the oldest customers by about 30 years we didn't feel out of place.
When we go back to Amsterdam we will try to stay here.
Also, check out the photo of the men's urinal!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    364
    107
    42
    39
See reviews for
8
194
152
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The bar in this hostel was excellent - great music and excellent atmosphere no matter what time we visited. They do really good promotions including 2 Absolute Vodka and (real) Red Bull for 9 euros all day which was really good. We also tried some food which was delicious and fresh. Definitely worth a visit and we would even look at staying in the hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Flew into Amsterdam for the night and booked this hotel because it was relatively cheap and had great review on other hostel websites. Hostel did not disappoint and was right in the red light district. Was about a 8 minute walk from Central Station. Hostel has a great bar / lobby area where everyone hangs out and socializes. Stayed in a 6 bedroom dorm and found it above average compared to most other hostels I have stayed at. Only thing that was weird is that when we returned at 1am, the lobby area was closed and there wasn't any place to hang out after hours. Besides for that, St. Christopher's Inn is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here for four nights with a friend in an 8 bed mix dorm and it was the perfect hostel - fantastic staff, great people, affordable food/drinks, clean...the list could go on! I was really impressed that the rooms were cleaned/bedding changed daily...made for a nice welcome back after long days sightseeing! The hostel is centrally located (close to Dam Square, the red light and Central station) and totally worth the cost but if you are going to want an early night then I would advise you bring ear plugs or get a private room as it can be a bit noisy (but aren't all hostels?!).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Hostel was very clean. The staff made our beds and cleaned the en-suite bathroom everyday. I stayed in a twin room which was very spacious. The breakfast was very good and had great variety. The bar area is awesome and great to meet people, great drink specials. Loved how the rooms were decorated. Slept with earplugs in as it can be a little bit loud but other than that loved it. Felt really safe as they had a great system with the keys (you had to give your key when leaving and to get it back you had to show your card to reception). Had lockers in the reception area to store your bags at a small cost.

Great location close to many bars, pubs and walking distance to central station.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have stayed at the hostel about 10 times and the hostel has everything you need - if you looking for party, nightlife, cheap drinks and good food. There is nothing fancy about this place at all and thats why I like it so much! The staff is great and they have a nice bar downstairs. Its located 15 minutes by foot from the central station so its easy to reach. The hostel is next to the red light district and loads of bars so its quite busy 24 hours. The only bad thing about the area is that the hostel is located next to a old clocktower that has woken me up dozen of times with loooong "songs" its playing every full hour.. crazy! Make sure that you are drunk when you go to bed ;-)

This hostel is Amsterdam for me :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have chosen this hostel after staying in its hostel in London and Barcelona and was not disappointed indeed. The location is perfect...in the heart of Amsterdam, close to the central station and all fun you are looking for is very close, you just need to walk. The staff is very kindly and the facilities and rooms are very good and clean. The room I have stayed had its own bathroom, but I do not no if all rooms have it. I truly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#134 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 592 reviews
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#29 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
Stayokay Amsterdam Vondelpark
#46 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
#63 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 443 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Heart of Amsterdam
Heart of Amsterdam
#105 of 201 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 201 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your first culture stop in this over-the-top Dutch city! Here you can upgrade to one of our 60 design hotel rooms - all decorated by local artists. When you stay at the St Christopher’s at the Winston Hostel and Hotel not only are you in the most central city location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.