We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's at Winston Hotel to your Saves list
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“So amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I love st christophers this was my second time using this company and always look for them when I'm in Europe. Great location, close to train station and city center. Enjoyed the free walking tour. And was close to the location where I picked up the windmill day tour the next day. Had a free breakfast cheap and clean rooms and just can't say enough about how great this company is. Front desk so helpful in showing you anything you wanted to know on the map. Internet went down for a bit the first day but they apologized and it was fixed by the time I was back that night.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    338
    103
    41
    39
See reviews for
8
183
141
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for one night in a double room that had one wall covered with a large photo of two naked guys. The room was small (10m2), the beds were small, the bathroom was small (2m2); the location was great. If you just need a place to crash, I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

St Christopher's Inn was our first experience staying in a youth hostel. The stay was perfect and exceeded any expectations, especially for the amazing prices per night! The hostel staff were so friendly and helpful and the hostel itself was modern, clean and perfectly located above a chain of bars called Belushi's! We loved the garden at the back and the balcony that we had outside our room, both locations you were allowed to smoke in. It made our stay in Amsterdam perfect! It was literally 5 minutes from Centraal Station, Dam Square and amazing coffee shops.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed there with my girlfriend and we wanted to meet people from around the world. We think that the location is excellent, very close to the dam square. The breakfast was very tasty and had alot of Varied food.
The pub is big but we thought that the tables will be big and long so people can sit together and talk with each other, like in other hostels but very good for couples that want to be alone. The pub is often full of people so there isn't a place to sit and smoke for the residents of the hostel.
Room is beautiful and clean. Very good that has a big window in the room but little bit a noise from the street even if you close the window.
If we will come back to Amsterdam and would like to be alone we would stay here again but if we want to meet other people we would search for another place.

Room Tip: If you would like quite ask for a room with no window (don't know if there is any). Wake up earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had a private room with some interesting art on display. There were a lot of drunken English people on a stag party, but this is Amsterdam so……. Staff are very friendly and helpful and even tried to control the for mentioned drunk Englishmen. The hostel is located in the Red Light District, within easy walking distance of Amsterdam Centraal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had a private single room on the 4th floor with Bob Marley's face taking up one entire wall. It was perfect. So clean, so comfortable, such good value and right where you want to be. I really don't think you will find better. I forgot about breakfast being included so that was an awesome surprise :) The bar and garden area do get really busy and it sounds like they're partying in the hallway outside your door, but staff move everyone inside at 10:30 most nights and then it's super quiet considering you're right in the heart of all the action. I was stoked they had lockers cause they really don't want you checking in until 2pm and I was not about to lug my suitcase around until then. Also the elevator quickly became best friend because of said suitcase. If you want the best you can get in The Dam then stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hostel is in a great location close to all the main sites so that is a massive plus! Our first night was a Saturday and even though we were on the 4th floor it was incredibly loud most of the night. It did quieten down somewhat Sunday and Monday night but was still loud. You can get free ear plugs at reception.

We stayed in a private room with our own bathroom. Some of the rooms are themed and we had the green room- all the walls and ceiling were green- surprised the carpet wasn't green to be honest! The shower was surprisingly decent. The room didn't get much light so there was quite a stale smell all the time so we had to keep the window open as much as possible- the smell was not the smell you would expect from being in Amsterdam!

You get great deals at the bar downstairs and the private room came with towels. There are lockers for your bags if you have a late flight or arrive before check in time but you have to pay. There is nowhere free to leave them.

All in all, great location and once you got used to the noise sleeping is not as much of an issue! Staff were very helpful and the beds were comfortable enough and there was 4 plugs in the room to keep all electronics charged to use the free wi-fi!

Room Tip: Try for a room not on the street side for a chance of a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your first culture stop in this over-the-top Dutch city! Here you can upgrade to one of our 60 design hotel rooms - all decorated by local artists. When you stay at the St Christopher’s at the Winston Hostel and Hotel not only are you in the most central city location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.