We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's at Winston Hotel to your Saves list
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“poor customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

location,spot on,just 1 gripe really,the fella on reception must be the most ignorant bad mannered person i"ve come to meet in years,how on earth do you put a person like that on the meet and greet desk is beyond me,it was nothing personal,he was like that with everyone,apart from him the hotel was ok..........ps amsterdam is a bit of a rip off when it comes to prices of things,probabaly run by a cartel when it comes to business,bring em in and rip em off...

Room Tip: rooms at back of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    315
    97
    41
    39
See reviews for
6
177
133
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here twice in 2012. Lovely shared rooms with more than adequate bathroom facilities. Has a good sized bar that serves discounted food to people staying within the hostel. The club attached has a really good selection of events. Decent smoking room with fast pool table. Alan, the boss is atop bloke who is happy to assist with any query. Will return!

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great place to say for party ppl on stags or hens, central close to everything. Rooms very average and noisy at night. As its right in the heart of the RLD! Great drink offers at the bar and great food aswel. Quality food. A lot going on at this place defo stay here again no doubt.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My partner and I are 53 and 45 and were a little concerned that we'd feel out of place as there were no reviews from our age group. We needn't have worried. We were welcomed with a genuine smile, offered useful information such as locker use, breakfast times etc.

We had tried to book the Deluxe double for 3 nights but it was only available for the last 2 of our 3 day stay. We knew that before we went as we booked on line. Our 1st night was in the Standard double (room 704) This room was fabulous. Bright, clean, modern and fresh with wooden furniture. It had an en suite with a bath and shower. A painted mural, titled Lola, on the main wall really cheered us up and we knew we were in Amsterdam ;-) The Deluxe suite was equally nice (room 609) but only had a shower -no bath. It did however have a balcony (handy if you're a smoker) - there's a smoking room down in the bar. The deluxe room was painted in a deep plush red with a gold framed 'deluxe' painting of 'lots of Lolas' The furniture was more modern (glass and chrome)The balcony was worth upgrading for but we thought the standard double was so good we'd happily have stayed there 3 nights.
Despite some of the reviews i've read, we couldn't hear any noise at all from downstairs or outside. The music in the bar area was alternative, soul, blues and really well chosen we thought.
Breakfast consists of a buffet which has - 6 varieties of bread - boiled egg - sliced cheese, ham and salami - 4 cereals - 3 fruit juices or milk - hot drinks from a machine - jams and butter. All free and included in the price of your room.
The meals from the hotel bar are outstanding and not what you'd expect from a hostel. Really good quality, freshly made burgers were to die for.
The staff are happy, helpful and clearly love what they're doing.
Would highly recommend for all age groups of open minded, fun loving people.

Room Tip: We stayed in 609 Standard Double (has bath and shower) and 704 Deluxe double (no bath but does have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

First the cons, that are more important on this case:

Cons: - We booked a double room with a private bathroom, so we paid the price and didn't have much trouble. But I heard from people that had lots of problems with drunk/stoned/having sex people on the bigger mixed rooms. Of course this is something common in hostels, but especially in Amsterdam (and near the red light district, a bohemian part of the city), this is something that you should always take into account before choosing a place to stay;
- The rooms from the first floor really have a noise issue before aprox. 1am (3am during weekends), because of the bar they have at the reception, but we were on the 2nd floor and it was not bad.
- The bathroom was really, really small, and it was almost uncomfortable to take a shower;
- We would not feel much safe to walk around the hostel during the night. A guy asked us for money and we really felt intimidated of saying no.

Pros: - Great location, near the red light district and the central station
- Free breakfast
- It had his own bar, which would allow you to make some friends and to have some fun/warming up before leaving the hostel

Overall it was a nice stay, but it's a matter of knowing what are you looking for and how much do you want to pay for it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
henryboyson
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Unfortunately I'm having to write this review with a bitter bias as after 4 month's after my original stay, the hostel have stopped responding to my refund request.

I'll start with the tale before critiquing the hostel & staff itself. A large group of my work colleagues & I went to Amsterdam for the weekend on the Eurostar but unfortunately 2 of the party had to drop out leaving one of the rooms empty but paid for. We explained to the staff upon arrival who suggested they were able to resell the room and give a refund on the card. This we thought was ideal and carried on with the city break. At the end of the stay I spoke with reception clerk who had confirmed the room had been resold and the refund put back on my card. I asked for cash instead (as proof) but he insisted it had already been transfered. In my tired state & willingness to get home I thanked and left.

2 weeks later, no refund added to the card and so a long list of emails to the hostel began. I originally got a response suggesting they will look into the refund and have it sorted. They're no longer responding to my email.

I would have minded less if the room was non refundable and sat empty (could have had my own room instead) during the trip but they resold the rooms and profited twice which pisses me off.

Now a general review of the place.

Pros:
Location - Grimey central red light district location but if you want bars then here is good.
Food - Free breakfast in the morning. Nothing special but you can't complain at free food.
Bar - Happy hour at the bar gets you started before the night out

Cons:
Rude staff - we nearly got turned away before checkin because the old w***er behind the checkin desk said we 'cheated' the booking system because we all booked separately (but came in a group).
Atmosphere - What else can you expect from a red light district hostel, dark, noisy, smokey.
Security - Ok once you're in the hostel but there were a lot of fights and pick pockets outside the front door.
Price - for the quality of stay I expected more. Fine if you're 18 years old on your first trip to Amsterdam.

Can't say I will return there even if they do end up giving me a free weekend's accommodation back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is good for anyone going to Amsterdam to have a bit of fun! The staff were all extremely friendly and smiley :) happy to help as well. We had a double deluxe, which had quite an erotic painting on the wall, which was absolutely hilarious, especially after you've visited some of the surrounding coffeeshops. Small bathroom but it did the job. The balcony was a lovely plus. The only downside was the builders working on the building opposite at 8am, which was so close due to the narrow streets.
The best thing about this hotel was it's location. It was brilliant - 5 min walk from train station, 2 min walk from Dam Square. And you only had to walk out the front door and you were in the middle of Amsterdam's buzzing red light & coffeeshop district.
The food here was good, I only had breakfast one of the days we were there and it wasn't the most amazing selection but oh well, there are plenty of cafes within walking distance to have breakfast in. The food on their menu was really good, we had this daily as it was well priced too.
Another really good thing about this hotel was the smoking room. In there you could smoke tobacco & some of Amsterdam's finest. It was sometimes difficult to get a seat it was so busy! But this gave it an amazing atmosphere and I met so many people there!
Great staff, great service, great place! I am 100% going back to the Winston when I'm back in Amsterdam, and I've recommended it to everyone who's queried me about an Amsterdam trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Christopher's at the Winston has to be your first culture stop in this over-the-top Dutch city! Here you can upgrade to one of our 60 design hotel rooms - all decorated by local artists. When you stay at the St Christopher’s at the Winston Hostel and Hotel not only are you in the most central city location, next to all of the best attractions, you also have access to our very own private beer garden, attached to the Belushi’s bar. Add to that a built-in nightclub at the famous Winston Kingdom next door and you can’t go wrong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.