We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheep and cheerful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St Christopher's at Winston Hotel to your Saves list
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cheep and cheerful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hostel was in a GREAT location. 2 min walk from the red light district and all of the major attractions (the Heineken experience was 15mins away)

The room was basic but comfortable. Felt a bit tired and dates but great for the price and just what was needed for a weekend away. Shower was a bit temperamental but considering the price you can overlook this. Our room was over looking the hotels outside smoking area which was slightly noisy but again for the price (and the fact that we was out for most of the night) didn't matter.

The hotel had fantastic breakfast (buffet included, WOW) and some great fry up options. It also had some fantastic drinks deals on and a dj every night.

I would stay here again at the drop of a hat and have not problems in recommending this to anyone. Enjoy the hotel for what it is, a cheap place for you to sleep and get changed. I look forward to my next trip here

Room Tip: When booking ask for a room that DOESN'T over look the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    278
    92
    42
    39
See reviews for
6
166
114
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padstow, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great location stayed here for 5 nights, only 2 minutes away from Dam Square - red light district you are in it!!! We got the private room with ensuite on the 7th floor with the art work of the "lady suggestively taking off her panties". Room is spacious, and receives great natural sunlight. Room also had a bathtub and shower, hot water was immediate, so you don't have to wait. They make up your room every day, which I thought was very nice. There is also a TV, side table lamp and small table with two chairs contained within the room. Access to the room is either via elevator or stairs. Plenty of power sockets in the room - 4 in total. Breakfast is of good standard and comes free which is great. There is no kitchen, but the bar food is really tasty and affordable (you get 25% off if your staying at the hostel). In terms of noise, it can get loud at night from the bar downstairs, but the reception staff offer earplugs if your a light sleeper. So far the best St Christopher's inn I have stayed in!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

As an older female it wasn't the best place to stay because if the location and extreme noise but in saying that, the beds are comfy, showers hot and the owners very friendly and helpful. We had a small problem with our room and they were extremely keen to resolve it.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights and we originally chose this hostel as it was close to the train station (Centraal). We also discovered it was really close to a lot of the main attractions (Dam Square, Red Light District) and public transport. All the staff (bar and reception) were extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed in a private double ensuite room. The rooms and below streets were noisy at night but what else to you expect in Amsterdam on a weekend? The bar down stairs serves good food and cheap drinks and there were plenty of places close by to eat, drink and smoke. Would not hesitate in recommending this place to young people travelling.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for three nights in a private double room,totally brilliant!,the location,if you want to be in the middle of it,couldn't be better,smoking room in the bar area,brilliant!,every member of staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful,I couldn't fault anything,will be staying here for sure on our next visit

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Isle of Man, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed in the hostel for 4 nights with my partner. I've done a lot of travelling in my time and stayed in many hostels and would recommend this place to others. On this occassion I wasn't in a dorm room, so from this respect I can't comment, however the double rooms had own balconies and ensuite and very comfortable. I would recommend this place for anyone aged 18 to 30, and would say definitely not family friendly (mainly for the pornographic pictures you may find around about the place!!). They offer 25% off all the bar food, which was very good, 2 for 1 on a selection of drinks, and breakfast is included. The location is very central, a 5 min walk from train station, tram stops, canal boat cruises, Dam Square and red light district - what more could you ask for. If you are that way inclined, there are plenty of coffee shops nearby and smoking areas at the hostel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor, which had a shared balcony, great to sit out and catch some sun in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

The Winston is a fun hotel for a short stay in Amsterdam. It is centrally located, within a short walk from Centraal, and the rooms are each designed with different and unique decor. The hotel has a great club, with good DJs, on the ground floor, and from the front door it is a short distance to restaurants, the tram, and bars, to name a few. I wouldn't say this is the cleanest or quietest hotel, but that is far from the point if you're staying here.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique. Select one that looks down on Warmoesstraat, for a nice view of the loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Christopher's at Winston Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Christopher's at Winston Hotel

Address: Warmoesstraat 129, 1012 JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 178 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St Christopher's at Winston Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your St Christopher's at Winston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Christophers At Winston
Hotel Winston
Winston Hotel Amsterdam
Winston Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Christopher's at Winston Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.