We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Washington to your Saves list
Hotel Washington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 10, 1071 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Reasonable but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Amsterdam is an expensive city so finding somewhere reasonably priced to stay when you are just overnighting and probably not in your room much is difficult. At 100 Euro for a single bed room with bathroom and breakfast, by Amsterdam standards this is fairly cheap. So I guess you get what you pay for. But it was clean and in a lovely upmarket suburban location close to the centre of town. It is very quiet and the breakfast area is really nice. So as long as you don't have great expectations and don't require a double bed if you are going as a single, this place is OK. And the staff are nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    165
    72
    30
    18
See reviews for
58
104
58
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

very calm and peaceful-room large and very comfortable-clean- (except few noises in the pipes of the bah room between 7 and 10 at night but no real nuisance if you close the door of the bath room)- people at the desk very efficient and nice, especially the lady at the breakfeast who is so kind-By the way brekfeast is very good (ask for scrambled eggs)-- hotel well located (close to the Ryks and Van gogh museums (even if this late one is provisorely transfered to the Hermitage) and few meters to tramways 16 and 24 which get you to the city in 10 minutes or walk 8 minutes to the museum square and get tram 5 to dam station.-Beware of the stairs: the hotel is in an ancient house with extremely steep stairs...better not to have heavy and large luggage!
If you drive, drop your luggage at the hotel, then go to the P+R parking at the olympisch stadium, (only 8 E/day + free tickets for go and back to the city by tram (10 minutes to the hotel); if you park in front of the hotel it's 4 E/hour !!!!)
Recommandation : Cafe Loetje (50 meters from the hotel) is gorgeous (all dishes are extra and beef is super extra). For dinner, don't go there before 9 at night in order to get a table (impossible before).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

"Hotel" seems to be an exaggeration for this establishment. "Hostel" would be more accurate. Upon entering the "hotel" the first thing that you see is a washing machine, & the smell of washiing powder is overwhelming!!"Hotel" consists of four townhouses, & our's (Room 20) was three doors down. There are 19 (very steep) stairs to the room, loose handrail, but the room itself was clean. We stayed for three nights & the shower was broken for two days!! Breakfast was good, staff helpful, but "Hotel" is really stretching it........ You would need to be fit to ascend the steps to your room, & definitely sober!

Room Tip: Stay sober if you want to reach your bed in one piece!!. Mind the bannister as well as the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night. Staff were very polite and let us go to our room early. Stairs are very steep and if you're on the top floor, they get steeper! No lift! Very peaceful hotel on a quiet street. Tram ride 15 mins to centre! Breakfast was good. They need to upgrade their bedding because a sheet with some kind of blanket is not great. The facilities were clean although the shower didn't work once!!! So be prepared to wash in the sink

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

Been there in january 2011. Polite people. Some restritions about checkin/out hour. Beware of the floor you take. we took a room in the top four (perhaps third ou fourth). "It is a good 'climbing'" . Not so nice if you have too many luggages, children and so on. Of course that you can try to take a room in the lowest floor.
Tram stations nearby. Perhaps 2 stops to Heineken brewery and the museums. Few stops from main train station.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

When we arrived we were told we had to share a bed - that is despite stating when we booked that we were friends (two women) and we wanted a twin room. The receptionist advised, as they were busy, she'd just told two other (male) visitors who had booked online that they had to do the same...(bet they were as chuffed as we were..!) The room, with small ensuite, was pokey and frankly, dangerous. Up three flights of very steep stairs (normal for Amsterdam), no obvious fire escape/s other than the way we entered and the room's fire alarm appeared to have been removed from the ceiling. The windows were also large, low and opened without safety features. If I'd had my children with me I would have left.

Day 2: They moved us to the main part of the building and a nicer room. Fewer stairs and a small balcony. The breakfast was better than expected. Continental plus boiled eggs, some cake and fruit. For the price it was pretty good.

On top of the mandatory Tourist Tax the hotel tried to charge us another 5% for using a debit card. Again online there was no mention of this (only a credit card charge). Beware of this and be prepared to fight your corner if you think this charge is unfair. I did and it was eventually dropped.

The hotel is in a reasonable location, friendly enough staff, okay rooms (excluding our first night) and breakfast. You get what you pay for I guess....

Top Tip: Eat at the restaurant around the corner. It's a noisy, busy, warm atmosphere and the steak is to die for. It's been in business for 35 years apparently and is packed every night - 7 days a week.

Room Tip: Top Tip: Eat at the restaurant around the corner. It's a noisy, busy, warm atmosphere and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Washington

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 10, 1071 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.