We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and sunny bright room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Washington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Washington to your Saves list
Hotel Washington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frans Van Mierisstraat 10, 1071 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #209 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Palawan Island, Philippines
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Clean and sunny bright room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Booked a single room via booking.com (my nightsaver) costs EUR55 with breakfast. The location of hotel is not actually right in the central part. About 7 tram stop from the Amsterdam central train station via tram no. 16 or 24, tram station called Ruysdaelstraat. Although it is walking distance (approx. 10 min.) to museumplein for the Van Gogh museum and other museum in the area as well as the huge Vondelpark.

Situated in a quiet neighborhood, the hotel itself looks like an apartment, you have to press the buzzer to be let in. Electronic keycard lets you in the main door and your room. Peach or pink coloured room, enough space to move around, double-bed, tv on study table, electric fan, safety deposit box ( wonder if it work), coffee making facility - minus the coffee or tea though, clean toilet, curtain separated shower stand.

The large windows opens up to a huge tree and the pleasant street below and a crawling plant, making the room airy and sunlit.

Just as most Amsterdam hotel, the stairs are steep so hold on to the railings, and my room is on the 3rd floor so a bit of struggle.

The breakfast room is the reception area too and breakfast is quite ok with variety.

Staff are good too, asian-looking fellows.

Price/value ratio...I would recommended this hotel, plus I got my coat back when I forgot it inside the cabinet and went back for it when I was already at the train station.

Room Tip: get one facing the street on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    147
    64
    28
    16
See reviews for
53
93
55
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Me and my friend stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is situated near Rijksmuseum and Vondelpark - very nice and quiet location. It's walking distance to the city centre and near the tram stop. The room itself was small but comfortable, we shared bathroom with other rooms on the floor and it was OK (no queue in the morning :) ) We also had the breakfast included and it was a good start for the day and you can eat whatever you want. The only negative I see that while check out you have to pay in cash, you can pay by card but the hotel charge you 4% :(

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian, Puerto Rico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

The Washington hotel needs new towels,the towels are very old. The rooms carpets are old also. They do not provide face tissues.
The breakfast is very good.
No elevator,the stairs are very steep;so if you are advance in age this hotel is not for you.
But all this negatives are cancel by the outstanding service that is provided by the two young man working there.
I would rate the service a 5 star hotel service.
Because of them,and as long as they are there;I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Me and a friend stayed here for a three night city break in mid-March and were very impressed with the hotel's location, friendliness of staff and typical Dutch house.

The hotel is near three tram lines that go directly to Centraal Station, so there's no problem getting there from Schiphol. You are close to the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh museum, the concert hall, the very trendy de Pijp and the Saturday Albert Cuijp market.

The hotel's in a very quiet area and so getting to sleep and having a good uninterrupted kip are no problem. We stayed in two rooms during our stay, and both were spacious, clean, with en suite bathrooms and had very comfy beds. There were also flatscreen TVs with BBC1, BBC2, BBC world and CNN as well as a plethora of Dutch, Belgian and German channels.

The staff were extremely friendly, answering any questions and offering suggestions of what to see if asked. When we moved rooms they also ensured our bags were moved and we were not inconvenienced at all.

The breakfast was varied and plentiful and the dining room was buzzing (probably as the hotel was fully booked).

On the downside (and there aren't many downsides) the furniture is somewhat dated and there are very steep stairs to the rooms - but the hotel is in an old Dutch terrace, so that's unavoidable!

In summary, a brilliantly located hotel, good value for money, clean with friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

As others have stated the stairs are a bit crazy. Very steep, I'd imagine many a late night party goer has come a cropper on them. The guys that run the place were nice enough, although they did seem to have an awful lot of rules, that they pasted everywhere, the rules made me feel like I was in a hostel. The location isn't bad, the museums are near and the tram is handy. The room was OK it had a shared bathroom, a fact I wasn't aware of until I arrived. The towels I was provided with were tiny and raggedy. The bed was uncomfortable. The price was very good though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Located 1 bus or 1 tram away from the airport or Central Station, the hotel is located walking distance from most of Amsterdam. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly, and the included breakfast was great.

The room was clean and the bed was fairly comfortable. It was small, but a typical size of European hotels. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a good price in a quiet part of the city.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

This hotel is in a very good location, three minutes from the tram stop and in a quiet street. It is run by a nice family, who keep it very clean. The extra charge for credit cards was carefully explained at check-in, so you have every chance to get cash and avoid the charge. Others have commented on the steep stairs, which are normal in this part of Amsterdam. The breakfast was varied and plentiful. Our room was warm, and a fair size with a big window, everything worked.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Washington

Address: Frans Van Mierisstraat 10, 1071 RS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Washington 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.