We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the price fairly good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tourist Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tourist Inn
Save
You added Tourist Inn to your Saves list
Singel 69, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #218 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“For the price fairly good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Got twin room to share with my Girlfriend, fair enough, thats what we ordered and I guess there were no doublerooms left. This hotel has two buildings, the separate one is in small and during night pretty scary street, but fair enough. Room was tiny, but nothing I could not live with. Worse thing was ongoing construction site in the part of hotel we lived in, which resulted in being awaken very early morning(7 am). The hotel as itself was very loud and I could clearly hear ppl talking in next room during evening. Electricity was off every now and then, probably because of the construction works on the hotel. Only one tiny shower for whole floor(4 rooms) that got stuck and water started leaking everywhere. Two small toilets, one with annoying 'movement' sensor that goes off as soon as you sit down, so you end up waving at the sensor for a little moment of light. Only spot where you could easily reach wifi was toilet. In the room the signal was very weak and you could not access internet

In overall I was not happy because of the workers there and electricity being off every now and then. I believe however, that for the price, if the work is being done, this can be OK place to sleep.

Breakfast was average. Nothing extra, but satisfying.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    36
    27
    17
    30
See reviews for
4
28
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed two days on this hotel, and if it weren't because I love Amsterdam, this would have been a horrible experience.
We rented the private room with bathroom, The bathroom was really dirty, hairs, dirt, and the mirror dirty, and the walls of the bathroom it was like someone spread butter all over it, it was greasy and yellowish.
The windows were equally greasy and clearly haven't been washed in a long time, if ever.
We talked to the receptionist and manager (as he was the receptionist the next day) and even though the manager seemed to agree with our complaint, nothing got properly clean for the second night.
The WiFi signal was pretty much nonexistent in our room, impossible to check emails even.
Breakfast is not amazing, it's just ok-average.
The location of this hotel is great, but if you are looking for a clean basic room, you can do way better than this for the price. Maybe the shared rooms are worth the price, but don't pay the extra for the private.
If you are looking for a hostel it's probably not bad, if you need a private room stay away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I loved this place. I had a single room with a very comfortable bed and funky city-scape wallpaper. The hotel staff were really kind, and the breakfast was delicious. The morning music in the breakfast nook was, um, thrilling for such an early hour, but the front desk guy had been up most of the night, so it made sense that he wanted some tunes to see him through until sunrise.

There's a laundry place right around the corner that changes almost nothing. This place is close to everything - maybe a five minute walk to dam square, and probably 10-ish to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

It's a small hotel but it has a lift, which helped with my many bags, and a reasonable breakfast. The receptionist was really helpfull and gave me a lot of information about the region and about the attractions that I wanted to vist. The room is really, really small and the bathroom is out of the room. The hotel is located in the Red Light District which I thought was pretty cool! The only problem is that many young hosted there arrived during all night drunk and doing much noise including of vomiting in their bathrooms. The apartaments are NOT soundproof.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

At first arriving, the hostel seemed pretty good. The location is central and close to the Grand Centraal Station, although the downside was that it was close to a lot of coffeeshops. The main building, where the front desk is, was in a modern building with A/C (which was nice on a hot summer day). However, when they gave us the keys to our room (4-bed with shared bath), they told us our room was in a separate building on the other side of the back street. This second building had NO A/C (even though they advertised A/C in the hostel's website) and had one window that looked over the hallway. Because of this, there was no flow of air. Even when it was cool outside in the evenings, it was hot and stagnent in the room. There was also a brothel right next to the second building where our room was at. The people staying in the rooms around us were EXTREMELY LOUD all night long. They were slamming doors, yelling, and running up and down the stairs until 4 in the morning. The walls are paper thin, so every little noise shook our entire room. Even with my ear plugs, I could not sleep due to the noise. The front desk clerk came and told them to quiet down, but unfortunately it did not help much.

I would NOT recommend to stay at this hostel, nor in this area of town. Sure, it is central, but it's too full of your typical American weed-smoking tourists that are just looking to party. If you're going to Amsterdam for its history and architectural beauty, I would recommend staying elsewhere and paying more for a nicer stay.

Room Tip: Rooms with a private bathroom. Confirm that your room has A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Rather expensive for what I thought was a youth hostel but is more like a hotel. Awesome amenities and breakfast as well as free wifi. Near the red light district and Ann frank house which is a good location

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Me and my husband just came back from a trip to Amsterdam and we stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. We had a double room, which in fact is a single with a large bed, but very uncomfortable. We barely could change clothes, the room is very very small. The bathroom instead was very clean and breakfast was great (good coffee, eggs, cheese, ham, sweets). Good, but make sure if you stay longer, you choose a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Inn

Address: Singel 69, 1012 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 262
Also Known As:
Tourist Hotel Amsterdam
Brian Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Brian Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tourist Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.