We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waking up to Mice!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beursstraat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beursstraat to your Saves list
Hotel Beursstraat
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Waking up to Mice!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very very basic which was expected for the price paid. Extremely steep stairs, your out of luck if your on the top floor with luggage as I was! The rooms were freezing even with the windows shut. And to top it all off I woke up to a mouse on my bed at 1am, we were moved to another room which again was freezing. Decided we couldn't stay any longer as we wouldn't be able to sleep so now at the airport waiting for an early flight home. Do not book!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    49
    33
    55
See reviews for
4
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights on a stag-do, very basic, miserable staff, but clean, it has quiet-ish, rooms, very basic but did the job, excellent location near the Station and Centre, perfect for the lads for a couple of nights, but like one reviewer said you'd be divorced if you took your partner here!!!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Don't go expecting much more than a bed to sleep in and a bed/shower/toilet. Found this in a pinch as it was the only one with vacancy and we were stranded in the city after missing the last train out. Honestly could have been worse. Biggest downside is it reeks of smoke but then again it is in the center of Amsterdam just outside red light. 70 euro for a short night stay since we checked in at 2 am felt fair but cash only. Gentleman at the desk was nice.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Quick check-in. Room was fair and clean. overall bathroom was alright although quite small. The location is the greatest virtue was the hotel, it was 3 min walk to Dam Sq and a minute away from RLD and coffeeshops. There was almost no noise during the day and night.
You can also smoke in the room, which worked out real good for us. would totally come back and stay there again. spent there 3 nights with two friends. Staff was kind and helpful.

Room Tip: Room #2 for 3 persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

i was willing to put up with the basic nature of the room, but not the rudeness of the staff. my tip is avoid this one altogether, there's plenty of alternatives closer to the action. the old bloke on Damrak offering rooms works for this hotel so be warned!

Room Tip: go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I booked a twin room in this hotel and it was awful, the room had a strange smell and if this was not enough I discovered in the first night that we had strange noises in the room, I have opened the light and we had two mouses checking our baggages. next day we checked out

Room Tip: don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2015

Me and my partner stayed here Feb 14th 2015 for 3 nights, got a nice welcome and got booked in very quickly, our room was very basic but clean. We were on the top floor so had 41 steps to go up and down, no lift. I would only say the downside was the strange smell that greeted us on the stairs (like boiled cabbage) that made me feel sick. The location was perfect though..

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Beursstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beursstraat

Address: Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Beursstraat 1*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beursstraat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beursstraat Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beursstraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.