We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Blokes!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beursstraat

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beursstraat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Beursstraat
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Bridport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“For the Blokes!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here as a group of friends in about 2005 and got exactly what we paid for....which wasn't much. The hotel is more of a hostel, very dated, nothing really good about it, the beds have seen some use, as have the showers, the people that work/frequent the place are generally quite odd and the whole feel of it is Somewhat dingy.

Basically its perfect for a lads weekend in Amsterdam, the location is second to none, at the entrance to the red light district, plus you can see the train station from outside so you know where to head on your last day (when you're massively hungover and don't need the drama of finding stuff)

You don't need the ritz for this type of weekend, its cheap and it has bags of (grotty) character, save your money for the many delights that the city has to offer, you're only going to use this place as a base to sleep/shower and get out and enjoy the city.

I remembered this place from the first stay, googled the number, rang the guy and booked direct for 15 of us to stay again, no paperwork, no hassle, most lads didn't believe we had a place to stay until we walked there and the guy was waiting for us. It was also good to have some 5 and 6 bed rooms as well as smaller ones to accommodate different people.

P.s if you're going for a romantic weekend, maybe spend a few quid more and stay somewhere nicer :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    41
    25
    42
See reviews for
3
43
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Okay first things first... There is NO option for Air conditioning at this hotel. I am not even sure if It should be called a hotel... It's actually more like a Hostel in my opinion. My Husband and Myself are in our early twenties and stayed 3 nights at Hotel Beursstraat. We absolutely loved Amsterdam city although next time we decide to visit this wonderful city we will choose to spend the extra money and get a better hotel! This hotel was the cheapest I could find (we were traveling on a budget) so considering this we couldn't have expected much more. The room was SMALL. The staircase leading to each floor was ridiculously steep and dangerous (especially after a night of partying) . The entire hotel reeked of mildew. The beds mattress was gross. Since the room had no AC we were forced to sleep with the windows open and the fact that people in Amsterdam never sleep haha It was soooo noisy all night, we hardly could sleep at all. Location on the other hand did make up for the utter sh**tyness (pardon my language) of this hotel. The location couldn't have been better, it's located right in the middle of all the fun. Red light district (which we found comical) is not even a block from the hotel. Staff is interesting, not the friendliest but not rude. I unfortunately wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Yikessss

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location near central station and I guess by some quirk of chance the shower was amazing. Gallons of hot water cascading down, bit like standing under a waterfall.

However the rest of the experience was terrible, someone tried to get in my room three times on Saturday night then lay down in the corridor softly sobbing. French youth listing to rap music at 2am. Loud Italian girls smoking spliffs' under my window. whole place needs a refurb.

Would have been great had I been 21 and up for it. But I'm not and should have known better, next time I will spend a little more on the accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A hotel thats right in the heart of the red light district, staff are friendly and the cleaners are very good at there job. would stay here again, rooms nice and clean, don't book here and expect a 5 star hotel. you get what you pay for

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Close to everything!
Super friendly staff!
Cheap and nice Hotel!

I stayed there twice and if you're not looking for luxery but a good location this is where you should go!
It has all you need :)

Sascha from Germany

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

4 of us stayed this weekend and as it was a totally unplanned trip we turned up at 10.30am to see if they had a room for one night and they did not but they had a triple room and would put a mattress on the floor and as its 2 night minimum it cost 280 euros. The room was very small but we managed it, and it was clean and tidy although for the prices they charge they could supply better mattresses and bedding but all in all the only gripe is really that its not value for money but in a fantastic location so just dont expect much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is what it says. Rooms are small but clean friendly staff and very helpfull. If you book this expecting gloss then don't. It's somewhere to sleep n wash. Simple. Excellent location right by the grasshopper. Which is no longer a coffeeshop

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beursstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beursstraat

Address: Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Beursstraat 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Otel, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beursstraat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beursstraat Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beursstraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.