We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hyped up crack den which would disappoint most crack heads” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beursstraat

Save Saved
You added Hotel Beursstraat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Beursstraat
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 7, Amsterdam 1012 JT, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Ballyferriter, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“hyped up crack den which would disappoint most crack heads”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My four friends and I of Irish decent spent one single night in this establishment. We were fatigued from a long search for a room for the night when we spotted what appeared to be a nice hotel. We walked in and were greeted by a nice man who decided from the moment he saw us to rip us off.

The 5 of us were crammed into a 2 person cage and charged 56 euro per person. we did not receive the mattresses we were promised.
It was dirty, smelly, cramped and the staff were quite unhelpful.
our bathroom was basically a swimming pool and our towels were smaller than the average tea towel.

The workers were shrewd businessmen who prey on backpackers and men with silly a-frame snapbacks small/medium.

all in all, dont stay in this hole.

yours sincerely,

Bryant P. Castlin

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    23
    36
    23
    38
See reviews for
3
38
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Any lads going for the weekend whos hardly going to be in the room and wanting a perfect location, this is for you.
Anybody else, not so much.
As iv said the location is the best in Amsterdam for nightlife/food places, with the grasshopper bar/coffee shop litrally a stone through away and the red light district just a 2 minute walk.
But the hotel in general was poor..
We were about 5 floors up, the hotel never had any way of getting up apart from a very steap set of stairs.
The bedroom was tiny but still clean enough, had no space to hang your clothes apart from a small coat rail but its also tiny.
The pillows and blankets were crap, but as small as the bathroom was, it was also very clean.
I went here with my girlfriend in June 2013, and I wouldnt take her back to the hotel BUT if I was going with friends who wanted sonewhere near everything Amsterdam has to offer then this would be my first choice.

Room Tip: If you have the choice, try get a room as close to the ground floor as possible, unbelievably steap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Warning - if you have 20kg suitcases and your room is located on the top floor (yes and yes for our experience) be prepared for the one of the most strenuous workouts of your life.

The rooms are very small and absolutely bare minimum basic, however the location is so good that those things don't really matter. If you don't mind 'roughing it' for the sake of being in an excellent location, I would recommend. Not too badly priced (in comparison to other places to stay in the area) and the staff were ok.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The reviews here were a little bit scary. So when we booked the room we knew we could be facing a nightmare. However, we had a GREAT experience. If you are travelling on a budget, this place is ideal. It is VERY close to Amsterdam Central train station (two blocks from main street leading to Dam Square and coincidentally one block from the Red Light District). Of course, the hotel is awful in the sense that it needs new furniture ASAP and there is an awful smell at the entrance. The rooms are really small and the mattress pretty hard. But if you are to spend a weekend there, there shouldn't be any problems. I mean, if you are only looking for a clean and safe place to sleep on, then the Beursstraat hotel should not dissapoint you. We mostly saw young guys who probably won't care too much if there are a lot of stairs, or if the sheets are old, or if the bathroom is tiny. In any case, the shower was pleasant enough, the people at front desk were quite helpful (they provided other sheets when requested) and the best thing of the hotel is the LOCATION and price. Would definitely go back. AH, also, another advante: it is petfriendly!

Room Tip: ASK for rooms in the first floors. We were at the last one and it is quite tiresome to get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modena
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

It's not an hotel but an hostel for young people. Dirty rooms and dangerous stairs. It's also very expensive for what it offers. The hall is dirty and the porter eats and play with the cat without any interest for the guest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

what a dive we stayed in number 31. 78 steps and 6 flights of steep stairs. its safe to say if there was a fire below, you better hope you've got half a cigarette a rizla and a lighter and some of the finest bud you've ever smoked as it will for sure be your last. the room was freezing, the radiator was just a fixture on the wall as it served no purpose what so ever. the beds tool like they has come from hitlers training camp. its like a scene from train spotting. A crack den.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here 1st-4th march 2013.
Rooms were clean,beds are wood nailed together with prison mattress and itchy blankets.
We only needed someplace to sleep,but hotel decided to turn heating OFF (its winter time and damm cold) not good.
Hotel smells a little but that seems normal for cheap hotels in dam.
You can smoke weed in room but open the windows.
Not likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Beursstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beursstraat

Also Known As:
Beursstraat Hotel Amsterdam
Beursstraat
Address: Beursstraat 7, Amsterdam 1012 JT, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Beursstraat 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Beursstraat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beursstraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.