We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best,but not worst either” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Beursstraat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Beursstraat to your Saves list
Hotel Beursstraat
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not the best,but not worst either”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here 1st-4th march 2013.
Rooms were clean,beds are wood nailed together with prison mattress and itchy blankets.
We only needed someplace to sleep,but hotel decided to turn heating OFF (its winter time and damm cold) not good.
Hotel smells a little but that seems normal for cheap hotels in dam.
You can smoke weed in room but open the windows.
Not likely to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    48
    32
    53
See reviews for
4
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Like first, the location is absolutelly great. The prices of the accommodation for Amsterdam are more than friendly. I have been here with group of 8 friends. Nobody of us complain about the accommodation. Furniture is old but ok, sice of rooms is small but ok, bathroom is absolutelly ok (everything works), heating works well too. We used the rooms for sleeping and the sleeping quality is good. Just to compare, two years ago we were in 4* hotel, price was minimal double and the accommodation was very similar, i can say, no difference, ok, 4* hotel had TV in room.
Hotel Beursstraat = you get, what you pay for, dont expect 5* servis for few EURs. I dont have problem to stay here again. Good location for exploring the city.
p.s. We got very late check out for free, great bonus. Big thx to helpfull stuff :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, you're less than a 5 minute walk away from the red light district, Central Station, Dam square etc.
We just wanted somewhere really cheap and centrally located as we were only there for one night to have a few beers and watch Ajax v Real Madrid.
The hotel is very outdated but clean, it's fine to go with "the lads" if you're just looking for a place to crash but if you're going with your partner then pay the extra money and stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

When I got there I thought I would kill my travel agent whom I always trusted. I am not used to luxurious conditions but that was too much. It was extremely small and old, the bathroom was tiny and clean but smelled like hospital. It was frequeshly cold in the room. Of course no hairdryer though every place I went before had at least one and I didn't bother to take one. We had to move our bed from the windows and it became a bit better. Also had to ask the staff to turn on the heating which later on heated us more than well. As for the bed I was disgusted by it. The blanked was like in prison and only a small, doubtfully clean sheet separated my body from it. I spent there 3 nights and now I am so happy to be home in a clean nice bed:)
To sum up, location is great and the hotel is quite good for its ranking. For me it was not pleasant. I hope a lot of people would share my opinion. Definitely not a nice place for couples to stay. The place is a hole.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Altogether there were 5 of us, all guys and by no means accustomed to high standards, but this place was downright terrible. We stayed for just the one night (thankfully) but that was more than enough to get a good feeling for the place.
The rooms were filthy. The person that had made the beds had obviously done so while smoking as cigarette ash was under the covers and between the sheets. I ended sleeping in my sleeping bag on top of the blankets. The location is the only positive here as it is very central and walking distance from the train station.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I booked Hotel Beursstraat through a travel agency online, i then read the reviews and thought what have i let myself in for, but could'nt change the booking. and im glad we didnt as we arrived to find the hotel in a great location , very central , we arrived in the morning and it was no problem getting in our room early and the reception man was very polite and asked if everything was ok . yes the room is very basic, bed , shower , toilet , sink , but the shower was powerful, the bathroom was clean the bed was comfortable and clean as i checked the sheets before entering. the hotel was quiet , very quiet for a central location. the towels were a bit small more like a hand towel but thats my only complaint. we were able to leave our bags for the hotel to look after for a few hours. so all in all a very nice stay . you get what you pay for and the staff are very nice.

Room Tip: i would say stay on top floor, but it will be a walk up some windy stairs. we satyed on floor 1 room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Me and 5 of my friends, all typical, 18 years olds (mixed boys and girls) booked a holiday to Amsterdam with a travel agent. We wanted something very central, basic and cheap. However, booking hotel Beursstraat was a huge mistake. We didn't read the reviews until after we had booked but we thought it couldn't be as bad as the reviews say. They were.
We saw one review saying they had rats but we just assumed it was an exaggeration. It wasn't. There was a MOUSE in our room on the last night!!!! After I confronted the so called 'staff' at reception, they told me they weren't prepared to do anything about it. I carried on asking him what was he going to do he just ignored me and walked away. The most miserable man you could ever meet. Does't really surprise me though, he is working at Hotel Beursstraat.
We booked a triple room and it was so small, even for three young girls.
- Nowhere to put our suitcases
- Dirty cover over our bed
- Didn't clean our sheets or room once in 5 nights
- Lumpy, dirty pillows
- one plug for the all three of us
- We were given three hand towels for 3 people for 5 nights

The stairs were an issue, but they would be more of an issue with older people or families with young children. We were only in room number 18 and we had to climb about 4 of the steep staircases.

Hotel Beursstraat is classed as a 1* hotel. I don't see how it has even managed to get 1*. I know hostels that are cleaner than this with better reception staff.
We are not a fussy group, just 6 teenagers wanting a basic clean hotel with half decent staff.
DO NOT BOOK HERE YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!

Room Tip: You don't have a choice in what type of room you would like apart from how many people are stayi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Beursstraat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beursstraat

Address: Beursstraat 7, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Beursstraat 1*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Beursstraat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beursstraat Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Beursstraat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.