We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low rates......high quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Hotel Abba
Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
New Stanton, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Low rates......high quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Stayed here alone during a 3 day trip right before Christmas. If you don't want to read on, in short, this hotel is great. When I arrived in Amsterdam after an overnight flight from the USA, I was extremely tired and just wanted to rest in my hotel room. My arrival time, however, was pre-dawn and by the time I made my way to Hotel Abba it was only about 10am which was well before their check-in time of what I believe was 3pm. I went up anyway and asked if I could check-in early and the man at the desk was very accommodating, he checked to make sure my room was cleaned and then quickly got me inside. Room itself was very clean and though small and without en-suite bathrooms, it did have a hot and cold hand sink and opened out to a common balcony. Common bathroom and shower was clean and I never had a problem there. Hotel Abba does have a free breakfast every morning, but I never did end up going down and eating breakfast. Also, a grocery store entrance is located about 5 feet from the hotel's entrance which is very convenient if you don't want to go far (although there is other food on Overtoom) or the weather is bad. I walked throughout my stay in Amsterdam but I do know trams run up and down Overtoom and there is a stop right in front of the hotel. Abba is also one of the very few hotels in Amsterdam that still allows smoking, although fire alarms in the rooms are posted with a sign that claims a 1000 euro fine for setting it off (as I said before my room had a balcony you can go out on, but just opening the balcony doors a bit was sufficient to not set off alarms).

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    118
    78
    21
    10
See reviews for
13
85
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2009

I realize this is a budget hotel but I've gotten great deals before without sacrificing basic quality. This hotel was disgusting. The rooms were tiny, I could touch both walls with my hands extended, and the walls were paperthin. I was put in between two couples travelling together and got very little sleep, even with earplugs. I could hear every word they said. I could also smell every joint they smoked - which was apparently at an hourly interval. I have no problem with people smoking pot but it was pervasive and constant. The only ventilation was achieved by opening my patio doors, which opened onto a common patio so it wasn't feasible for me, a solo female, to leave them open at night. Thus, despite the moderate temps outside, I slept in a very warm, pot-infused, noisy environment. Had it not been my first couple of nights after landing, I would not have slept at all. The breakfast was so-so. The management and other staff were not particularly helpful in that I was not offerred any assistance in climbing the crazy steep Amsterdam stairs with my luggage. The room was filthy - hair on the walls, debris on the floor, let's not even talk about the sheets. The common toilet and shower were slightly cleaner but not by much. I will never stay here again and will steer people clear of it when possible. So, if you're looking to save money, this might be for you, but I imagine there are better deals out there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights on a budget trip back in June 2007. Spent about 55 EUR per night for a single room with breakfast. I had to go through small stair case to reach the room.The room was small, carpeted, but 'quite' clean. There was a single bed, a cloth hanger, and that's it. The toilet is separated from the shower. I found different person everytime I went to the reception, but generally all were very helpfull. Nothing special with the breakfast, bread, butter, ham, cereal, etc - but since it's included in the room rate, it was OK.

The location is a little bit out of the city center, although Amsterdam is not a big city. I had the "I Amsterdam" card, so travelling was not a problem. There's a tram stop just outside the hotel. I would recommend this hotel if you're travelling in a budget.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamingPineapple
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

The toronto man at the reception desk was very unfriendly - made multiple snarky comments about our "uncivilized" country of origin. It calls itself a hotel, but it is more akin to a bad hostel. Rooms were very small and exceedingly hot - but if you open the windows to let in some air, you won't be able to sleep in past 6am because of all of the noise. Bathrooms were communal. Warning: the stairs are extremely steep; if you have limited mobility, this "hotel" will be impossible for you. Definitely not worth the 90 euros - stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

I was upgraded to a twin room from the pe-booked single at no extra cost.
Room just adequately furnished, but clean and warm.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Bathroom shared with one other room.
No washbasin in room.
Breakfast goodish - plenty but a bit unimaginative.
A bit noisy because on a main tram route.
Close to main museums, Vondel Park and Leidseplein.

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, warmth, good staff
  • Disliked — Street noise. No washing facilities in room.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

We were on the top floor, so we had to carry suitcases up four flights of steep stairs. The shared shower/toilet with one other room was a surprise. Otherwise, breakfast, service, welcome, advice and safe deposit box were very good. We chose the hotel because it was the only one with a reasonable price for our visit. As advertised, we had to pay by cash in advance.

  • Liked — Staff friendliness and advice
  • Disliked — Stairs, shared shower
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2008

We stayed here for 2 nights in late May. We were on the next to the highest floor and the stairway is very steep. Located right at a tram stop so that is the best way to get to the hotel from the train station. The staff was very friendly. Breakfast was included. The room included a double bed, bed end tables, closet, table, 2 chairs and TV. The window looked out onto a courtyard. The bathroom included a sink, toilet and compact shower. The weather was warm and with the window open it was rather smokey during the evening. The hotel is within walking distance of many tourist sites and located right over a grocery store. We booked by email about 3 months prior to our stay and paid 85 Euro per night including breakfast. It was a good value for the price.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Would have liked a fan to help cool.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is located in the center of Amsterdam with the Leidseplein, the night live area, only 5 minutes walk away. Also many of the museums are very close by, including the "VAN GOGH" & "RIJKSMUSEUM".Located in the center of world famous Amsterdam, the Abba hotel has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with a international touch for over 20 years. Our selection of over 36 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast from 8am until 10am everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.