We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful staff, good location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Hotel Abba
Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #205 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff, good location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Friends and I stayed her for 5 nights. The receptionist was so helpful, breakfast was fine, hotel is in a good location and not too badly priced. We enjoyed our stay here. The stairs were a bit lethal, so no good if you have an injury etc.. Rooms were decently sized and relatively clean. We had a private bathroom and the shower went hot/cold quite a bit but our friends shared a bathroom and had no issues.

Room Tip: The trams were quite loud, if you want a quieter room try and get a room facing away from the main s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    118
    78
    21
    10
See reviews for
13
85
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is just opposite of the tram stop which I find it very awesome. It is near to the Leidsplein area, the tourist area of Amsterdam. Centraal station is just minutes away and so does the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum respectively. They have a daily breakfast which is a very good point of this budget hotel. Staff were very attentive and kind. There is a grocery store just downstairs and some known restaurants and coffee shops nearby. Spending a 35-euro per night per person on an autumn season is really a real deal already for us given the comfort, the space of the room, and of course the location. I give them 4 stars for that.

Room Tip: always close the windows during night time as you will hear the tram noisy sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014

We weren't able to check in until 3pm, however they offered the use of their storage room so we could go and explore without our luggage. The receptionist was friendly enough and provided us with a map and tram information.

Our room was on the top floor and the steps were quite steep and narrow and probably wouldn't suit you if you were unfit (or lazy). The room itself was quite basic and the en suite could do with some updating (the shower tray looks well-worn and not very enticing), however the bed was extremely comfortable.

The dining area is clean and pleasant, and for breakfast they offer a selection of breads, meats, cheese, cereal, fruit and hard boiled eggs. There was also coffee and juice.

The location is great. There is a huge supermarket underneath the hotel for any supplies you may need, and the tram stop is just outside the door.

My ONLY gripe was that they took away our dirty towels and didn't replace them, so on our last morning we couldn't get showered. When I mentioned it to the receptionist all I got was a shrug of the shoulders. Other than that I was generally happy with this no frills hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon recently. Staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely. Main tramlines to centre just outside. 5 min walk to busy Leidesplein. Lovely park just around the corner. Will use again if we return to Amsterdam

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

After reading sone reviews and serched on the diferent sites for a room, I decided to book this hotel. I stayed here for 4 nights in a triple room. When we checked in the staff at reception was nice, even if no so much helpful. They will ask you to pay the room on arrival.

Room:
we asked for a triple, with 3 single and separate beds ( unfortunately and as happens in most European hotels, two beds were put together, we have to separate then). The beds were a bit uncomfortable, you've just one pillow per bed which is the smaller I've seen in my life, but you can ask for another equal, by putting together you'll have a normal one. They provide just one and ONLY one towel per person, no hand, face or feet towel!!! Consider on providing at least two... The bathroom works even if it is too small and when you take a shower you have to be careful otherwise you'll find a lake on the floor. I'm not sure if the housekeeping really clean the room, I guess she just change the towels, because the first two days we do ourselves the bed, on the third day we haven't the time and when we return was as we left. The floor was never sweep ( do not misunderstand me, was not dirty as we have not begrimed it.
The best thing was the balcony, (even if shared with another room) you can enjoy a drink or smoke and enjoy the courtyard inside. Consider on divide the space otherwise guest do not have privacy between the two rooms.
Wifi works really well, fast and for free, it really helps us during our staying to find out where to go on diner, shopping, clubs an so on.

Breakfast:
The included breakfast was simple, continental as on the Europeans budget hotels, but was ok, you have Toast, coffee, juice, meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals...

Location: Overstraat.
It's about a 15/20 min walking to Leidseplein square and other highlights but Amsterdam is pretty walkable. It was really easy to find the hotel, can't actually believe other reviews which says you can, from the Amsterdam Centraal station, you get the tram 1, in about 10 minutes you arrive at the hotel, two stops after Leidseplein stop, you'll see it on your right. Above the hotel you have a supermarket, it was convenient to buy some snacks, drinks or other things you may need.


Staff:
We found everyday a new receptionist and try to had some suggestions, they were nice, educated, but not really helpful, only the girl ( sorry do not remember her name), was a little bit more helpful and suggested us some clubs and pubs where to go, but forgot to advise us that in Amsterdam most of clubs ask to be on list/to know the name of the night club/ know the music they play in club and other ridiculous things, so we couldn't get into Chicago and Sugar. Just on Escape and other two clubs I do not remember the names do not ask for all that details.

All in all, it is a good hotel if you use it just for the night and to relax for fews ours during the day and do not have much expectations. If I visit Amsterdam again, I would definitely consider staying here again for the price and the good location.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

So your not paying the most expensive price, and Hotel Abba is what you get.

Overall we enjoyed our stay. I admit some concerns when we first arrived and seeing the overall state of the outside, but once in our room it was clean and comfortable. I looked at some of the reviews here before going, and a few said about the smell of smoke. I believe the hotel has brushed up on this since and we smelled not smoke (or other things) anywhere around the hotel. The bathroom was fine, i think it is a matter of potluck and who you share it with. There are sinks in the rooms if needed. Breakfast was good, a nice variety of continental options.

The hotel itself is near to a number of shops, restaurant, canals and museums though not to the central station. Amsterdam is not that far to walk around and we made in to Dam square in 20 mins, Central station in 30 mins. If walking is not your thing the tram stops right outside the hotel, though if you are facing the street in your room, you will hear the ding and 6am.

The staff where friendly, though seemed a little veneer. Over all not a bad stay and would consider again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the street if you like to not hear trams going by at 6am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2014

We stayed there two nights. It's quite far from the central train station if you go by foot (and I did not really appreciate the tram ride either) but it is rather close to many attractions including canals, restaurants, bars, shop, grocery stores and bike rental stores. The breakfast offered was very good and had a wide enough variety of food.

We had a private two-bed room with shared bathroom. The latter is only shared with a 'corridor' mate, but ours apparently smoked some green stuff in his/her room and we could definitely smell it in the corridor. Other than that it was totally fine for us as a place to sleep. There was a balcony with a view of the interior 'garden' (it's actually a grocery store's roof with weeds growing on top), the room had a TV and a few power outlets to charge electronic devices. There was also a table with two chairs.

If you want to save some money for food, right between the two entrances for the hotel is located an Albert Heijn where you can buy cheap food instead of eating out (truth is you will probably notice the store before finding the hotel!).

They offer storage for your luggage and you are pretty close to Vondelpark, which is a good thing for people like me who sometimes need a bit of peace with grass and trees, because that city was very... tonic when I visited it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is located in the center of Amsterdam with the Leidseplein, the night live area, only 5 minutes walk away. Also many of the museums are very close by, including the "VAN GOGH" & "RIJKSMUSEUM".Located in the center of world famous Amsterdam, the Abba hotel has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with a international touch for over 20 years. Our selection of over 36 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast from 8am until 10am everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.