We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant all round hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Abba
Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #203 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Murcia, Spain
1 review
“Brilliant all round hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days with a friend. Hotel is easy to find, right outside leidesplein number 1 tram stop. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist, who sorted the confusion out (I made the booking with booking.com - I highly recommend avoiding this and booking directly through the hotel!) and gave us our room keys. The only negative point was dragging my suitcase up 3 flights of stairs, but you only have to do it once. The room was extremely clean for the price we paid, and the bathroom was spotless and only shared with 1 other room. Situated right above a supermarket it makes eating in extremely cheap! The location of the hotel itself was perfect, slightly outside the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam but within perfect walking distance to everything. (We did not have to tram or bus at all, only to the airport!) the staff are so helpful and give directions if needed. (Also the big jar of sweets on the counter are a bonus!) the breakfast was lovely, you couldn't expect more for what you pay for the hotel. Selection of cheese, ham, salami, bread, toast, eggs, lots of fruit & cereal, tea and coffee. The rooms were extremely clean and even cleaned daily, and the towels were replaced. Don't get me wrong- this place is not luxury. But it is brilliant value for money and is ideal for anyone looking for cheap accommodation and good location. Big thanks to the staff for a brilliant Amsterdam holiday.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    105
    71
    16
    10
See reviews for
9
72
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here ,very happy with the three beded room,beds where comfy, enjoyed the breakfast very much even better that it was a self service.
Would defo recommand and would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Regular hotels were so expensive this time around so I decided to go for B&B. Hotel Abba's rate is only fraction of cost of full service hotel. Took bus 197 right outside of AMS, paid 4 Euros and get into Leidseplein, which is the centre of town. Walked three blocks and arrived at the hotel. Too early to check in so the receptionist offered to store my luggage and offered me coffee before I venture out into the city. When I returned to check in, room was ready. Has to pay in full for the duration of my stay in cash. Has a back room with balcony looking into the courtyard. Room has a heater but is not air-conditioned, but windows could be opened. The room is more like a dormitory room than a hotel room, furnished with a twin bed, a desk and chair, and TV. I have booked a room with private bath and shower, which is well worth the 5 Euros difference than sharing a bath with others. Hotel is only 5 blocks from Museumplein where all the major museums are located. There is also a tram stop right outside of hotel to take you closer towards the train station and other tourist attractions like Dam Square or the Flowers Market. Vondel Park is only two blocks away and it is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the city. There is also a grocery store right under the hotel for a quick snack, drinks, or fresh fruits. The hotel also serves a wonderful complimentary breakfast in a clean and spacious breakfast room with warm boiled eggs, cold cuts with cheese, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, an assortment of bread and cereals, juices, milk, coffee, and a variety of fresh fruits. Free WiFi is provided in the guest rooms, although connection is a bit of hit and miss, sometimes there is no problem while other times it may disconnect every five minutes.
Staff is overall very friendly and try to be helpful when approached.
Overall this is a wonderful hotel for someone who does not want to break the bank and get to stay in a safe and reasonably well rounded accommodation.

Room Tip: Back room looking into courtyard is quiet. Stairs is steep and narrow, so if you have difficulties n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very good location near the centre of Amsterdam , near to the most important museums, very good tram connections to the centre and to the railway station.
Very clean , big bright room , basically furnished but with all necessary.Be sure to ask for a backside room which is very quiet and has a nice wiew to an inner court )
I had two power outlets for my rechargeable batteries and for my phone.
The breakfast is basic but fresh and good quality.
The staff of the hotel is very friendly and ready to help .
Would definitely stay there again and recomend it to every traveler in search of a good hotel for a reasonable price ( for Amsterdam which is relatively expensive !)

Room Tip: ask for a backside room ( I explained why )
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location, not far walk from attractions and just outside the tram stop. Rooms were basic but worth the money. Receptionist was lovely and put up with a lot from us! Smoking in the rooms is a plus and a must for people on a smokers holiday!! Stairs are a challenge but it made the hotel more fun and different! We had two rooms so had the floor to ourselves but i know otherwise you might have to share a bathroom, which i wouldnt fancy. Cant complain about anything else, great value!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytilene, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel Abba is a decent, low price place, a bit far from the center of the city which means a lot of walking or tram. It offers a nice breakfast and very warm rooms. We were given a room at the top floor so we had to climb many stairs which is common in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Lower floors. Less steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. What gets your attention is the location that is excellent, near the main streets where you gonna find all the pubs and parks, museums and tran (tre local train). Not very var from the train station as well.

Room Tip: I got a double room on the street side. I was actually june 2010.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is located in the center of Amsterdam with the Leidseplein, the night live area, only 5 minutes walk away. Also many of the museums are very close by, including the "VAN GOGH" & "RIJKSMUSEUM".Located in the center of world famous Amsterdam, the Abba hotel has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with a international touch for over 20 years. Our selection of over 36 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast from 8am until 10am everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.