We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a very nice hotel if your looking for an average price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Hotel Abba
Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Overall a very nice hotel if your looking for an average price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here ,very happy with the three beded room,beds where comfy, enjoyed the breakfast very much even better that it was a self service.
Would defo recommand and would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    119
    80
    22
    11
See reviews for
13
86
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Regular hotels were so expensive this time around so I decided to go for B&B. Hotel Abba's rate is only fraction of cost of full service hotel. Took bus 197 right outside of AMS, paid 4 Euros and get into Leidseplein, which is the centre of town. Walked three blocks and arrived at the hotel. Too early to check in so the receptionist offered to store my luggage and offered me coffee before I venture out into the city. When I returned to check in, room was ready. Has to pay in full for the duration of my stay in cash. Has a back room with balcony looking into the courtyard. Room has a heater but is not air-conditioned, but windows could be opened. The room is more like a dormitory room than a hotel room, furnished with a twin bed, a desk and chair, and TV. I have booked a room with private bath and shower, which is well worth the 5 Euros difference than sharing a bath with others. Hotel is only 5 blocks from Museumplein where all the major museums are located. There is also a tram stop right outside of hotel to take you closer towards the train station and other tourist attractions like Dam Square or the Flowers Market. Vondel Park is only two blocks away and it is a wonderful oasis in the middle of the city. There is also a grocery store right under the hotel for a quick snack, drinks, or fresh fruits. The hotel also serves a wonderful complimentary breakfast in a clean and spacious breakfast room with warm boiled eggs, cold cuts with cheese, sliced tomatoes and cucumbers, an assortment of bread and cereals, juices, milk, coffee, and a variety of fresh fruits. Free WiFi is provided in the guest rooms, although connection is a bit of hit and miss, sometimes there is no problem while other times it may disconnect every five minutes.
Staff is overall very friendly and try to be helpful when approached.
Overall this is a wonderful hotel for someone who does not want to break the bank and get to stay in a safe and reasonably well rounded accommodation.

Room Tip: Back room looking into courtyard is quiet. Stairs is steep and narrow, so if you have difficulties n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very good location near the centre of Amsterdam , near to the most important museums, very good tram connections to the centre and to the railway station.
Very clean , big bright room , basically furnished but with all necessary.Be sure to ask for a backside room which is very quiet and has a nice wiew to an inner court )
I had two power outlets for my rechargeable batteries and for my phone.
The breakfast is basic but fresh and good quality.
The staff of the hotel is very friendly and ready to help .
Would definitely stay there again and recomend it to every traveler in search of a good hotel for a reasonable price ( for Amsterdam which is relatively expensive !)

Room Tip: ask for a backside room ( I explained why )
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was in a great location, not far walk from attractions and just outside the tram stop. Rooms were basic but worth the money. Receptionist was lovely and put up with a lot from us! Smoking in the rooms is a plus and a must for people on a smokers holiday!! Stairs are a challenge but it made the hotel more fun and different! We had two rooms so had the floor to ourselves but i know otherwise you might have to share a bathroom, which i wouldnt fancy. Cant complain about anything else, great value!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mytilene, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel Abba is a decent, low price place, a bit far from the center of the city which means a lot of walking or tram. It offers a nice breakfast and very warm rooms. We were given a room at the top floor so we had to climb many stairs which is common in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Lower floors. Less steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Hotel is nice, clean and comfortable. What gets your attention is the location that is excellent, near the main streets where you gonna find all the pubs and parks, museums and tran (tre local train). Not very var from the train station as well.

Room Tip: I got a double room on the street side. I was actually june 2010.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Amsterdam is very expensive and this was one of the few places we could find within our budget that had a bathroom included. I believe some rooms had shared bathrooms down the hall.

It's not luxury but you get a pretty decent place for the price. There's a supermarket right below the hotel, which makes it very convenient. Also a tram #1 stop right across the street. The room and bathroom were clean.

There's no elevator, only a very windy, narrow, steep staircase. The girl at the front desk was very sweet and helpful. There was another guy there who wasn't as friendly.

The hotel is very close to all the museums, about 20-30 minute walk to red light district/dam square. Also a few minutes walk to a bus stop that goes directly to the airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is located in the center of Amsterdam with the Leidseplein, the night live area, only 5 minutes walk away. Also many of the museums are very close by, including the "VAN GOGH" & "RIJKSMUSEUM".Located in the center of world famous Amsterdam, the Abba hotel has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with a international touch for over 20 years. Our selection of over 36 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast from 8am until 10am everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.