We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Abba
Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Reasonable and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Those are my two priorities when traveling so if you are looking for luxury look elsewhere. The breakfast included was okay, nothing amazing but when on a budget it's a nice addition. The room was a nice size in a clean safe location. I'd say its shabby but certainly not dirty. We had a pretty courtyard view from our window so it was pretty quiet.

We went summer of 2011 but I wasn't allowed to choose a date that fear back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    110
    74
    20
    10
See reviews for
13
76
35
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was cheap and was in a great location (walking distance from main attractions). The room was pretty big considering this was Europe, but everything was dimly lit. We were having some issues with the faucet, and when we went to the front desk they basically told us that they couldn't do anything about it and that we would have to have it running all night until they had someone who could come look at it the next morning. Showers and bathrooms are communal and weren't dirty but not exactly the cleanest. For the price it was ok, but next time I might pay more for something better. The free breakfast in the morning is very good I must admit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

when we arrived i feel good..... it is in a nice place of Amsterdam: near voldelpark.. and walking in 3 minutes you can arrive at leidsplain. The rooms are not so big but the little park iinside is wonderful. you can stay there for smoke... just sigarettes.. ya.... and drink, is very beautiful.
the guys that work inside have kindly approach and verry pretty. the breakfast's food have much choice. ENJOY YOURSERLFES!!! ABBA IS GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed at the Abba Hotel for 4 nights last year. We chose it as we were looking for BB at a reasonable price and close to the city centre. It turned out to be a perfect choice. When we arrived at the hotel in the evening with both our jackets and luggage wet as it was pouring with rain from the bus stop, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that the heating was on (it was June!). The room and the bathroom were small, with basic equipment only, but clean and sufficient for a city break. It was adequate for our purpose because we used to leave just after breakfast and come back late in the evening. Breakfast was rather simple but tasty and plentiful enough to keep us going until lunch. We stayed on the top floor so had to climb up the narrow, steep stairs, but we found it as being a part of the Amsterdam experience where most buildings are narrow and tall, so such stairs are probably the only way up in many other places.
The location was very convenient: within a walking distance to the heart of Amsterdam and all its tourists' attractions, with a good tram connection to the Central Train Station.
Our only concern while booking this hotel was possible the smell of cigarettes as Abba is a smoking friendly hotel. Fortunately, there was no unpleasant smell in the room and - as we learnt from a notice - visitors are only allowed to smoke with a window opened, if not, the smoke detector turns on.
An additional advantage can be that a man at the reception speaks Polish so tourists from Poland can communicate in advance with the hotel by emails in Polish.
We were considering coming back to the Abba Hotel for Easter this year but it was fully booked. We hope that next time we will be more successful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have not stayed in this hotel yet, my booking is for July, but I have already gained a favorable impression of the hotel staff.

I booked the room through Priceline/Booking.com which turned out to be a mistake. The room was not advertised correctly by Priceline (aka Booking.com). It was advertised as a “Pay When you Stay” room which the hotel was not aware of. My credit card was charged the day after the booking which came as a shock to me. Priceline/Booking.com refused to assist in cancelling the charge which aggravated me, denying responsibility for the way it was advertised and blaming the hotel for the misunderstanding.

However, the hotel contacted me directly and offered to rectify the matter in whatever manner suited me, which was quite a refreshing, customer service focused way to conduct business. I am now looking forward to staying at the hotel in July because I have full confidence in the management of the hotel.

I would recommend to others who are considering a booking with the Hotel Abba that they arrange the booking with the hotel directly. That way there will be no surprises. The hotel itself can be trusted, but many of the travel websites cannot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I just spent the last 3 nights staying at Hotel Abba, and I cant fault it. I chose the hotel based on reviews here on trip advisor. About some of those reviews, I think some people are hyper critical. A budget hotel should be judged or evaluated by what it purports to be, its unreasonable to expect ritz standards at a budget hotel. As such the Abba is perfect. It's located only 1 tram stop from the famous Leidesplein but doesnt feel "touristy". I had a single room on second floor at back of hotel so street noise was not a problem at all. The room was small but clean and well equipped there was also a balcony which makes the room seem larger. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The breakfast room was light and airy and well supplied with all the usual continental breakfast stuff. I would not hesitate to stay here again. Give it a try you might we pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orkney
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

close to the tram outside , great continental breakfast , clean rooms , supermarket joined almost to this hotel ., steps are very steep to get to the rooms , secure comfortable place and cheap for Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is located in the center of Amsterdam with the Leidseplein, the night live area, only 5 minutes walk away. Also many of the museums are very close by, including the "VAN GOGH" & "RIJKSMUSEUM".Located in the center of world famous Amsterdam, the Abba hotel has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with a international touch for over 20 years. Our selection of over 36 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast from 8am until 10am everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.