We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, nice breakfast, nice location but poor rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Hotel Abba
Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Istanbul
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice staff, nice breakfast, nice location but poor rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I m happy with location and breakfast.. Staff also friendly but rooms are not enough clean and it is quite old. I understand it is a budget hotel but you can do it better with small spending. Internet is extra charge and it was 3 euro per an hour. Which century now!!! Internet is free all over the world..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    119
    81
    22
    11
See reviews for
13
87
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Agree with recent reviewers. As long as you are not allergic to smoke/weed and narrow staircases it's all good! Great central heating too. Clean rooms, OK continental breakfast, common showers and toilet clean enough. Also good walk-in rates - the same as with booking.com etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is not the Hilton. It does not claim to be nor would it want to be. It is a pot friendly budget hotel in Amsterdam.
You get what you pay for and i personaly had no problem with this place.
I knew what i was getting when i booked up.
Its a great location with a good grocer underneath. Outside on the street is a little noisy but when you are staying in the middle of a big city what do you expect ? Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Considering this is a budget hotel, it's very good. I thought the trams may keep me awake but the double glazing ensured it they not. Good size room, very comfy bed etc... Breakfast was a decent selection and the breakfast room was bright and clean. I must say that my three nights in Hotel Abba were very comfortable and better than I was expecting. Tram stop right outside the hotel to take you into town or out to Lelylaan to catch the train out to Schipol. Hotel Abba is within very easy walking distance to central Amsterdam and its visitor attractions etc.. The staff in Hotel Abba were very helpful. They have a secure luggage room for your bags if you require it. I shall leave similar feedback on booking.com when they invite me to do so as that's where I booked the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff were pleasant, things were clean, smoking allowed as long as you didn't set the alarm off, which is civilised. It's always nice to have a resident cat on the premises, though this one is a placid old lady of 15. Only problem was smell from toilet that I was going to say something about, but closing the door eliminated the immediately problem, and later it seemed to have righted itself.

Room Tip: It's 68 steps to the top floor, and they're typical Amsterdam steps, but you feel virtuous a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked this last minute as it was the one of the cheapest central hotels we could find that was available for out dates. We were expecting a dump, but were pleasantly surprised. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the street. Yeah it was noisy, but we enjoyed sitting by the window and watching all the busy commuters go by on bike, tram or car. With the windows closed, the noise wasn't so bad. We had a double room with a private bathroom which was quite clean and spacious. The room and furnishings are a little worn, but clean enough and our towels were replaced daily. The room was also heated. The staff were very helpful - loaning us a corkscrew and glasses for the bottle of wine we bought at the supermarket downstairs. They also printed out tickets for our canal tour booking. We must recommend the kebab shop across the road. The friendly owner spontaneously broke into a rap for us (because we ordered wraps). Breakfast was basic, but good. We would stay here again when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The desk staff were helpful except for the bedding not being changed even though the cleaners made up the bed one day and the soiled sheets that were there the day I arrived were not replaced. I got some nasty bites but im not sure whether they were bed bugs or just insects coming from the garden. Location was great. Beside the lovely Vondelpark and Museum area. Worth the 57 Euros a night which is cheap by Amsterdam rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is located in the center of Amsterdam with the Leidseplein, the night live area, only 5 minutes walk away. Also many of the museums are very close by, including the "VAN GOGH" & "RIJKSMUSEUM".Located in the center of world famous Amsterdam, the Abba hotel has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with a international touch for over 20 years. Our selection of over 36 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast from 8am until 10am everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.