We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Is Real Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Save Saved
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Abba
Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“This Is Real Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is not the Hilton. It does not claim to be nor would it want to be. It is a pot friendly budget hotel in Amsterdam.
You get what you pay for and i personaly had no problem with this place.
I knew what i was getting when i booked up.
Its a great location with a good grocer underneath. Outside on the street is a little noisy but when you are staying in the middle of a big city what do you expect ? Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean enough.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    105
    72
    16
    10
See reviews for
9
73
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Considering this is a budget hotel, it's very good. I thought the trams may keep me awake but the double glazing ensured it they not. Good size room, very comfy bed etc... Breakfast was a decent selection and the breakfast room was bright and clean. I must say that my three nights in Hotel Abba were very comfortable and better than I was expecting. Tram stop right outside the hotel to take you into town or out to Lelylaan to catch the train out to Schipol. Hotel Abba is within very easy walking distance to central Amsterdam and its visitor attractions etc.. The staff in Hotel Abba were very helpful. They have a secure luggage room for your bags if you require it. I shall leave similar feedback on booking.com when they invite me to do so as that's where I booked the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff were pleasant, things were clean, smoking allowed as long as you didn't set the alarm off, which is civilised. It's always nice to have a resident cat on the premises, though this one is a placid old lady of 15. Only problem was smell from toilet that I was going to say something about, but closing the door eliminated the immediately problem, and later it seemed to have righted itself.

Room Tip: It's 68 steps to the top floor, and they're typical Amsterdam steps, but you feel virtuous a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldton, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked this last minute as it was the one of the cheapest central hotels we could find that was available for out dates. We were expecting a dump, but were pleasantly surprised. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the street. Yeah it was noisy, but we enjoyed sitting by the window and watching all the busy commuters go by on bike, tram or car. With the windows closed, the noise wasn't so bad. We had a double room with a private bathroom which was quite clean and spacious. The room and furnishings are a little worn, but clean enough and our towels were replaced daily. The room was also heated. The staff were very helpful - loaning us a corkscrew and glasses for the bottle of wine we bought at the supermarket downstairs. They also printed out tickets for our canal tour booking. We must recommend the kebab shop across the road. The friendly owner spontaneously broke into a rap for us (because we ordered wraps). Breakfast was basic, but good. We would stay here again when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The desk staff were helpful except for the bedding not being changed even though the cleaners made up the bed one day and the soiled sheets that were there the day I arrived were not replaced. I got some nasty bites but im not sure whether they were bed bugs or just insects coming from the garden. Location was great. Beside the lovely Vondelpark and Museum area. Worth the 57 Euros a night which is cheap by Amsterdam rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'm a pretty relaxed traveler, who isn't picky, but this place is gross. Hotel Abba is perhaps tolerable, but for the price that you pay, it's a rip-off. Amsterdam's hotels are expensive in general, but this place is over priced. Our room smelled of marijuana. Some might expect this from Amsterdam, but having traveled there several times, it was the first time I've slept in a room that smelled like smoke. The rooms are basic and have adequate space. Shower and bathroom were very dirty. Bring flip flops if you plan on staying here.

Some pros--location is good, staff was friendly.

I would not recommend this to anybody and will not return. I'm pretty surprised by their decent reviews.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good budget hotel located at tram stop 1 which can be noisy into the night. The hotel is located directly above a grocery store, an ATM and a quick walk to Vondelpark. The Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They answered all our questions and went out of their way with recommendations and directions including Zaanse Schans to see some working windmills. The rooms were very basic and dated with no air conditioning or ceiling fan, but our bathroom was very clean. The rooms that face the street are in the sun so they do get hot. Our upstairs room lead directly to the street and we occasionally had to sidestep the local urban outdoors-men perched on the stairs. The morning breakfast was very good with plenty of options. There was the occasional strong "Coffee Shop" smell coming from the rooms. Wifi Cards available for purchase as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard for a quieter night. Request a lower floor, stairs to top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is located in the center of Amsterdam with the Leidseplein, the night live area, only 5 minutes walk away. Also many of the museums are very close by, including the "VAN GOGH" & "RIJKSMUSEUM".Located in the center of world famous Amsterdam, the Abba hotel has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with a international touch for over 20 years. Our selection of over 36 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast from 8am until 10am everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.