We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with cat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Abba

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Abba to your Saves list
Hotel Abba
Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good value with cat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Staff were pleasant, things were clean, smoking allowed as long as you didn't set the alarm off, which is civilised. It's always nice to have a resident cat on the premises, though this one is a placid old lady of 15. Only problem was smell from toilet that I was going to say something about, but closing the door eliminated the immediately problem, and later it seemed to have righted itself.

Room Tip: It's 68 steps to the top floor, and they're typical Amsterdam steps, but you feel virtuous a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    119
    80
    22
    11
See reviews for
13
86
36
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geraldton, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked this last minute as it was the one of the cheapest central hotels we could find that was available for out dates. We were expecting a dump, but were pleasantly surprised. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the street. Yeah it was noisy, but we enjoyed sitting by the window and watching all the busy commuters go by on bike, tram or car. With the windows closed, the noise wasn't so bad. We had a double room with a private bathroom which was quite clean and spacious. The room and furnishings are a little worn, but clean enough and our towels were replaced daily. The room was also heated. The staff were very helpful - loaning us a corkscrew and glasses for the bottle of wine we bought at the supermarket downstairs. They also printed out tickets for our canal tour booking. We must recommend the kebab shop across the road. The friendly owner spontaneously broke into a rap for us (because we ordered wraps). Breakfast was basic, but good. We would stay here again when in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The desk staff were helpful except for the bedding not being changed even though the cleaners made up the bed one day and the soiled sheets that were there the day I arrived were not replaced. I got some nasty bites but im not sure whether they were bed bugs or just insects coming from the garden. Location was great. Beside the lovely Vondelpark and Museum area. Worth the 57 Euros a night which is cheap by Amsterdam rates.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'm a pretty relaxed traveler, who isn't picky, but this place is gross. Hotel Abba is perhaps tolerable, but for the price that you pay, it's a rip-off. Amsterdam's hotels are expensive in general, but this place is over priced. Our room smelled of marijuana. Some might expect this from Amsterdam, but having traveled there several times, it was the first time I've slept in a room that smelled like smoke. The rooms are basic and have adequate space. Shower and bathroom were very dirty. Bring flip flops if you plan on staying here.

Some pros--location is good, staff was friendly.

I would not recommend this to anybody and will not return. I'm pretty surprised by their decent reviews.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Good budget hotel located at tram stop 1 which can be noisy into the night. The hotel is located directly above a grocery store, an ATM and a quick walk to Vondelpark. The Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They answered all our questions and went out of their way with recommendations and directions including Zaanse Schans to see some working windmills. The rooms were very basic and dated with no air conditioning or ceiling fan, but our bathroom was very clean. The rooms that face the street are in the sun so they do get hot. Our upstairs room lead directly to the street and we occasionally had to sidestep the local urban outdoors-men perched on the stairs. The morning breakfast was very good with plenty of options. There was the occasional strong "Coffee Shop" smell coming from the rooms. Wifi Cards available for purchase as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard for a quieter night. Request a lower floor, stairs to top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elmo, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Hotel Abba was nicely located and the price for our family of six was reasonable considering how spendy some of the Amsterdam hotels were. But you get what you pay for. Pluses: good location, friendly staff, right above a grocery store so that was handy, also right a tram stop so very convenient. Breakfast was adaquate. Minuses: the rooms smelled of smoke (or something like smoke), not terribly clean, and since we were there on a hot day, it was very hot in the room. We had to keep the windows open, which increased the street noise to near intolerable levels. Also, other guests slammed doors all night long. Earplugs recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

It is a good budget hotel for a relatively inexpensive stay in Amsterdam. My wife and I enjoyed our five day stay for about $95 U.S. per night through an advance booking. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast room was very nice and there was a good selection of food. The hotel receptionists were friendly and helpful. There is a charge for WiFi use. The stairs to the room were narrow and steep since it is a standard old Amsterdam building. There is no lift. A tram station is located in front of the hotel making it easy to access the city center through a 15 minute ride. We would stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Abba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abba

Address: Overtoom 118-122, 1054 HM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Abba is located in the center of Amsterdam with the Leidseplein, the night live area, only 5 minutes walk away. Also many of the museums are very close by, including the "VAN GOGH" & "RIJKSMUSEUM".Located in the center of world famous Amsterdam, the Abba hotel has been offering proper Dutch hospitality with a international touch for over 20 years. Our selection of over 36 rooms offers the perfect base to explore this wonderful city. All prices include a fabulous breakfast from 8am until 10am everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Abba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Hotel Amsterdam
Best Western Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Abba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.