We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hortus to your Saves list
Hotel Hortus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

The area around the Botanical Gardens is beautiful. A short 5-10 minute walk to clubs that are open all night 7 days a week, and the streets around Hotel Hortus have a modern, youthful atmosphere.

A hostel-esque sort of hotel, Pension Hortus has a great social area downstairs with somewhere to smoke and a pool table.

The hotel offers a good B&B service, although for a little more money there are lots of good breakfast cafés and restaurants in this upmarket area.

Compared to the two other locations in Amsterdam I have stayed in, Hotel Hortus is a cut above for a similar price.

The Artis Zoo - which is 30 seconds from the front door - is an impressive tourist attraction with entrance priced at just €19.99. Well worth a visit.

The only problem was noise from other guests who kept partying on through until 6am, but for most of Hortus' clientele this should be no issue.

Recommended for a short stay in Amsterdam to enjoy the nightlife with some friends.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    52
    25
    26
See reviews for
14
104
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Not many negatives from this stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful from the outset. Had a room on the bottom floor so no stairs to complain about! There was however a lot of people walking by the room to use the stairs which could be heard throughout the night. Room was basic but very nice. Toilets were very close and clean. Central location, within walking distance to most attractions. Free breakfast was very good, with free bread cereals eggs and some cold meats. Free tea and coffee at any time. They let us leave our bags there after checking out and let us chill on the couch for a while before leaving for the airport. Overall a great experience and an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the bottom floor to avoid steep canal house stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serra, ES
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

First of all hotel should be called a hostel. The room is too small, no wardrobe and no window, it is very hot in summer. Unpleasant attendants. Very steep and narrow stairs.The noise of slamming doors were constant throughout the day and night.

Room Tip: Do not choose the hotel by pictures on the website. Try to get information and opinion as much as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

*****STAY 2006*****

I stayed in this hotel in March, 2006. It was my first time leaving USA and this was the hotel we chose. We had no idea how to get there and just as luck had it someone who worked for the hotel was asking travelers in the subway station if they need a place to stay. We stayed in this hotel for 11 days and it was more than enough for what we had to spend. We met a lot of great people here and I would totally suggest staying here to anyone traveler 18-21. We had a fun time with the workers named Nick and Jada. Our stay for 11 days for 3 people including breakfast.....$75 USD.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here on a trip around Europe between 16th and 18th June 2014. It had a very hostel-like feel about it and we had a great time. The bathroom and bedroom were both clean, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was filling. We were able to come and go as we pleased and we felt as though we were in a very safe area. Hotel Hortus is in a fantastic location and for the good price you are able to walk into the centre of Amsterdam (and in fact all parts of Amsterdam) very quickly, you won't even need to use trams if you don't mind walking. The staff were really helpful and spoke great English. When we arrived we had to leave our bags in the corridor which we didn't feel 100% comfortable with as anyone could have taken something from them and they weren't in a locked room. The breakfast consisted of coffee or tea, bread, jams, spreads and croissants. An important thing to consider is what kind of trip you are undertaking. I would certainly recommend Hotel Hortus to travellers wanting a quiet, safe and comfortable stay, people coming to Amsterdam for the obvious reasons with friends, and anyone wanting a cheap place to stay. Nonetheless, if you're travelling for a more waited upon holiday, spend a bit more and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel Hortus is the ideal place for a stay in Amsterdam, all the staff here are very welcoming and informative and cannot do enough to help you. Breakfast is a bonus which not many other places include in the price, and is really good. We rented bikes from the hotel and the price was much cheaper than all of the other prices we saw (10 euros compared to average of around 15 elsewhere) and the bikes were really high quality and faultless. The staff guided us on how to get here we wanted to go and made suggestions on nice places to go.

Rooms are very spacious, beds very comfy. Would happily recommend anyone to stay here of all ages.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed there from 13th to 16th June 2014. Can't fault the place. Cheap clean and excellent location. On arrival the guy from Oakland on the front desk was very helpful and drew on a map for us the best places to go. The other american guy ordered a pizza for us and brought it to the room. Rooms were very clean and the shower was great. The location is excellent, 5 minute walk from the red light district and if you go here you should try food at Rembrandts Corner. Really really nice. We went round Central station area of Amsterdam and we really didn't like it. Hortus is located in a quiet street near some good shops and as I say quite close to the red light. Were going back to Dam in June next year and I won't even look for anywhere else I will be booking Hortus.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hortus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.