We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, easy and a great place to rest your head!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hortus to your Saves list
Hotel Hortus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cheap, easy and a great place to rest your head!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed at hortus for two nights the end of April for a cheap short break. After finding the place (which we found slightly difficult as no significant sign saying 'hortus hotel') we were checked in immediately and given keys to our room on the 3rd floor. As were 18 and 19 the stairs were no issue for us but there are a lot of them and the second set are almost vertical!! Room was nice, clean, bright and airy- no smell of smoking for pervious guest which was good! We had a shower room attached to our room which was great too! Bed were super comfy and duvets were cosy- no crappy blankets here! The Plantage area is quiet and peaceful so barely any noise from outside can be head however walls are thin in the hotel and other guests can be heard, only disturpt us once and soon after we heard the manager tell them to shut up ad neighbours were complaining. On our first day the manager of the hotel gave us a map and circled hot spots, the squares, places to eat/drink, placed to visit! He was brilliant and made our planning out days a lot easier! When walking into town from the hotel dam square takes about 15 minutes and Rembrandt square only 10. We went to the zoo one morning which to our surprise was two streets was at so took less than 5 minutes! Breakfast at the hotel was simple bread/toast, cereal, boiled eggs, ham, cheese- basically abit British and abit continental for everyone's taste! All in all this hotel is great if you want a decent night sleep after a day and night in the dam with a good breakfast the next morning ready for your next crazy day ahead!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    117
    53
    27
    27
See reviews for
14
109
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, the morning guy in the reception is so rude. I was asking how to operate the heater in the room, but he rudely replies in a difficult to understand English slang that the heater does not work if the temperature does not drop to a certain degree. And he will show u an impatient face if u ask again bcoz u Don understand what he says. And again Upon check out, I put my luggage on the sofa at the reception, again he rudely ask me to move it somewhere else as if I'm in military. He really has an attitude problem. And Don even ask them to help u to print any letters, bcoz they always run out of paper. The stairs to 2nd night 3rd floor is so steep and dangerous if u have to carry huge piece of luggage. Not recommended for elder ppl. On the other hand, the lady in the evening shift is by friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed at Hotel Hortus earlier in March 2014 with 13 other friends from university, having headed to amsterdam for a weekend seeing Fall Out Boy live and also several members of the groups birthdays.

Price - the price is reasonable especially for us as students which being on "student budgets" speaks for itself really

Location - the hostel is outside of the centre of the village, yes amsterdam is a village not a city, as we were informed upon arrival, anyways due to its village status you can imagine the place is rather small, and it does live up to that expectation! so whilst the hostel is outside of the centre it is literally no more than a 15-20 minute walk from amsterdam central station.

Rooms - we stayed in a 6 bed room, a 4 bed room, and two twin rooms for the two couples among us. the two larger rooms had showers of there own, whereas the double rooms had to use communal showers, which were perfectly fine regardless. the beds are pretty comfy, and a towel each is provided. each room has a smoke detector, which if set off we were warned is up to a 200 euro fine, but if you use the windows in your room it should be fine :)

Breakfast - part of the stay included breakfast which mainly consisted of bread for bread or toast, with various toppings provided to use, cooked meats, boiled eggs/fried eggs, and cereal, as well as tea, coffee, juice and water.

Facilities - the hostel also has a pool table, and sofas, and wifi that is free to use. you can also hire bikes to get around amsterdam if you wish.

Owners - the owners are lovely and very helpful, including helping mark places on our map to see and try, they can also help in booking stuff you may with to do whilst in amsterdam.

overall it was a great place to stay and i would highly recommend it. I would definitely stay there again when visiting amsterdam in future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

14 of us stayed, in a 6 bed, 4 bed and 2 doubles.
Price - Good for just group of students etc.
Location - The city is TINY, this looked bit further out then you get there and realise literally everything is within walking distance.
Owners - Helpful, drew a map out for us, we rented 12 bikes but they only had 3 so rang to get us 3 more within half an hour really helpful. Had storage space for bag if we wanted to arrive early/ leave late.
Breakfast - Basic breakfast, cereal, toast, eggs, great start to the day saves wasting time going to get breakfast somewhere.
Showers - Communal ones great, really clean, looked newly done, private bathrooms, bit less impressive but still did the job.
Communal area - Decent had a pool table, was a good laugh.
Rooms - All rooms were decent sized, had enough space

Downside - The double rooms were 2 singles pushed together which then split throughout the night, kinda annoying, but not the end of the world for a few nights.

Overall would recommend for a group of people who just want to see the city cheaply!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, only down side is double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We arrived late Tuesday night, Staff were all very helpful! They have maps you can grab at the couches which would help get about. We had a double bed at a reasonable price! Room was better than I had imagined. Space to move and hang clothes. Small safe to keep valuable items. The view out the window was to a brick wall but we didn't mind. This hotel has shared toilets and showers. Our room was next to both of them so it would wake you up in the morning when people start to go for showers. Beds are mega comfortable! We got a smoking room which was great for the morning when you are waiting on the shower. You get a key to the front door so no curfew! The hotel is about a 15 min walk (5 mins on bike) from the main stips. It is easy to get lost if you are coming in from anywhere else. All in all the hotel was nice, staff were friendly and helpful and the room was adequate!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for just one night. We arrived early and they let us into our room as soon as it was ready. Staff helpful and friendly. We got breakfast included which was an added bonus! Able to leave bags while we went out for the day before return journey. Clean rooms, super clean shower and toilets. Just be ready for a surprise when you use the vending machine as it doesn't give you what you want! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hortus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.