We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for groups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hortus to your Saves list
Hotel Hortus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great for groups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

14 of us stayed, in a 6 bed, 4 bed and 2 doubles.
Price - Good for just group of students etc.
Location - The city is TINY, this looked bit further out then you get there and realise literally everything is within walking distance.
Owners - Helpful, drew a map out for us, we rented 12 bikes but they only had 3 so rang to get us 3 more within half an hour really helpful. Had storage space for bag if we wanted to arrive early/ leave late.
Breakfast - Basic breakfast, cereal, toast, eggs, great start to the day saves wasting time going to get breakfast somewhere.
Showers - Communal ones great, really clean, looked newly done, private bathrooms, bit less impressive but still did the job.
Communal area - Decent had a pool table, was a good laugh.
Rooms - All rooms were decent sized, had enough space

Downside - The double rooms were 2 singles pushed together which then split throughout the night, kinda annoying, but not the end of the world for a few nights.

Overall would recommend for a group of people who just want to see the city cheaply!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same, only down side is double beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    117
    53
    27
    27
See reviews for
14
107
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We arrived late Tuesday night, Staff were all very helpful! They have maps you can grab at the couches which would help get about. We had a double bed at a reasonable price! Room was better than I had imagined. Space to move and hang clothes. Small safe to keep valuable items. The view out the window was to a brick wall but we didn't mind. This hotel has shared toilets and showers. Our room was next to both of them so it would wake you up in the morning when people start to go for showers. Beds are mega comfortable! We got a smoking room which was great for the morning when you are waiting on the shower. You get a key to the front door so no curfew! The hotel is about a 15 min walk (5 mins on bike) from the main stips. It is easy to get lost if you are coming in from anywhere else. All in all the hotel was nice, staff were friendly and helpful and the room was adequate!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed here for just one night. We arrived early and they let us into our room as soon as it was ready. Staff helpful and friendly. We got breakfast included which was an added bonus! Able to leave bags while we went out for the day before return journey. Clean rooms, super clean shower and toilets. Just be ready for a surprise when you use the vending machine as it doesn't give you what you want! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed there for 4 days in November. Easy place to travel to and would definitely stay there again, the only downfall was the noise. For the price we paid for the room i felt as if we couldnt really complain about the room. Our room was quite large with very high ceilings and we had a view into the small back garden, as I said before the only downfall was the noise. After walking up about one million steps we arrived at our room on the second floor, you go in one door and there was 6 bedroom doors, from about 12 at night to 3 in the morning the doors were constantly slamming shut as the shared bathroom was outside the main door to the bedrooms. About 6 am the noise would start again as travelers left, it was just a genuinely loud hotel i was dying to get home to my bed for a good rest!! The breakfast was pretty straight forward boiled eggs, toast etc..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

Very bad ostel. anything positive, terrible place! stay away, it is too expensive for what it offers. Shared bathrooms terribly dirty.
blankets full of hair and eyelashes of everyone and all smelled of old. The hallways had bad smell of old.
Shmashed bed, impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This place is the pits! The room had 2 bunk beds, with a small shower in the corner which looked like you could catch a disease from it. The beds were uncomfy and difficult to climb upto. Also the whole building smelt of smoke, not good for non-smokers. The steps were steeper than everest, especially after a few beers. The location was the only reasonably acceptable aspect of this establishment, around a 10 minute walk to the city centre.

Room Tip: Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hortus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.