We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hortus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value for money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First of all, please note that I didn't pay too much for this hotel. So I am not going to compare this to a Hilton in my review.

The staff and the manager were all friendly. The showers and the toilet was clean all the time, this is really good for a hostel/b&b.

The breakfast was good - at least good when hungover! They even prepare omelets and scrambled eggs.

The room was tidy. We booked a room for two but given a room for 6! but only two of us stayed, no additional guests. There are fire/smoke alarms in the rooms but their level of tolerance is quite high in my experience, you can smoke in the rooms easily.

You can also hire bicycles and when you ask the guys there what to do, where to go, they are really helpful.

Location is also quite central. I think it took us 10 minutes to walk to the train station and 15-20 minutes to the Harlem Straat. So quite a good location. The neighborhood is very quiet and peaceful.

I guess it deserves 4 stars for the money I paid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    108
    52
    25
    26
See reviews for
13
103
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel was very basic- more of a hostel than a hotel. There was a shared bathroom and shower, both were clean. The staff was friendly, but getting help/answers was often difficult and time consuming. The location was ok- an easy tram ride from the central station. The ceiling tiles in our room were filthy. The wifi did not reach our room even though we were on the first floor near the lobby. The breakfast was free and there was free coffee as well which was nice. The hotel had bikes that were available to rent which made it easier than finding a company- it was 16 euro for 24 hours- this included insurance and a bike lock.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed in a double room with a sink and shower which was great although it said private bathroom on our booking and the toilet was still shared with 3 other rooms. Also the room was quiet dirty when we arrived. There was also a safety deposit box in our room so our valuables felt safe. Wifi reached the rooms but was a bit temperamental at the beginning of our stay until fixed. Breakfast had a good selection consisting of cereal, toast and eggs but drink was limited only to tea. Kitchen was well stocked for our needs. Quiet location, about 20 minutes walk away from the centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Found it nice and easily after a 15-20 minute walk from central station. Nice quiet location 15 minutes from the bars and restaurants.

Being 9 lads on a stag do all we needed was somewhere to lay our heads at night! Beds Comfy, shower and sink in the room did the job, toilets 5 paces from room door! Stairs were very steep but seemed to be easily manageable even after a nights full of drinking. Breakfast included was perfect for us. Continental style, salami, bread, cereals etc

All in all would recommend this hotel for travellers, back packs and stag/hen dos. Probly would recommend for familys looking for family friendly hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The staff are friendly, welcoming and helpful. The shared bathrooms are a little strange at first but you'll get use to it. The breakfast is good and sets you up for a solid day of exploring, and the coffee is delicious too. This hotel wouldn't be the best choice for those with young kids as it is more suited for young adults that like the smell of marijuana. The wifi is flakey on the top floor but its not a big deal as there is a computer with Internet access downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel a few years ago during a week stay in Amsterdam. I found it to be very clean, with fresh bedding provided nearly every day. The breakfast was always lovely and lots to choose from. The kitchen was always clean and i had no problem with cooking most nights pans etc were provided.

Location wise it is really easy to get into the heart of Amsterdam either walking or catching the tram. There was a supermarket also maybe a 5-10 minute walk which made it very easy to get food, snacks etc.

The hotel was open 24 hours a day and i was provided my own key to come and go as i pleased.

The shower was a really nice power shower which was always clean, the shower was not in your room, but i never had a problem with one being dirty.

When i stayed the decor wasn't the nicest however they have updated since then. I didn't go Amsterdam to spend my days sitting a hotel it was more somewhere to rest my head which it suited perfectly.

I found the value of the hotel good as some of the ones in the heart of Amsterdam can cost a fortune and the location was perfect really close to the zoo too.

I would stay here again if i went to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago and nothing much has changed. This place is well run and remains simple, clean, friendly and affordable. Great location with a grocery store near by and 1 block to tram. Helpful and knowledgeable staff. Our room was bright and comfortable. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hortus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.