We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hortus to your Saves list
Hotel Hortus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for a brief weekend trip and it was a typical hostel. Cheap and suitable for a non romantic, short stay in Amsterdam. Small rooms and shared bathrooms with a limited breakfast. Nothing was particularly clean or smelling very nice, it was typically somewhere that low budget travellers would stay. Booked for us by someone else, wouldnt go back. Only plus is the location. Near a tram stop and fifteen minute walk to the main city area.

Room Tip: Be careful, the stairs are very narrow and very steep to all rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    117
    54
    27
    27
See reviews for
14
110
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Wouldn't be so great for fanilies with small children.. Free breakfast until 10am and free tea and coffee all day! Until 11pm ... Smoking in room aslong as the windows open ... If you set the alarm off though there's a €200 fine... Which is the same as most places really ... Staff are really helpful, our window wouldn't shut so they moved us rooms with no fuss! Had a brilliant time and will definitely try to stay here again next time I visit Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Upon arrival at the hotel I was handed 5 room keys for my group and then expected to show other members of my group to their rooms despite having never been to the hotel before. Then on requesting towels I was handed 16 towels and expected to deliver them to all the rooms as well (maybe im missing something but I thought hotel staff were at least meant to pretend to be interested in customers).
The rooms themselves were below average: not particularly clean, no furnishings, hot water becomes tempremental as you progress higher up the 'hotel' and is non existant if someone is running the hot tap in a neighbouring room (I know this as we did it as a prank to one member of our group).
Breakfast was again below average.
My only dealing with the staff other than on arrival was on Sunday to check out when the member of staff seemed to treat any interuption to his day with contempt.
In summary would not reccomend this hotel. It should not be refered to as a hotel as it is quite clearly a hostel; however it does not have the freindly, welcoming feel of most hostels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Awful!
We were told that we couldn't pay by card and were expected to pay EUR 1000 in cash until we kicked off a bit. The manager spent more time updating her religious blog than being of any use to the guests. Breakfast was horrible, eggs were brown and rubbery. Rooms were small and smelly, with dirty carpets.

i wouldn't stay here again. No taxi/rickshaw drivers knew where it was, and i'm not surprised!!

Stay elsewhere, this is not a hotel, barely a hostel and for the price you could find somewhere closer to the centre and in much better nick.

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nd time & as before, very accommodating staff (except guy there on Sunday). Usual guy (the American, sorry I don't know his name) helped us with a booking problem on 1st day, remembered our requests from booking 6months ago & made us feel very welcome. Clean, basic rooms with TV inc BBC & safe. Good continental breakfast seved till 10am (extremely promptly on Sunday) with novel individual toasters. 7mins walk from Bluebird, 10 from Waterlooplein or red lights. Would highly recommend for lads only weekends but wouldn't bring Mrs.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Welcome to the hotel was non exisistant!!! could have been better, told room was on 2nd floor no help offered with bags as had been at other hotels in Amsterdam. Hotel room was clean and had a shower room, bedlinen was clean, towels had to be collected from reception did not understand why they were not in the room already. Breakfast was poor but you could make a hot drink throughout day. Would not return to hotel again felt it was a little too far out of the dam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in august with a friend during a trip around Europe. The hotel, or should I say hostel, was very easy to locate and the welcome was friendly. The room we had was small, probably the smallest we experienced during our travels but was clean so no real issues. The breakfast was standard and the best thing about hortus is the location and value for money. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hortus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.