We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Hortus to your Saves list
Hotel Hortus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the last night of our month long trip all over Europe. The staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities were clean, and the bed was comfortable. I would actually give this a "5" rating, but that would be misleading to other reviewers. It was better than what we expected and we were pleasantly surprised after encountering some unpleasant accommodations a few times throughout out trip.

You must remember when you stay here that this is a hostel, so expect that type of atmosphere and you will be fine. The walls may be a bit thin as we heard the comings and goings of the young men who rented the room next to us all night long. The doors shut with a slam, which is what we heard all night. We are in our mid-thirties and we dealt with it just fine. Had we still been in our early 20s, this would have been even more fun. They do allow smoking in the rooms, so take that into consideration when you consider staying here.

Overall, we have fond memories of this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    110
    52
    25
    26
See reviews for
14
104
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

i would like to recommend all of you this hotel. The room was clean, staff were friendly and the location was very good. The rooms werent so modern, they are simple but there were all important things. How Jim Carey said: ,,it´s goooood":-)P.S. Breakfast are so tasty

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

The Hotel is okay for budget and short stay. I only stayed for 1 night and skip breakfast since I have to leave early. The room is not very clean but the shared bathroom is clean. They gave me the room on first floor as requested since I am with big luggage and quick response on my email. They have a tea/coffee automatic machine to be used but not 24 hours. They have available PC at the reception.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

We stayed here as a large group, taking over 4 rooms, so ideal for a large group willing to share. The beds were surprisingly comfortable and the rooms warm. The stairs are alarmingly steep but saying that after a couple of days, you get used to them, even like us upto the third floor! The staff were pleasant and helpful, even getting out the kettle and teabags when we all piled in too late for the coffee machine (which was actually pretty decent coffee). The breakfast was a help yourself to toast, cereal, cheese and eggs affair.
The shower temperature was a bit random. You had a shower in the room and the toilets were on the landing - these were very small rooms with air fresheners but not always very fragrant!
The other guests could be noisy but that is to be expected in a hostel type room, turns out the neighbours were from the same town as us (evening all!) - so we know what you got up to and who you are!
On occassions, you got the whiff of wacky bacy being smoked in other rooms but then that goes for most of Amsterdam too.
The downside to this hotel, was the extra guest - we had left some "cookies" out and during the night, we could hear rustling and then we clocked a mouse! ..... I saw a mouse! Where? There on the stair! Where on the stair? Right there! A little mouse with clogs on, Well I declare! Going clip-clippety-clop on the stair, Oh yeah - I'm still seeing the funny side of this - to be fair, we saw no signs of mouse before this incident or after.
So all in all, if you are looking for a cheap place to stay with a large group, this would fit the bill. Just don't leave food out or you won't get the song out of your head.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Ok the stairs are narrow and neverending, but it's Amsterdam. The toilet door smashed a hundred times a night, but it's a cheap hotel. Gipsum wall divideng space into super tiny rooms, but's the guests are happy to stay not in the suburb. BUT a nonstop party taking place at night at each floor is too much for those not taking part in it. Screaming, braking glass, running down the stairs... An absolute disgrace! How can you call the place a hotel, even a hostel if you simply can't close an eye at 3 am? Guess what a receptionist said while we complained about the noise. She said that "people are allowed to make parties in their rooms and Amsterdam is a party town". Avoid at any costs!

Room Tip: Avoid 3rd floor. When people are partying upstairs, the receptionist can hardly hear anything. Or pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

That being said, this place is a bargain. It used to be a hostel, so expect to share a room if you don't make reservations.

If you're an American, this place is probably not for you.

The staff is friendly and a walk from whatever you want to see in the center of Amsterdam. You can walk to the Centraal (train station) if you're not lazy, especially if you enjoy the canals.

Did I mention its small? If it matters, then don't stay here. Personally, I'd rather be out and about if I'm in a great town like A'dam. You can hang out and talk to visitors from all over Europe in the lobby area.

Room Tip: Talk to them, tell them what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I'd like to apologise in advance for the possibly excessive use of upper-case letters.

My sister and I stayed here for 3 nights. It was SO AWFUL and uncomfortable, there was nothing we could do but cry with hysterical laughter. It was like we were in a situation comedy. First of all, the infamous stairs - they're ridiculous and treacherous. Can I suggest singing "Climb Every Mountain" as you ascend, it adds to the adventure.

We had a twin room with a sloping ceiling (under the roof) - meaning, you CAN'T STAND UP STRAIGHT! The walls were literally prison walls - white concrete with no pictures. The curtains were threadbare and had holes burnt through them. The linen, and the room itself, was clean, but the mattresses were so thin you could FEEL THE FRAME BENEATH!

All of this I could handle - unbelievably, I've stayed in worse - but what really got to me was the noise. I don't think I slept a wink the first night. You can hear people BLOWING THEIR NOSES in the next room. You can hear people USING THE HALLWAY TOILET. Every person coming and going throughout the night and morning was accompanied by a loud BANG as the door slammed behind them.

On a positive note, the people who run the place were lovely to us, helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hortus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.