We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hortus

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hortus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Hortus
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Basic but Clean, Close to tram, walking distance from supermarket and cafes. Friendly staff, smoking rooms! (weed friendly :D). A good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    109
    52
    25
    26
See reviews for
13
104
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

the hotel was clean, and just what we were looking for.
however on getting to the hotel we noticed we had two single beds, instead of the double we asked for. when my boyfriend asked one of the hotel employees, totally deadpan, he answered 'you just push them together and get a single bed'.

other than this slight hiccup everything was lovely. breakfast was simple bread, cereal, coffee etc. they had plenty of information in the reception, and most of the staff were lovely and welcoming.
would come back again, provided we get a double bed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Myself and 8 other friends went to Amsterdam for our Stag do and stayed at the Hortus Hotel. We stayed in the room of 12 (6 bunk beds) and we ALL agreed that it was perfect. The owners were extremely friendly and accomodating. It suited our needs perfectly. It is a 10 minute walk to the heart of Amsterdam also ideal for what we wanted. Everything was a described so we were not disappointed. We must apologise if we made too much noise between the hours of 6pm-9pm and appreciate the staffs tolerance! I must say this made our stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordengland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

ended up here after hotel i originally booked had double booked our room. And what a bonus for us that was . hotel hortus was brill we stayed for 3 day and enjoyed ever minute staff was so friendly room small but clean and cosy , bath rooms although shared and on landing was also very clean. a great breakfast. every morning and free tea and coffee all day witch saves us loads of money as they varie from 2.5 euro to 4 euro in most coffee shops . would definitly recommened to other travelers and will be back july 2011 myself already booked

Room Tip: 10 mins from central station nice quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsukuba, Japan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The staff were very nice!
They provide good breakfast; breads, cereals.
Coffee is available until 11 pm.
Stairs were a bit scary and the room was very small, but that's good enough for the price in Amsterdam.
Shared bathroom was clean.
There are computers with good internet connection nearby the receptionist desk.

Unfortunately, my sleep quality on that day wasn't so good because the people staying in the next room were very noisy, screaming and knocking doors around 3AM. I know this is not the hotel's fault, but just be aware that you can easily hear noises from outside your room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

i went with 9 other people on a 4 day trip i only have one bad point about this hotel and that was the stairs which i fell down twice although your in amsterdam so you get used it. the staff were very helpful and really nice also. its only a 10 min walk to dam square. we got what we paid for and was happy :o) oh and take a pillow with you as you only get one and its really soft so your head just sinks into it

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Very clean and handy with the tram just a couple of mins away, breakfast good with a help your self style.
Room was very basic but clean so for the price can't grumble.
However both nights where very noisy and especially when the the place was filled up with noisy teenagers on a school trip the second night!! adding to this all the doors need a good oil as they squeak like mad and a bit of sanding here and there to stop them needing to be banged so loudly, if the warden was about to tell people to shut up this would have made it so much nicer! on the sunday night when it was quiet it was like a different place!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hortus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hortus

Address: Plantage Parkln. 8, 1018 SR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hortus 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hortus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hortus Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hortus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.