We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need for young people..college, uni, group trips- cheap and cheerful.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just what you need for young people..college, uni, group trips- cheap and cheerful.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I went in March on a college trip- a big group of us

Very cold. Make sure you visit Anne Frank Museum; very moving

Heineken factory was a lot of fun too.

It is what it is! It is a cheap budget hostel! A hostel which is amazingly placed to tour Amsterdam central!

The ONLY people it is really perfect for would be fun loving, young people, groups and friends or people just in need of a cheap bed in Amsterdam for the night.

The bedrooms are like dorms, metal bunkbeds...a locker for your things.thats pretty much it. the shower is tiny...but bathroom okay.

There is a club downstairs which is great for cheap drinks and a laugh..with a crazy mirrored cube in the middle and a pole in the middle of that...greaat fun!

I think it is fab how the place plays on the whole hostel idea about the place making a joke of it...its really not that bad....just somewhere to sleep- which is all you really need on a flying visit to Amsterdam with some friends. cheap and cheerful!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    193
    186
    79
    79
See reviews for
6
46
51
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Hans Brinker? If you are looking for somewhere just to crash and don't give a monkeys about the state, well this is for you! We paid far to much for the twin rooms, 9 of us shared (£50/night B&B). And the place was/is a dive. However, the staff we dealt with were very helpful and pleasant.

I found that I had to hold my breath walking along the corridor to our room as the passive 'smoke' was overwhelming! The other thing I would say is that do not tke anything valuable with you if you are staying here as it is not safe and the safes you can rent from reception do not look much cop either!!!! Other than that, breakfast was terrible (slice/s of bread not toast and naffing marg and jam I won't mention the urine like tea and coffee) the showers had a mind of their own!!!

You would be able to get smewhere much nicer and closer to the centre for the money we paid. I will be going back to Amsterdam but will definately be stopping somewhere much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

I expect two basic things from the hostels I stay in: cleaniness and safety...and the Hans Brinker failed miserably on both accounts. It was soooo dirty and they seem to be proud of this fact having posted a sign boasting of how dirty they are. The shower is poorly designed and will flood the bathroom in seconds. It was in a kinda sketchy neighbourhood although you had to show your room key to get in. You could also not leave the building without talking to the front desk staff. This caused a problem for me one morning as I tried to leave for an early morning tour and the guy didnt think I should be leaving that early and I had to argue for my right to leave the building....I didnt appreciate being treated like a child. Also their idea of breakfast is pathetic....cold bread with jam and butter and coffee or tea...you have to pay for juice or milk.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

Don't figure on a lot of frills, but for value it is a cheap safe place to stay when you are in the 'Dam to experience the party. Not guaranteed to be a restful stay, but this is the sort of place where you should have decided to take a break from sleeping because there simply isn't enough time in the day to get in all of this wonderful city. At high season, figure on booking in advance. I've stayed there a couple of times and would go there again. Figures great in my travel stories slcrook.blogspot.com

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

...if you're looking for a cheap hotel/hostel with excellent location. You will NOT find luxury, gourmet food or a chocolate on your pillow but instead nice atmosphere and guests from all over the world, most of them youth. At happy hour you get 2 pints of Heinken for 3,5 €, thats sweet!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

You get what you pay for. 12.50 per night b&b, quad room with en suite. Bar with happy hour. Do not expect 5* but a run of the mill budget hostel. can be noisy if large parties arrive (and drink!). This was our 5th or 6th time staying there and will stay again. About 15mins from central Amsterdam (if you know the short cuts) or the tram is at the end of the road.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

As Hans Brinker advertises itself as "the worst hotel in the world" so on arrival we weren't sure what to expect!

The location was good, we walked from the main train station which took just over half an hour with our rucksacks. It was also close to shops and cafes and the flower market.

The rooms were basic, bunkbeds with no ladders or rails, and the bathroom wasn't very clean and very small for six people to share. However there were tall lockers with locks for each person.

Although the rooms weren't brilliant, Hans Brinker definatly made up for it in other ways. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bar had a great atmosphere and good value drinks and also offered cheap, yummy food and free wi-fi. There is also a small "club" downstairs whcih was good fun albeit a little empty.

Overall the rooms weren't brilliant but I'd still stay again as the atmosphere made up for this.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 190 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..No swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It's located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.