We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a room and breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hans Brinker Budget Hotel to your Saves list
Hans Brinker Budget Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #97 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“it's a room and breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here on a uni trip and manh of us were dreading staying here. Not sure what some of the bad reviews are about. The price reflects what's avaliable: bed and breakfast. Rooms are clean, only real problems are no ladders to the top bunk (came home with a bruised shin from getting down) and the bathroom was small and the shower head was fixed, meaning showering was difficult. Yet happy hour was good, in fact great. 'Snacks' from the snack menu were plenty big enough, if not too big for a snack. I ended up having one of the snacks for a meal to myself. Not a brilliant hotel, but not sure where the title of 'worst hotel' has come from and I work at a 5 star hotel. Also, mikes bikes next door were good. I would recomme using them if wanting to go further away from the hostel then the bulb market or the gallery around the corner. Also very close to a Ben and Jerry's ice cream cafe and an irish bar. Trams are useful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review!

Did you visit our underground club too?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    155
    153
    68
    70
See reviews for
4
34
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I think it was better than what i expected although the price was quite expensive for what it is.. considering we had a shared dorm. Girls if you are travelling with just another girl or a few of you make sure you have a private room to yourself. I did not trust the guys that were in our room one night and it made me feel very uncomfortable. Luckily they only stayed one night. Rooms are really hot and downstairs in the bar smelt weird, but i suppose thats what you get when you stay in a hostel

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi!

We are one of the cheapest stays in the center of Amsterdam! We hope to see you again when traveling to Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

They try to make themselves seem so bad, but some of the staff was actually pretty cool!! Some were rude, but so was the staff at other Amsterdam hostels. Very social vibe, always full of people. Good location, easy to get to. Fairly clean, again, not at bad as they try to make it seem with their funny signs and posters everywhere! Would probably stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your review! Indeed, we are not as bad as we say to be in our advertisement ;)!

Great to read you will stay at our hotel again when in Amsterdam!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stay at this hostel on a stag weekend, and I'll tell you that it's not as bad as people make it to be.
their was 17 of us staying here from Friday to Sunday and it had everything we could need; a bed with clean sheets, toilet in our room, Lockers to store our luggage, free wifi and a bar with €4 for a pint of beer. Or €2 from the vending machine if the bar is closed.
They don't change the sheets daily but wouldn't expect this from a budget hostel, (who changes there sheets daily at home?)
I didn't have the breakfast so can't talk about that,
Location is good only a 5-10 min walk to main shopping area where you can find anything you need, coffee shop or smart shop if that's wot your looking for, and plenty of places to eat.

I didn't choose this hostel but if asked I would go again for the right reason, you get wot you pay for here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a high floor as there is a club in the basement that is open till 6am, so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi!

You've made the perfect description of our hotel: basic, but everything you need for the best stay in Amsterdam! About our location: we are in the middle of Amsterdam within a 3 min walk to Leidseplein entertainment area and the museums on Museumplein.

Hope to see you again at our hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and everything was ok, warm water, heater etc.. Breakfast is acceptable I ended full every day. Atmosphere is great, good chance to meet young people. I'd give 5 stars if it wasn't for that horrible noisy speaker in the room that's used to announce happy hour or call the staff.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi!

Thanks for your stay and review! Great to read you liked your stay! Did you enjoyed our Happy Hour?

See you again soon?

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are very basic, but clean. We slept in a double room with en suite (a bit funny, because the shower and the toilet was in the room and was only separated with a glass wall). Excellent location, you can walk or cycle almost everywhere (bike rental is opposite the hotel). The staff are very friendly. It can get loud in the night, depending who your neighbours are. The bar downstairs have some good deals on alcohol, but the food isn't the best. I only booked this hotel, because it was cheap and in good location. It was better than I expected it to be.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

Thanks for your review. Great to read you liked your stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam and at the Hans Brinker Hotel!

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Warning, this post may be long but it tells you everything you need to know before staying in this hell hole!
Before I start, yes we understand this is a BUDGET hotel as the staff seem to stress so much when generically replying to peoples bad reviews but this is in no way shape or form a 'budget' hotel! I wouldn't even go so far as to call it a hostel.
Let me begin:
- First, upon arriving the staff at reception were so slow checking us in, painfully slow and had no sense of urgency about them
- When getting to the room (staying as part of a group) the room wasn't the biggest but that's fine, the bathroom was tiny, and the top bunk had no stairs to get to it!!!! Even a budget hotel would give you the luxury of having stairs to get up to your bed!
- That night trying to sleep was horrific, cold, noisy, and all you could smell throughout the hotel was the smell of marijuana, it wasn't just a little smell either it was a stench throughout all of the building, even though they have a sign in reception saying no marijuana that clearly didn't stop people and it is something that they obviously do not police.
- The next morning after a terrible terrible shower, If you could call it that, it was breakfast time.
Now don't get me wrong I usually stay in places that you get a free breakfast included which should be just that, FREE! Again the staff when replying on Trip Advisor say that they have a continental breakfast that includes juices, pancakes, fruit.....you have to pay extra for all of these things, yes you did read that right, for a breakfast that you have technically paid for with your room (although they again like to stress the fact that it is free) they charge you for a tiny class of juice!
- If breakfast wasn't bad enough they had a cat a real live cat wandering through the dining room/bar area and to our horror it wandered into the kitchen! Thankfully we hadn't eaten all of our breakfast so we could leave the rest. If it wasn't bad enough that it went into the kitchen, it was then wandering around on top of all the tables, we were both again disgusted and mortified! If that happened in Australia, you would get shut down and you should be ashamed of yourself Hans Brinker than you let this happen considering people have allergies and you claim that even though you are a budget hotel, that you are at least clean...well you are not!
The only good point was the location, THAT IS IT, everything about this place makes my skin crawl. This was our last stop in Europe before going back to London to come home and I must say that this place nearly ruined Amsterdam for me.
Before I get a reply from Hans Brinker for this, we have stayed in many budget hotels, and many hostels, you perhaps could take a leaf out of some of the other hostels/budget hotels out there and up your game, being the worst hotel in the world isn't something to be proud of!

Room Tip: The only tip I have is DON'T STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HansBrinkerAms, Manager at Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi,

First of all, we do not stress receiving a bad review. We would like to receive honest reviews so we can improve our hotel / services. Second of all, we do have a strict no drugs policy and we do not allow smoking inside. About our breakfast, we serve coffee, tea, breads & spreads, fruit, yoghurt, pancakes and boiled eggs for free, so your review is NOT correct regarding our breakfast. You only have to pay little when you would like to have fried eggs or something (things not available at our buffet). We clean our rooms and common areas every do, so we are a a clean hotel!

If you have more complaints or questions, please send an email to sybil@hans-brinker.com.

Greetings,

Hans Brinker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hans Brinker Budget Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Brinker Budget Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 136 - 138, 1017 GR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hans Brinker Budget Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hans Brinker, the cheapest, the worst, the best..no swimming pool, no roomservice, no pick-up service, no bridal-suite, no gym, no spa,no bellboy but cheap rooms, a restaurant, a nice bar, a club, 24 hour reception and 500 beds. The Hans Brinker Budget Hotel is the famous budget hotel in the city centre Amsterdam. It’s located between the canals with a 2 minute walk to the famous entertainment area Leidseplein and a 5 minute walk to the museums at Museumplein. Public transport is nearby the hotel: you can take the tram to every direction in Amsterdam within a 2 minute walk. From Amsterdam Central Station take tramline 1, 2 or 5 to the hotel (in approximately 10 minutes at stop Keizersgracht). This budget hotel can accommodate individuals, backpackers and groups (students, scholars etc.). The hotel has single, double and triple rooms and dorms up to 8 persons. Each room has a private bathroom and lockers for personal belongings. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served at the spacious common area. There is a bar and an underground club, which is open every night till late. Free WIFI-access is available in the common areas. For the best stay in Amsterdam Hans Brinker provides tickets for many activities, bike rental, boat tours and other great deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, HostelBookers and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hans Brinker Budget Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hans Brinker Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hans Brinker Budget Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.